We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need some improvement on room condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 times during silence day in Bali...rate of the package has increased on the 2nd year which is fine but they take out the benefit of lunch which we had on previous year

Perfect location to the beach but room is getting old and really need some improvement. The room smell of old wood. Found out that other hotel offered better package with good condition of room.

Staff is friendly overall .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank vivilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Alam KulKul hotel with 2 friends. The staff were fantastic, very helpful and always stopping to say hello and ask how you are. The hotel was spotlessly clean including the pool area. The large pool was shut for renovations but the smaller of the two was open. Despite this there were always plenty of sunbeds available all day, however many did remain in the shade so it wasn't great if you were looking to top up your tan.
The rooms were basic but very clean, with complimentary water provided everyday. It was also my birthday when we were there and staff left a small cake with plates in the room- a lovely gesture!
We had breakfast which was included, and very much worth it! A great selection was available, including a chef who made fresh pancakes, omelettes and scrambled eggs to order!
We also went on several day trips organised by the hotel. This was a great service and good value for money. We basically had our own private driver for the day in an air conditioned mini bus who took us to the nearby sights we wanted to visit, including the rice terraces and to watch some local Balinese dancing. We went on several different outings with a different driver each time. They were all very friendly and knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to explore each place.
Overall a fantastic stay, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firefly345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

To be honest, it was not love at the first sight. We arrived late in the evening, exhausted with two kids under 5, and desperately need a rest. We booked a family room on the 2nd floor and the hotel did not have an elevator. There quite a number mosquitos in our room and a two lights that were disconnected. We were too exhausted to call the manager, so we kept the concern to the next day. The next day we mentioned our concern to the front desk and immediately they sent us a technician to our room. Voila! The lights were fixed and he brought us an extra anti mosquito spray. Over 5 days, we grew to LOVE this hotel and at the end of our stay, my daughter told me that she didn't want to leave.

The smile and the top notch service from the staff are the reason we like this hotel, besides it's strategic location in front of Kuta beach. It is easy to entertain our kids whether to swim on the beach or in the swimming pool, or to walk around Discovery Walk shopping center.

Although surrounded by big hotels and an upscale entertainment center, we did not hear loud banging noise. As we entered the premise, we were welcomed by splashing sounds of water fountains, fish ponds, the sound of Balinese bamboo gamelan, the fragrant smell of frangipani flower and the clean greenery surrounding, which reminds us of peaceful Ubud.

Breakfast was superb. They served local breakfast and continental style with homemade loaf, pastries and local fresh fruits.
They also try to be as environmentally friendly as possible, which is great for the island, overall.

Kudos to Helen Cox, the Manager, and the whole Alamkulkul staff! We will be back and will bring our parents in law with us!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmalph12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Imalph,

Thank you for your sharing at Tripadvisor and we are so pleased to know that you and your family spent a lovely holiday with us at ALAM KulKul Boutique Resort.

On behalf og our GM – Ms. Helen Fox, we would like to thank you for your good feedback and delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay and love the concept of our boutique resort where we keep the natural ambience surround and particularly value our hotel.

Your comments on the service provided by our staff will be shared with the whole team that will encourage them to keep continuing their good work and always keep improving it.
We do hope to welcome you & family again in the near future at our Boutique Resort.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a small Hotel compared with what is surrounding it. What it lacks in size it makes up for in lots of other ways.
It is a Balinese Style hotel with great staff who cannot be more helpful. It is in a good location across from the beach. Short walk to the Markets / Restaurants / Bars . Rooms are a good size clean and tidy. They had a free cocktail night which we thought was good as you got to mingle with the other guests and staff.
We will be returning to enjoy this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahalvors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Ahalvors,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort during your recent visit to Bali and learn that you are enjoy your stay & holidays at our Resort.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My Friend and I stayed there for 6 days, we got 2 villas and they were both amazing, I really appreciated giving us a connecting one.
Reception staff was amazing, she welcome us upon check in with big smile.
Hotel is absolutely amazing, and deserve to be even 5 starts, the Italian restaurant was wow, and the staff at the breakfast were amazing especially one lady which unfortunately I couldn’t get her name, she is always smiling and one day I saw her at the pool working there as well.

I should not forget Security team, they were very polite and helpful.
Ms. Helen (the GM of the Hotel) I do congratulate you for the amazing staff and hotel that you have, as I am a manager of big 5 start hotel in Dubai and I can feel the hospitality that your hotel have.

About Bali, it is amazing city, 100% I will be back soon with no doubt to Alam KulKul, the only sad point about Bali, that unfortunately you need to negotiate with everything in the market, if they ask you for 500000 you can say 100000 etc … especially with taxis

Sky Garden was the best place for night life and next to the hotel (3 minutes walking) there is one guy called Saka and Albi, they have nice offers and what to do in Bali.

Thank you again and see you soon.
Fadi

Room Tip: Villa facing the Pool is amaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Fadi,

Warmest Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort
On behalf of our GM – Ms. Helen Fox, we would like to thank you for your recent visit and your time to sharing with us about your feedback.

We are so happy to read that you were pleased with everything at the hotel and the staff interaction. Your comment to our team especially to security team was shared with them and it will encourage them to keep continuing their good work and always keep improving it.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we stayed at the Java villa with plunge pool. the room was lovely. the honeymoon decorations were so romantic and it was accompanied with a cake and fruits. upon arrival to the reception we were given a cold towel to re freshen ourselves, check in was a breeze.
our room was our little paradise, it was clean and refreshing.
the private pool was very refreshing and we absolutely loved the choco chip cookies left by the pool.
our bed was so inviting and welcoming that we had good sleep. my favorite part of the java villa is definitely our bathroom and bath tub. and the bath gel smelled so sensual and romantic.
even the outdoor (garden pool) was amazing. the other pool was under renovation during our stay.

as many had mentioned in their review that the mosquitoes which bothered them, however, v did not really face any problems with the mosquitoes.
the breakfast was lovely and each morning there were this pair of squirrels which will come hunting for food.we also had complimentary lunch and dinner, which was ok. the staff are very attentive and service with a smile.

the atmosphere at alam kulkul is very relaxing. we also had dinner at papa's, which was good. also there is the alam club which offers complimentary sandwiches,pastries,juices and etc.

we also had a session of balinese massage at their spa.

overall, we loved an denjoyed our stay and will definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premalatha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Premalatha S,
We would like to thank you for choosing our resort during your recent visit to Bali and sharing your appreciation with us when your stay at our JAVA Villa with plunge pool.
We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent with us, your comments on the service provided by our staff are most delightful and will be shared with the whole team.
We do pool maintenance to upgrade our pool facilities to be user friendly for our guest.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hopefully we will see you again in the future
Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just got back from 10/7 at Alam. Beautiful grounds, and very large (not boutique to me), staff so friendly, warm and unassuming. Great location across the road from beach. Food ok, we only ate once there and once at Papa's at the front. I felt they should have told us (or had it on their website) prior to coming that one of the pools were closed for maintenance! The two guys who worked poolside were so lovely, well done you two! We would head indoors from the pool about 5pmish to avoid the mosquitos who came out in droves at that time! We had family room
'at the back of the resort" and we had no prob walking back and forth! Room very big and had super king and 2 x super single separated by a curtain. Our room was cleaned every day and he did a fantastic job, thanks! The only open pool is back there anyway! We would spray our room every night when we went out for dinner and had no probs with mosquito bites! we'll be back Alam, thanks for great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaroberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne A, Director of Sales at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Linda Roberts,
Thank you for your time to write a review for us.
We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us in regards with our pool maintenance, we do hope you & family enjoy our other pool located in the garden with our pool bar.
Your comments on the service in the garden pool area provided by our staff are most delightful and will be shared with them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future at our Boutique Resort .

Thank you,
Yvonne Anggreni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#13 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#15 Spa Hotel in Legian
#18 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing