We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Nice property, very green. We choose a quadruple room for 3 adults. The room had 4 single beds. Nice, spacious and clean room. The beach is walking distance from the hotel but is more of a surfer's beach than for regular swimming. The hotel has a spa but we did not have time to try. Two cute little swimming pools. They even sent a little cake to our room as it was my birthday :) Kuta market and legian road where all the bars and clubs are in close proximity by taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for metered taxi to take you places and bargain to less than half price at the markets..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shilpa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Shilpa R,

Greetings from Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort!

Hello, how are you? Thank you for staying at Alam Kulkul recently. We are happy to provide you with the quad room, so you guys would be able to stay in the same room. Hopefully next time you visit us again, you will have the chance to try our jamu Spa treatment.

Once again, thank you for the comments on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again in Bali.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    333
    111
    32
    25
See reviews for
243
317
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a calm and friendly traditional resort, right across the road from Kuta beach, and a short walk to the Beach Walk Shopping centre.
I visited with friends and arrived much earlier than the group. The front desk staff got my room ready hours before the set check-in time and made me comfortable by the pool while I waited.
The rooms and spacious and clean, with a relaxing balcony and a good wifi connection all over the resort. It was really nice to be able to come back to a more traditional, and much more chilled out, environment after the madness and intensity of Kuta.
The breakfast was lovely and the staff really attentive. I prefers the Indonesian restaurant to their beachside Italian one, but both were good. The welcome drink is a nice touch, too. Highly recommenced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Carol B,

Greetings from Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort!

Hello, how are you? Hope you are well and healthy there. Thank you very much for staying at our hotel recently and for taking us as a 'Calm oasis in the madness of Kuta'. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed the traditional Balinese concept we provided for our valued guest.

Once again, thank you for the comments on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again in Bali.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Aust
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Alam Kulkul. I booked a standard Alam room but we were fortunate to be upgraded to a Lanai room which was wonderful (room 3102). We were celebrating our anniversary and the hotel provided a fruit plate and a lovely flower decoration for the room; a lovely gesture we thought.

In a nutshell, the room was very good, it was clean, nice big bathroom, comfy bed and had fantastic air-conditioning.

Thankfully there was no awful sewerage smell that I had read about in previous reviews.

This hotel has beautiful gardens and is immaculate.

Yes, we saw some mozzies around but not in abundance but just like you would get anywhere else. They fog on a regular basis. Wear repellent and it won't be a problem.

We didn't include breakfast so can't comment on that. We ordered room service for early morning lattes and these were good. Also ordered a lunch and that was good too.

I would have to agree with previous reviewers about one of the pools (the bigger one). It definitely needs maintenance. For anyone out there that likes their pools in full sun, both pools are for most of the day and because of that they are very warm. Not to my liking but not much can be done about that as the weather was hot! hot! hot!

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

I was also impressed with communications prior to arriving at the hotel as I had emailed the hotel with a couple of concerns and each email was answered promptly.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would book a Lanai room.

Room Tip: Lanai rooms are great. Just a few steps from the second pool. Lovely spot to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenwayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear jenwayh,

Greetings from Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort!

We would like to thank you both for staying at our hotel on your anniversary. It is our pleasure to be able to give an enjoyable experience on your special day. Thank you for the compliments of our properties and glad to know that you enjoyed your lattes and lunch with us.

We are planning to rejuvenate the main pool very soon, to cater all the comments from our guest and to enhance the experience of our valued guests. Hopefully, by the time you visit us again, we'd be able to provide you with a better swimming pool

Once again, thank you for the comments on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again in Bali.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Having read other reviews we took a punt on staying at a more traditional resort which this turned out to be - make sure you at least book a Villa.

We booked a Java Villa and it was very nice to look at but many other reviewers are right - the mozzies at this resort really do detract from what would have been a much more relaxing stay without them and the rooms are very very dark both day and night.

We literally walked into a wall of mozzies on entry and regardless of the spray in the room - they were plague proportions all the time, such a shame. It would appear that all the still water around the resort is a breeding ground for them.

Many others complained about the quality of the facilities but while a little TLC was needed, it wasn't an issue.

The restaurant and staff were great, location was good - close but far enough away from Kuta and having a second restaurant out the front with possibly the best Pizzas we have ever eaten was a big tick.

The Jamu Spa was excellent but not enough to make us want to stay again I'm sorry to say - the mozzies were just that bad.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Chad W,

Greetings from Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort!

Hello how are you? Hope you are well and healthy there. We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel on your last trip to Bali. We are sorry for the mosquitos issue and it will be our top priorities to get it fix.

We are glad you enjoyed the Jamu Spa treatment and the pizza at our Papa's Limoncello restaurant in front of the hotel and at the same time could still enjoy the traditional Bali experince with us .

Once again, thank you for the comments on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again in Bali.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here with three other 24 yo girls in a family room, and it was just perfect for our first trip to Bali. We struggled to find any other places in Legian within our budget where we could stay in the one room. The resort is well located - straight across from the beach and just a short walk from a chemist, small grocer type shop, restaurants, bars, etc. So it is in the hustle and bustle, but once you step inside it is completely quiet and tranquil. Our room was spacious and located right at the back and up the three flights of stairs (with no lift) - I can see how some fussy people may find this annoying, but we didn't mind at all. I guess our particular room would not be the best for any disabled travellers, but with the hotel staff being so friendly and helpful, I'm sure this could be avoided. The two pools were the best part of the resort - we hung around the one with music going right near the pool bar. Perfect for lounging around after a big night out! We loved the real Balinese feel of the whole place. Breakfast was great, it had good variety and was nicely located on the top level. We even paid for a buffet BBQ and entertainment night at the hotel, which was lovely. We stayed in July and the resort was not crowded at all. I would definitely recommend Alam Kul Kul to others wanting value for money, great service and awesome location in Legian.

Room Tip: The family rooms are located in the building right at the back, which means no noise whatsoever but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Holly J,

Greetings from Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort!

Hi girls, how are you all. Hope you guys are well and healthy. We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and we are glad to know you have enjoyed the BBQ dinner at the hotel and have found a perfect chilling spot by the pool.

Once again, thank you for the comments on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again in Bali.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

we stayed in 2011, just my partner and I, we had a great 7 day stay. the staff were awesome and were very helpful and wanted to do anything for us! the pools were always cool but not cold and never completely full .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petapooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Petapooh,

Greetings from AlamKulkul Boutique Resort!

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Bali. We are glad to know you had a great time with us here. We will be waiting for your return in our hotel

Kind Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We only stayed here for 2 nights when we first landed in Bali. It was pretty close to the airport so the taxi ride wasn't very expensive. The resort is huge, lots and lots of rooms but spread out beautifully through gardens. There are two nice pools and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great, a very quick walk around the corner and you are in the middle of Legian and in the other direction not so far away is Poppys Lane. The beach is directly across the road. I would definitely stay here again. The rooms were large, clean and the airconditioner was a God send and even though there were loads of room it seemed really quite and private.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Jodie b,

Greetings from AlamKulkul Boutique Resort!

We are very happy to know you had a great time with us in Bali. Thank you for your lovely comments for the staff and our facilities. We will be waiting for your return in Bali.

Kind Regards
Alam Kulkul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.3 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Property: Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Legian 80030, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#12 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#15 Spa Hotel in Legian
#18 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing