We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We adored it!”
Review of Legian Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Legian Guest House
Ranked #10 of 67 Legian B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just amazing. Genuine. So personal and friendly. All the things that are so important to us when travelling.

The BEST thing about Legian is the staff - everyone, particularly Tiana and Wayan, treat you like old friends. Always trying to make you giggle and smile. Always offering to give advice on where to go and what to do in Bali and Lombok and the islands. They also helped us get the best deals around so that we didn't get ripped off.

The rooms are impeccable and clean. The cheaper courtyard rooms are just as well-presented as the poolside rooms (which have verrryyy lovely bathrooms and a bit more space if you fancy spending a bit more). We stayed in other guest houses for similar costs and didn't really get anything anywhere near as clean or well-presented.

We also loved that it's in a quiet unmade road 5 minutes drive (the guys drive you for free or just a small cab fare at night) from the busy beach area. Set amongst picturesque rice fields, very peaceful and calm.

That being said it's very easy to get to know other guests, such a friendly atmosphere!

We'll be back next year,

Adam & Marie

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

It's hard to describe why this place is so amazing! This is by far the best guest house we've ever been too.

At first sight it does not look too good. The entrance road was small and filled with potholes. But as soon as you step in, you will be surprised because you will instantly feel welcomed.

The best thing about this hotel is their outstanding service and staff. Since its rather a small place, their staff will treat you like their family. they are available at all times, eager to help you with anything!

Staffs Tiana and Sukarma were always helpful and made our stay so comfortable. We also got to know more about local food and culture.

Overall, I highly recommend this place. It was exactly what we were looking for. Safe, free wifi, clean, and affordable. The free breakfast was decent too.

-Samuel and Shulynn

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel Sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Recently stayed here in poolside rooms. We were accompanied by my 85 and 81 year old parents. Yes the goat track of a road is a problem, however staff are more than happy to drive you in courtesy car... Nicknamed the BMW by one of the staff. We need to have some bulk t shirts made and were taken to a couple of places. Then one maker came to guest house with fabrics and sample. The stay he was top class. The staff are so happy to help. We ate both in and out. Limited menu, but no one really says in to eat except breakfast. There's a nice new restaurant walking distance from guest house. Turn left out of track and about a 3 minute walk. Great place to stay

Room Tip: Get poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaLBalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It's the dreamt place to feel like within your family, all the staff is wonderful and the rooms are perfect, with internet access and large breakfast. You can even have a swim at any moment of the day.
THE place to be in, in Legian, sincerely

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlainBarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The young staff here seem enthusiastic, happy and always willing to help, unlike in some big Asian hotels where staff can seem so nervous and awkward that you get the feeling they are in constant fear of their jobs. Not at Legian. The staffs' relaxed attitude and honesty in my experience, means you feel at home and it really helps make a pleasant stay.

Stayed for five nights and would have liked to stay longer. This is a small guest house with a little swimming pool and only a couple of tables in the dining area - it's best suited for those who want peace but who also want an occasional visit to the beaches and shopping of Seminyak, Legian and Kuta. Staff are expert at advising about places in which to change money, and which to avoid. Also how to get to other islands etc.

Downsides - lots of small annoying flies around the kitchen and dining area when I was there and they seem totally immune to spray. Get into your hair and food. The guesthouse is very clean but this is the edge of town and people seem to dump heaps of rubbish across the road outside. Staff are happy to bring meals to your room.

The dirt road is rough but it's not far to sealed roads. There's a difficult busy main road to cross on the way to the beach and shops but the guest house provides a free shuttle every couple of hours.

The food looks cheap on the Legian menu but bear in mind there is a 21 percent tax. I found the taxes difficult to decipher in Bali - some restaurants charge no tax, others 10 or 15 percent or more. Still excellent meals at Legian and reasonably priced over-all. For a much more extensive menu featuring a wide range of local food, walk for five to 10 minutes out to the road and turn left. Go for a couple of hundred metres and there's an amazing new restaurant (you won't miss it) consisting of little thatched huts (no walls) on stilts over a small lake. A good meal for about $A10 and you can feed the colourful fish swimming around you with your scraps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

So I arrived to bali after a 3 week trip in guest houses and hotels around Malaysia Thailand Cambodia and Vietnam. And what a pleasant surprise it was.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and always called me by my first name.

As I mentioned I had been staying at over 20 different hotels, guesthouses etc and this is by far the favourite. The service was excellent, the staff were always attentive and did everything they could to help. The rooms were cleans and had everything I needed, and I was very happy as there was a movie channel.

I come to bali to experience bali life not the tourist traps of big hotels and towns. The locate is perfect it is set in a quiet local area but only a 5 minute shuttle or a 20 minute walk to the beach.

They even arranged a massage, sunset tour and elephant ride for me, without me having to do anything. I as travelling alone so it is normal hard and expensive to arrange these sorts of excursions.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone I know and any other travellers who want to experience something different.

The only regret I have is not giving a tip to everyone before I left.

Thank you all at Legian GuestHouse for such a lovely stay

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, and no noise at all, if you want a room near the pool ask for it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The reason I would describe legian guesthouse as diamond in the rough is because you need to pass through this pothole filled road to get there and it is quite an awkwaed location and you may think to yourself uh oh..but as soon as you arrive in front of that red gate things only gets better from there. You are greeted by the warmest staff and they make you feel right at home. We got upgraded to a big spacious room, the pool is awesome, the food is made with love (delicious & comforting) the only tiny tiny con is location but its so easy to just rent a scooter and very cheap taxi ride to seminyak OR take the free shuttle :)
this budget accommodation feels like a 5 star resort because of the amazing staff (they all deserve a raise :p) miss everyone over at legian already!!!!

Ps: their beds are soooo comfortable we got amazing sleeps there

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WangChung88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
1.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 87 in Legian
2,487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Legian
1.1 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#25 of 87 in Legian
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#65 of 87 in Legian
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 87 in Legian
2,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arana Suite Hotel
Arana Suite Hotel
#2 of 67 in Legian
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legian Guest House

Address: Jl. Nakula Timur | Banjar Legian Kaja, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Legian
Price Range: £12 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Legian Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legian Guest House is located in the relaxed Balinese resort of Legian, famous for its fabulous surfer beaches. The guest house has 13 stylish double rooms, 25 mbps free unlimited WIFI, all charmingly decorated with a mixture of traditional crafts and contemporary amenities. All have private bathroom, queen-size bed, air conditioning, satellite TV,safety deposit box, mini-bar and telephone. There's an outdoor swimming pool, a restaurant serving Balinese specialties, and the guesthouse can provide a motorbike shuttle service to Legian beach. Legian Guest House is ideal for exploring the magnificent surfing beaches on this stretch of coast. It's only a 5-minute drive to the closest Legian beach, a 10-minute drive to Kuta with its golden sands and amazing surf breaks, and an hour to celebrated Padang Padang, which featured in the movie 'Eat, Pray, Love'. While Legian is more relaxed, neighboring Kuta is full of bars, restaurants and clubs. Quiet guest house in a relaxed resort on Bali! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Zenrooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Legian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legian Guest House Hotel Legian
Legian Guest House Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing