We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just got back from 10/7 at Alam. Beautiful grounds, and very large (not boutique to me), staff so friendly, warm and unassuming. Great location across the road from beach. Food ok, we only ate once there and once at Papa's at the front. I felt they should have told us (or had it on their website) prior to coming that one of the pools were closed for maintenance! The two guys who worked poolside were so lovely, well done you two! We would head indoors from the pool about 5pmish to avoid the mosquitos who came out in droves at that time! We had family room
'at the back of the resort" and we had no prob walking back and forth! Room very big and had super king and 2 x super single separated by a curtain. Our room was cleaned every day and he did a fantastic job, thanks! The only open pool is back there anyway! We would spray our room every night when we went out for dinner and had no probs with mosquito bites! we'll be back Alam, thanks for great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaroberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Linda Roberts,
Thank you for your time to write a review for us.
We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us in regards with our pool maintenance, we do hope you & family enjoy our other pool located in the garden with our pool bar.
Your comments on the service in the garden pool area provided by our staff are most delightful and will be shared with them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future at our Boutique Resort .

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    351
    120
    33
    27
See reviews for
260
341
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Alam KulKul is nicely located the beach is just one crosswalk away, and plenty of food choices within 30 min walk in multiple directions. The grounds are crisp and clean, the pool is acceptable, and it feels very safe. The breakfast buffet is fine if its included in the price, but expensive (18 USD?) as a stand alone. Our most basic room was adequate, but not exceptional, the bathroom plenty big, the closets large. The only 'issue' - our toilet bubbled when someone nearby flushed - weird but not a negative (luckily!)

Room Tip: A room near the pool may be nice for families, but probably not for couples wishing some peaceful pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laphph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Laphph2,

We are pleased to see that you love the location of our resort which is just one crosswalk to the famous Legian beach and nearby to plenty of food choices places but away from noise.
Thank you for sharing about our pool, your safety feeling & the cleanliness in our resort. It's really appreciated.

In regards with breakfast, we give our value guest an option when they made a reservation and the room include breakfast are the most popular choice as this is more valuable for them.

Your comment on 'toilet flushed' has been discussed on board and an appropriate action has been taken by our team to follow up this issue.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The resort was at the end of Pantai Kuta Road, slightly away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta, but it's beach front, so you'll have easy access to the Kuta/ Legian beach. It has the traditional Bali atmosphere with nice garden along the pathway to the rooms. The villas look nice and big. We had the family room which was almost at the back of the resort. Room was big, clean with all the necessities with robes and slippers too. Breakfast was sufficient to start the day. Check-in/ out services was fast. A 15 mins walk along the Pantai Kuta Road will get you to the Hard Rock Cafe, while passing by the Beachwalk Mall, cafes, Mc Donalds, mini marts and other hotels. If your feet are tired, just hail a taxi back to the hotel, for around 20K IDR or check out the roadside spas for cheap foot/ body massage..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools looks nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myzatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Myzatul,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort during your recent visit to Bali and learn that you are had a pleasant stay & holidays at our Resort.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our stay at Alam KulKul was our fifth trip to Bali as a family. The stay was during the second week of our trip, and overall was a very lovely stay.
The location was close to perfect, although the one-way road made it difficult to get to certain places. The staff was lovely, and we didn't have a single problem with them. The hotel and rooms were very nice, except we were given a room at the very back of the hotel. The hotel is very big, so the walk we had to make numerous times a day eventually took it's toll. If you are thinking of staying here, make sure you request a front room. We hardly ate at the restaurant, but did have lunch there one day and it was very nice. Overall it was a very nice hotel in a very nice location. Full credit to the staff just don't get stuck with the back rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front of the hotel are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Coby G,

Thank you for your sharing at Tripadvisor and we are so pleased to know that you and your family spent a lovely holiday with us at ALAM KulKul Boutique Resort.

Your comments on the service provided by our staff will be shared with the whole team that will encourage them to keep continuing their good work and always keep improving it.

We do hope to welcome you & family again in the near future at our Boutique Resort .

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had booked this resort at the last minute, when we realized that the hotel we'd originally booked was a 3 hr drive from the airport. (Word of warning for first timers in Bali - do not underestimate the size of the island)
The set up of the hotel is very traditional. The open areas, the restaurant etc. have a lot of character to them. Ours was a 4-bed deluxe room and it was pretty functional. The cottages looked way more traditional though. The staff is very cheery, friendly and helpful. They set us up with a good cab to go around the place and also referred us to some water sports etc. around the island. The Italian restaurant in the hotel serves very decent food (try their Volcano pizza) and the best part about the hotel is that it's right across the road from the beach. You can walk to the beach at any time of the night. The Legian area, however did not seem too family-friendly. It's more of the younger crowds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijayanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Vijayanil,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent holiday to Bali.
We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay and love the concept of our boutique resort where we keep the natural ambience around resort.
Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most delightful and will be shared with the whole team.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again to ALAMKULKUL Boutique Resort.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year and came back again this year. Great room pay the extra to get a pool frontage room. We original were given a room with the outside shower and toilet however there were SO many mozzies (literally hundreds) so we requested to change and were given a pool frontage room. I would recommend this place.. Right across the road from the beach and 15 min walk Into kuta and lovely eateries, markets just around the corner.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amandamay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review here.
We are glad to know that this was your second time stay in our resort.
Your comment especially about mosquito are taken action very seriously by our management and at this stage together with neighbor hotels & Banjar (village community), we are doing a treatment to minimize the mosquito issues.
We do hope to welcome you again in the future at our Boutique Resort .

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Alam Kulkul on two occasions with no major issues or problems at all. The hotel is in a great location straight across from the beach and only a short walk to the markets and restaurants. Staff were helpful and the complimentary drinks at the restaurant bar were a great addition. Rooms are a little dated, but still great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Nathan C,
Warmest Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort

Thank you f sharing your stay experience with us and had a lovely holidays at our Resort . We will share this with our staff here.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Property: Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#11 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#16 Spa Hotel in Legian
#18 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing