We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“For the money I was expecting more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legian Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Legian Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,463 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 847 helpful votes
“For the money I was expecting more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This place charges you a fair bit, and I was left coming away feeling it had been fine, but nothing special.

This was the general theme. The room was fine and comfortable, but no more. The staff were fairly pleasant, but no more.

Its probably the price you pay for having a hotel this close to the beach. But the beach is just ok, so is it really worth it?

The best thing is the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Waddler-Sept2011,

First of all thank you for staying with Legian Beach Hotel and sparing some of your precious time giving us your reviews.

We appreciate highly your compliment on our breakfast which we have shared with the kitchen team. Thank you!

We are sorry to learn that our hotel was not 100% to your liking, however should there be anything at all that I can do further, please feel free to write me a note at generalmanager@legianbeachbali.com

Once again thank you and we wish you a wonderful time.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    709
    224
    105
    71
See reviews for
578
901
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

At the moment we are staying in the Legian Beach Hotel, we want to inform other travellers that this hotel is doing renovations to their Pool Bungalows and the hotel next door is also doing renovationworks. We are currently staying in a Pool villa and we suffer from very loud construction noises. If there weren't renovations this could be a good resort. Bad timing from the hotel :(

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear RoelG-Sept2011,

First of all, thank you for staying with Legian Beach Hotel and we appreciate your valuable time giving us your reviews on your recent stay.

In this occassion, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered because of the remodeling of our Deluxe Pool Villa bathroom, from a small bathroom to be a large bathroom with size ranging from 18M2 to 26M2. The works will be completed on the 29th of September (3 more days) and will be ready for sale on the 1st of October 2011.

Regarding the renovations works at the hotel next door, I am unfortunately not able to comment, however all rooms along the partition walls of the 2 hotels will be closed for sale as soon as the rooms are vacated by guests.

Once again, thank you from us all and should there be anything at all that I can do from here, please feel free to drop me a note.

Wishing you a fantastice time.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Have just returned from 10 days in Bali, had a lovely time. Hotel was lovely. Breakfast was great. We had a group of 9 and we all met for breakfast. Pool was really nice and very clean.
Our rooms were okay. We were told by our travel agent that rooms had been upgraded but unfortunately we didn't get one of those. We had a superior room which my husband and I shared with my 15 year old daughter which was way to small for 3 people. We arrived to 3 single beds and when we asked for a double bed they just pushed 2 single beds together which I was not happy with but couldn't have been bothered complaining because they didn't seem to care. When we asked about upgrading to a larger room or family suite i was told there was none available and if they did would have to pay an extra $60.00 per night which i thought for Bali was quite expensive. We also asked for a DVD player and also told were none available. I would probably stay there again but would get a beach bungalow or a family room, just disappointed they were not helpful whilst we were there.
Unfortunately we found it very expensive eating and drinking at the resort so chose to eat outside. We were very sorry about that but the bars on the beach are so cheap we found we could do more leisure things and save money on food.
Mosquitos are a big problem but they did spray once for them. Am sure they are a problem everywhere. We found the transport outside the hotel much easier and cheaper than a normal taxi. Location was great. Overall we had a great time as long as we stayed out of the room and apart from the pool didn't spend much time at the resort.

Room Tip: Superior rooms only big enough for 2. If you go to the beach don't let the ladies sit you down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
JulieNES-Sept 2011,

First of all thank you for staying with Legian Beach Hotel and I learn from your reviews that you and the extended group have had a great time which is important to us except with the room assignment and bedding type, allow me to apologize for that and please feel free to drop me a note for your next trip and I will make sure that your preference will be taken care of.

May I mention that our high season is from 15 June - 15 October and rooms rates are indeed higher during this period. The rate quoted to you by our staff was correct, however if my staff was not helpful during the enquiry, the concerned staff has failed to perform our standard procedure in dealing with customer. A refreshment training will be conducted to avoid the same thing from happening again.

I can understand that the food and beverage outside of the hotel is cheaper for many reasons, however I can also assure you that the items we are providing for our guests are carefully checked and chosen ensuring the quality, genuine products, freshness and are handled in a strict manner of hygiene and it is alright if guests prefer to eat or drink outside sometimes.

For transportation around Bali, for safety, security and not wasting your time in case there is a police check on the road for tour license, I will strongly recommend you and all our guests to use legally registered services only and that is including taxi which is unfortunately slightly more expensive then those on the roadside.

We are also doing anything we can to prevent mosquitos, from spraying 3 times a week, regular check to places where stagnant water can possibly happen, applying special substances around the hidden garden to prevent eggs hatched, placing mosquito nets in the room, etc and as you have kindly mentioned that we can not get rid of them 100%.

You may have been aware that the beach services and all that are there are not belong to the hotel and beyond our control as they are fully managed by local village authority and you are right that guest should only bring small change.

Your room tips are well appreciated and surely will be useful for others.

Once again, thank you for your reviews and I look forward to hearing from you for your next Bali holiday with us.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Hotel is perfectly located at the beach and walking distance from the main street. Therefore the rooms are not noisy. Rooms are spread out over the park and are well equipped. Pool is nice and when crossing a small path you are on the beach. The first time you will be on the beach some people might approach you, we did not find this a problem. Breakfast is very good in a very relaxed atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear MarcoR79,

Warm greetings from Legian Beach Hotel and thank you for staying with us as well as giving us your reviews of your recent stay.

We are glad that your stay was an enjoyable one and we believe when our renovation of the breakfast restaurant is completed April next year, it will be even better.

May I inform you that the flat-ground renovation of our breakfast restaurant will start on the 6th of November 2011 and is scheduled to be finished on 31 March 2012 and when all done the breakfast restaurant will be a brand new 2-storey restaurant, as follows:

1) First floor will uplift to be as the same level as our current beachfront restaurants and going higher at the back, this way all guest can have a good ocean view no matter where they sit. Size of the buffet area is double than what it is now

2) The bar will be moved forward to the beachfront and the size is double as what is now and there are 3 separate different sizes gazebos for private dining or celebration.

3) Second floor will be 5 meter above the first floor, you can imagine the view you can enjoy from up there.

4) Second floor will have a frontal ocean view restaurant, club lounge and new Spa, Foot massage lounge and outdoor lounge seating

All are scheduled to be completed by 1 April 2012 where we will cut the ribbon for the first breakfast in the new restaurant.

I hope the above information is useful for you and others who are not aware yet of our remodelling plan.

Once again thank you from us all and we look forward to having you again with us.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just got back from another amazing trip to Bali. My friend and I stayed in a Twin Garden Bungalow and had a brilliant time. The service at this resort is just fantastic all the staff are just so friendly and cant help you enough. Our house keeping boy Suraya was fantastic and Bobby and the front desk. I would highly recommend this resort to everyone you may pay a bit extra but the location is just perfect and you really do feel like you are in Bali and bot in some hueg hotel. So once again thankyou for anthor fantastic stay

Room Tip: Book a Garden Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cottiesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear CottiesPerth-Sept 2011,

Sunny greetings from Legian Beach Hotel and thank you for staying with us again. We are glad that your returning stay was an enjoable one and have you re-energized back home.

Your personal recognition to Suraya and Bobby are well appreciated and have made their day, they both want me to pass their thanks to you.

For your next stay next year, may I inform you that the flat-ground renovation of our breakfast restaurant will start on the 6th of November 2011 and is scheduled to be finished on 31 March 2012 and when all done the breakfast restaurant will be a brand new 2-storey restaurant, as follows:

1) First floor will uplift to be as the same level as our current beachfront restaurants and going higher at the back, this way all guest can have a good ocean view no matter where they sit. Size of the buffet area is double than what it is now

2) The bar will be moved forward to the beachfront and the size is double as what is now and there are 3 separate different sizes gazebos for private dining or celebration.

3) Second floor will be 5 meter above the first floor, you can imagine the view you can enjoy from up there.

4) Second floor will have a frontal ocean view restaurant, club lounge and new Spa, Foot massage lounge and outdoor lounge seating

All are scheduled to be completed by 1 April 2012 where we will cut the ribbon for the first breakfast in the new restaurant.

I hope the above information is useful for you and others who are not aware yet of our remodelling plan.

Once again thank you from us all and we look forward to having you again with us.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Could not fault our stay in any way. The resort, the food, our room and especially the staff were amazing. Wouldn't stay any where else.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milsy1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Milsy1802,

Warm greetings from us all at Legian Beach Hotel and thank you for staying with us, also for giving us your stay experience reviews of your recent holiday in Bali.

We are glad that you have a great time and and when you come back next year, it will be even better with the renovation and remodelling of our breakfast restaurant. The flat-ground renovation will start on the 6th of November 2011 and is scheduled to be finished on 31 March 2012 and when all done the breakfast restaurant will be a brand new 2-storey restaurant, as follows:

1) First floor will uplift to be as the same level as our current beachfront restaurants and going higher at the back, this way all guest can have a good ocean view no matter where they sit. Size of the buffet area is double than what it is now

2) The bar will be moved forward to the beachfront and the size is double as what is now and there are 3 separate different sizes gazebos for private dining or celebration.

3) Second floor will be 5 meter above the first floor, you can imagine the view you can enjoy from up there.

4) Second floor will have a frontal ocean view restaurant, club lounge and new Spa, Foot massage lounge and outdoor lounge seating

All are scheduled to be completed by 1 April 2012 where we will cut the ribbon for the first breakfast in the new restaurant.

I hope the above information is useful for you and others who are not aware yet of our remodelling plan.

Once again thank you from us all and we look forward to having you again with us.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed with my wife for 10 days in July. Very pleased with the Hotel, but very greatful that we had requested "room with a view" in advance. We were able to witness some of the other rooms and the request was well worth it. Bar the breakfast serving area, which can get congested, everything else about the Hotel was very good, location, cleanliness, breakfast food and atmosphere. The best rating though must go to the staff who were always friendly (genuinely), smiling and very helpful. 10 out of 10 for them. Don't normally stay in the same place twice (it's a big world) but if we were to go back to Legian, I would make an exception for this place. Thank you

Room Tip: ask in advance for a beach facing room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear John-M-Sept 2011,

Thank you for staying with us at Legian Beach Hotel and giving us your review and also thank you for your compliments, we appreciate it and I have shared that with my team.

You are very right about our Superior Rooms which are categorized as Front View and Limited View and are priced differently, that's why as you have kindly mentioned it is important for us if our guest let us know in advance, I am glad you have done so.

Regarding breakfast area and bars, indeed it can be congested at times and therefore I am very happy to officially announce that our breakfast restaurant will be under going flat-ground renovation and remodelling starting 6 of November 2011 - 31 March 2012. When all done the breakfast restaurant will be 2-storey restaurant, as follows:

1) First floor will be as the same level as our current beachfront restaurants and going higher at the back, this way all guest can have a good ocean view no matter where they sit. Size of the buffet area is double than what it is now
2) The bar will be moved forward to the beachfront and the size is double as what is now and there are 3 separate different sizes gazebos for private dining or celebration.
3) Second floor will be 5 meter above the first floor, you can imagine the view you can enjoy from up there.
4) Second floor will have a frontal ocean view restaurant, club lounge and new Spa, Foot massage lounge and outdoor lounge seating

All are scheduled to be completed by 1 April 2012 where we will cut the ribbon for the first breakfast in the new restaurant.

I hope the above information is useful for you and others who are not aware yet of our remodelling plan.

Once again thank you and we all look forward to having you back with us and please feel free to let me know anytime if there is anything that we can do.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 81 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.1 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legian Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legian Beach Hotel

Property: Legian Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Melasti | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Legian 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#9 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#11 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#13 Spa Hotel in Legian
#16 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legian Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located absolute beachfront, with a wide range of facilities and leisure options, Legian Beach Hotel embraces families, honeymooners and business travelers. The 118 single-story cottages and 100 guest rooms, including 23 family rooms and 5 rooms that cater for disabled travelers, are set amid a landscaped tropical oasis dotted with coconut palms, shady trees, and sweet-scented flowers. The traditional architecture utilizes local materials from Bali and neighboring Indonesian islands, red tiled roofs merge with romantic alang alang thatch, while breezy, lazy gazebos melt into the natural beauty. The vista of the dramatic coastline and the rolling surf is spectacular, while the fiery sunsets viewed from here are the best in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Legian Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legian Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing