We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at Legian Beach Hotel”
Review of Legian Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legian Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came to Legian after a 10 day stay in Nusa Dua. On request, we were upgraded from a superior family room to a deluxe room (room 251). We appreciated the upgrade but the room still left a lot to be desired. The room was large with an upstairs loft however it was badly in need of a good clean and a spruce up. It was very dusty with cobwebs on the windows and in cupboards. On our arrival we did ask for a better clean, housekeeping did their best but the room was 2 star at best. The walls were cracking and peeling and the lights were ancient. The bathroom was tiny and not big enough for a family, however the water pressure was great and so was the hot water.

The absolutely worst thing about this room was how dark it was. Even with all the lights on we struggled to see anything let alone read or enjoy the room. In saying this we did see some nicer rooms (room 308) which were very clean and bright, but these did not cater to families.

The rest of the hotel was good. The breakfast was plentiful with a huge variety of food catering to all tastes. The waffle and pancake station was delicious!

The pools, bars and restaurants were in good order, very clean and inviting.

The staff were ok, helpful when you needed them.

Overall this hotel could be much better if more attention was paid to the rooms, a paint job, better lighting and overall cleaning would have made for a much nicer experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms further away from the road and on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was a bit nervous coming to the Legian Beach Hotel given some of the recent bad reviews. I need not have worried as all my families' experience has been really good. If you know what to expect you can't get upset. Upon arriving at the hotel at 12pm we knew we were 3 hours early for check in so didn't get upset when told our room wasn't ready until 3pm. We just went out for lunch. Then upon check in, to our delight, we received a free upgrade to a deluxe family room (2 rooms, 1 with double bed, ensuite, TV, fridge and balcony and the 2nd with two singles, TV/DVD and ensuite). Cannot fault the rooms, they are clean and spacious with no mozzies or mould. The room is out toward the front entrance not near the pool which is a few hundred metres away. We haven't found this to be a big deal and when going out we are closer to the main drag. The location of the hotel is perfect being right on the beach and in the heart of Legian with all its shops/markets and restaurants at your doorstep. The gardens and pool areas (2 pools) are excellent and there is always a sun lounger available. There's heaps of bars and restaurants within the hotel but like most hotels are a bit overpriced so make the most of happy hours. We had free buffet breakfast in the morning and while not the best breakfast we've had, there was a good selection. Make sure you go upstairs to the pancake station as that is the best part. All of the hotels staff have been really happy and friendly and I can't fault any of the service. This is our 3rd trip to Bali as a family and for my wife and I quite a few more on top of that. For a family of four looking for family accommodation but also seeking privacy of two rooms and in the heart of Legian without breaking the bank then the Legian ticks the box. If you book a fair way out the rate is also much cheaper. We'll definitely look to return when next we visit Bali.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in Deluxe Garden Bungalow situated near main gate. First thoughts were bit far from pool and near main road noisy, after a few nights glad not to be near pool and didn't hear traffic at all. The gardens are beautifil and very well maintained. Every staff member we meet always greeted us with a smile. Our room was perfect, spacious, clean, well appointed, huge bed with heavenly pillows. Breakfast is wonderful with heaps of variety and pancake/waffle station is a must YUMMY and awesome beach views. Pool bar staff are worth their weight in gold, the amount of bad mannered guests amazed me but the staff stayed calm and always smiled. Bar snacks and room service are great and again lots of variety....Can't wait for our next visit

Laundry over the road to the left from main entrance is great, same day service if needed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent a week at the start of our Bali holiday at The Legian Beach Hotel. First impressions were that the check-in staff were not personable, and our room wasn't ready which was inconvenient. Also, we weren't given ANY map or directions for the hotel, so it was simply "find your own way" (although we were taken to our room by a staff member). In fact the first morning we had to ask a few people where breakfast was served 'cause we were staying near the front of the hotel, and the restaurants, pools, etc are located closer to the beach.

We had booked a Deluxe Family Suite which had a mezzanine floor with King bed (which was VERY comfy) and three single beds in the main room. The bathroom was SMALL and very cramped for our family of five. The toilet did block while we were there, but was quickly fixed after one phone call. WIFI was reliable and quick from anywhere in the hotel (and even on the beach our front) which was a bonus.

Breakfast was plentiful, with loads of variety. The pancake and crepe bar were to die for! Yummiest and freshest ever.

We went to Nusa Dua for a few days after here, then returned for the last leg of our trip (only to be charged almost twice the rate/night)! All in all this place is in a great location with great dining options outside the hotel, BUT I have found the reservation staff to be deceitful and overcharging, and when I caught them out, it was simply "oh yes, we have had a cancellation so that room is now available) - yeah right! We have enquired to return next year, and have been offered the "same rate as this year" due to our custom. WELL let me just say the rate offered is US$150/night more than we paid this year - no thanks!!

I have now done more homework and there's better value on offer. Do your homework!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank serialholidaymaker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked a dive trip to Bali for my Dad's birthday and Aquamarine suggested this hotel.

It is a lovely hotel right at the end of the main Kuta beach, the hotel is well set out with 3 restaurants all serving great food, the pool bar is great for lunch.
The breakfast was included and was well set out with lots of good choice.
We were upgraded to a beach bungalow which was very clean and nicely set-up.
The only downside was the traffic and the fact that every time we went out, we always had to come through the seafront traffic which always added 30 minutes to the trip due to traffic jams.

Anyone looking for a beach holiday in Bali with access to Kuta, good value for money, great food then this is a good choice.
Tip - when checking in make sure they give you a pool card otherwise getting a pool towel can be a bit of a hassle.

Room Tip: try and go for a garden bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenyukai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in the pool villa and the service was impeccable. We would get little treats every night which really made our stay. The pool is co clean and the outdoor shower was great and the room so peaceful. Upon arrival we had to wait a bit to check in as we had an early flight but they looked after our bags and at checkout we were treated by the manager and given a gift. The only downfall was the privacy as when we were in the pool in the mornings they would come to clean the room (they would ring doorbell first) I would recommend a do not disturb sign on the entrance door would be ideal. The location is perfect right on the beach and walking distance to lots of restaurants. I enjoyed the breakfast too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandabt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Hotel is in a fabulous location, right on the beach and within walking distance of several good eating places and close to Kuta for shopping.
But if you are staying for a few days then think carefully because everything is difficult at this hotel, from getting a wine glass in the room, pool towels, getting a map and any information from Reception, to finding out what shows or dinners are on is all too hard. One reception gentleman was quite rude as well which we have never come accross in Bali before. Breakfast was nice and the staff in the mornings were very helpful.
We had several issues whilst staying here and we very nearly checked out and went to another hotel, except for Balinda, who fortunately sorted them out for us, so many thanks Balinda.
It was not relaxing and having been to Bali several times I have to say there are better hotels in Legian.

Room Tip: The Garden Bungalows are very small and we upgraded, for a price, to a Beach Bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharyn083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.3 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 88 in Legian
6,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legian Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legian Beach Hotel

Address: Jalan Melasti | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Legian 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#9 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#10 Spa Hotel in Legian
#11 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#16 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £66 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legian Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located absolute beachfront, with a wide range of facilities and leisure options, Legian Beach Hotel embraces families, honeymooners and business travelers. The 118 single-story cottages and 100 guest rooms, including 23 family rooms and 5 rooms that cater for disabled travelers, are set amid a landscaped tropical oasis dotted with coconut palms, shady trees, and sweet-scented flowers. The traditional architecture utilizes local materials from Bali and neighboring Indonesian islands, red tiled roofs merge with romantic alang alang thatch, while breezy, lazy gazebos melt into the natural beauty. The vista of the dramatic coastline and the rolling surf is spectacular, while the fiery sunsets viewed from here are the best in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legian Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legian Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing