We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Villa, Good Value”
Review of Anakula Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anakula Villas
Ranked #51 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Villa, Good Value”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great Villa. Six of us stayed at Anakula and we had a great time. The villa is spacious, comfortable and very clean. The layout was functional and private.

The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our air-conditioner was not working too well so they attempted to fix it but couldn't so it was replaced within hours. We were very happy to come back from shopping to find a brand new AC in our room. Nothing was a problem.

The bedroom and bathroom doors didn't seal when closed but we didn't notice any mosquitoes or bugs in the rooms. In fact we hardly noticed any bugs at all even outside in the living area. The villas are obviously well maintained.

The road outside the villas has been a work in progress for the last year and paving is near completion so walking to and from the villas without obstacles will not be a problem very soon.

Looking forward to staying at Anakula again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Munmorah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we travelled to bali with another family in August 2012 and stayed in the two connecting villas. we were expecting the worst having read some of the reviews and were pleasantly surprised. There was a strong smell of mould and rank water but Bali is a third world country! the staff were wonderful however we had some trouble with our pool...the pump and filter stopped working and we were unable to use it for half of our holiday. The kids were very disappointed and we spoke to the manager about a refund of some of our money...instead we were offered a free in-house meal...not really compensation for half a holiday without a pool in bali!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Ms RebeccaHamer said it all, and I agree with her 100%. I'll just add a little bit more as we've actually stayed there last May.

We stayed at Villa Satu (One), the one where the guardhouse is (bit odd thou cos on our wifi connection, we can only connect to Villa Dua (two) LoL). Anyway, if you look at the photos of other reviews, its the one with the broken glass and where the doors don't quite shut. I personally didn't mind cos we always felt safe all thru our stay here, maybe because of the guard being right outside our door.

The Villa was very well kept, dishes washed, floors mopped,fresh towels everyday etc.

There was a power interruption on the second or third night of our stay (we stayed for a week), for more than 3hours if am not mistaken, sadly, Villa Anakula didn't have any power generator back then. Most of the villas on that street didn't have any either, aside from the Jass Villas (?), which of course is way more expensive than the Anakula. The guard gave us a battery operated lamp, that's cos we asked. Otherwise, we would have been in the dark til the power came back on.

The water stank for the first couple of days of our stay, mainly because they didn't put enough treatment.

Another thing to note about this Villa is, it's proximity to the famous Legian stretch, where you can find a handful of bars, restaurants and shops. Plus the Bintang supermarket. Ask the staff and they'll show you how to get there by foot, around 15mins walk (max).

Every morning, we will walk down the beach via Jalan Arjuna, 20mins walk maybe, and end up at jalan double six, where again, more shops, bars and restos.

To be honest, I would consider staying in this villa if we find ourselves heading to Bali again. Nothing special yes, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsallenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I live and work in Bali. My family is coming up here for Christmas and I live about 30 mins out of Legian / Seminyak. So we thought that as a treat we would all rent a villa closer to town for a few days. I was recommended Villa Anakula through an agent and it looked wonderful on their website. But before I book anything now - I always go on tripadvisor to check out the reviews. Villa Anakula had a list of bad reviews, so I thought that since I live here I should go and check it out for myself before I book. It was the cheapest option around for us at peak season and I wanted to see if what people were complaining about, really was true.

Honestly, the bad reviews had no merit what so ever and people who write these reviews don't realize how much their bad review can affect someones business. So I felt compelled to write what I saw and thought of the villas.

The price is amazing for what you get and people don't realize that Bali is not a cheap place for accommodation any more.

-Yes it is about 500 m off the main drag of Legian Street - but that is not a hidden surprise, as the website shows a map. Use your legs and go for a walk.

-Yes the road it is located on is not the best, but this is not the fault of the villa management. It is up to the local village to pave the road. They are now actually in the process of paving the road anyhow.

-Yes their is no pool fence and the two bedrooms are not adjacent to each other. So if you have small children it is not safe to have them sleeping in a bedroom with a swimming pool in between. But this is all obvious on the website. Why complain on tripadvisor about this aspect, when you should have done your research.

-I met Annie the manager and some of the staff. They were friendly, welcoming and happily answered all my questions. I think people expect 5 star service - but they forget that all they have to do is ask and make a request. Instead people just complain when things don't happen.

-People must realize that their are cultural differences and sometimes the staff are unaware that western tourists want privacy and to not have staff coming into your villa - just kindly ask them to not come in unannounced.

-The bathrooms appeared to be extremely clean and there was no moldy and musty smell in the bedrooms.

-Lastly, people complaining about rats really have to realize that they are in Bali!!!!! There are rats everywhere and it is not due to a dirty villa that attracts them. They are just everywhere. I am constantly setting traps for rats in my own house and I have an extremely clean house. They come from the rice fields and the surrounding villages. So yes you will see a rat, but just ask the staff nicely to set some traps.

-So after going there and spending an hour smelling, looking and turning on taps etc. I found no problems what so ever with Villa Anakula and I can't wait to stay there with my family at Christmas time.

-Please be mindful when you are writing a negative review and make sure that your complaints are warranted. If you want to complain about small towels etc - well go and pay over $300 a night for a small room at a 5 star hotel.

-I'll write another review of the villa after Christmas time and let you know how it all went. But for the excellent price they offer, it looks to be great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RebeccaHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In May 2012 we spent 21 nights at Anakula Villa. We had two villas with the dividing wall open that gave us 4 bedrooms and two pools side by side. I have been unable to find anything to complain about other than the towels in the bathroom we're too small. Big deal. The staff were excellent and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The villas were cleaned daily and were very well presented. I would recommend this villa to anyone looking for clean and well maintained acomodation that is excellently located in Seminyak.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmacAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just come back after spending 10 great days at the Villa with my family 2 grandparents and my daughter, husband and 2 children 4 and 6.The Villa was perfect for us. Very clean, safe with friendly staff. The pool was spotless much bigger than the photos and cleaned everyday so were our rooms. We felt very safe with the staff on duty 24hours. Even if we came back to the Villa sepately they let us in.
Room service was really a treat. We had this a few times as the kids got tired. The food was good not fancy. The best thing was it was served to you and the table set like a restaurant with place mats and serviette rings and the waiter dressed up.
The beds were really comfy and the bathrooms are huge. Air con worked really well only in the bedrooms.Fans in the living area.
The kitchen area was good for us and fridge was better and larger than many other Villas we visited. This was great for us as we had a child with allegies so cooked for him regularly.
It was only 10-15 min walk to the nearest beach ( legian) if you didn't stop to shop on the way pushing a pram. Close to 66 street and the super market Bintang.
The road is being laid now outside the Villa and more Villas aregoing up in the street so if it rains it will be better. The road is narrow so our driver sometimes had to reverse out and Taxi sometimes dropped you at the end ( 2min walk)

We only had one issue. The tiles in the living area are so slippery as someone else said. Both the 4 year old and The grandfather sliped over. Luckily they didn't hurt themselves so bombing in the pool was banned and towels were put down at the edge of the living room( 2 matts were provided too) and feet were dried.
Sorry one more the bathroom towels were very skimpy and thin but the shower was great with hot hot water and good pressure. This kids liked the big bath so they didn't swallow the water.
The pool is not fenced so it is not suitable if your children can't swim.

Room Tip: Not suitable if your child cannot swim as the bedroom doors are hard to lock and pool is so close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suej805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent 21 days in Villa Satu and found it to be very comfortable and clean. It was a bit tired and were lucky not to be using the second bedroom as there was a strong odour of mould. We had no problems with noise and the staff were lovely. The pool was always kept fresh and clean.
A couple of things we would recommend to improve the facilities;
To improve your privacy by having the staff let in rather than just walking in and calling out.
Treat the tap/shower water tank on a more regular basis as when we first took a shower the water was quite smelly, we notified the manager and the water tank was treated lasting several days but the smell returned.
The satellite TV could do with a couple more English entertainment channels rather than just the ABC
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PakRaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.4 mi away
Lacasa Villa
Lacasa Villa
#40 of 81 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Naga Maya
Villa Naga Maya
#6 of 81 in Legian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kumpul Kumpul Villa II Legian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tukad Villa
The Tukad Villa
#96 of 415 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legian Kriyamaha Villa
Legian Kriyamaha Villa
#3 of 81 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abia Villas Legian
Abia Villas Legian
#1 of 81 in Legian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakula Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakula Villas

Property: Anakula Villas
Address: GG. Baik Baik, Legian, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anakula Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anakula Villas Hotel Legian
Anakula Villas Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing