We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swonderful, Smarvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Swonderful, Smarvellous”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I was sceptical when I initially read some of the negative posts about this hotel, so I took a chance and was really surprised. I just can't understand some people who just never seem to be satisfied wherever they stay..It's Bali for goodness sake! It's not the 'Ritz'.I took a package deal from Australia and the hotel worked out to be about $35 pp, per night! Great!.. The grounds are enormous and fastidiously kept neat and tidy always, manicured as only the Balinese seem to know how to do. Beautiful fountains, pools and carvings wherever you look. The staff are beautiful, friendly and always accomodating. The room had a king size bed and very comfortable, a tv(never turned it on) bedside tables, wardrobe and bathroom with shower and bath. Basically the bare neccessities (anyway one is always out, isn't one?) It was clean and nice and reasonably private. 5 minutes walk to the pool or beach, every facility one could need, drinks and food are expensive but who eats or drinks at the hotel anyway in Bali! Great restaurants are 7 minutes away on the coast at Legian and a million shops are 10 minutes walk from the front entrance. I would stay there again for sure, 'swonderful smarvellous that they would care for me'....

Room Tip: Go for a ground floor room as after a heavy night out eating drinking and making merry who wants to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guru14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    516
    376
    192
    145
See reviews for
523
404
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel-apartment in Jan '10.
We stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment.
The complex is big and they have 3 pools, 1 is not too big and located in the back area, and the 2 main pools is located at the center. The pools are big and have lots of sunbathing chairs but its pretty crowded aswell.
Jayakarta Legian also have access direct to the beach , although beach wasnt too clean when we visited. There were trashes scattered around the sands.
Not too far from hotel there is a massage parlour called Luna ? And it has been our ritual to come there almost everyday to get a lovely massage.
Getting to Kuta central area isnt too far either with the taxis always available around. It will takes you 15 mins by taxi.
Overall I had enjoyable stay during my visit in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicajohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A long overdue review as we stayed here in March 2011 but better late than never. Upon arrival we went to reception and were given our key to the apartment(6108) ground floor in Residence A. Very annoyed as the sofa bed was not made up and didn't have any bedding left for it as our two boys 6yrs and 8yrs were sleeping in it. As it was after midnight I was not happy as I had to take my top sheet and bedspread for them to sleep with and no pillows. The portacot was made up however for our toddler. In the morning again dissapointed to find the room hadn't been cleaned! Empty alcohol bottles, dirty cups/glasses, bench tops with crumbs all over and also the sheets and pillow cases looked like they weren't washed either. I NEVER complain but did to the cleaner and from that day forward the room was made up spotlessly every day. It had a large fridge, toaster, kettle and free drinking water which was handy. The apartments are not near the pools at all but are about a few mins walk to..just don't forget to take all you need to the pools cause its very annoying to have to walk all the way back. All in all the apartment itself was ok for us -especially for $80AUDper night for a family of five is very good value. Originally I thought I would not stay here again but after spending over $200 per night at Dynasty for the last 5 days of our holiday IMO I just can't see the point in spending all that extra money on a hotel..you just sleep in your hotel room. I don't think the apartment would be suitable for kids any older than say 8 or 9 sharing the sofa bed..just not big enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Jayakarta August 15/19. This was our third stay here and it's not bad. Our room seemed quite small after spending a week at the Kuta Puri Resort in Poppies 1. This hotel is clean and tidy and the grounds are very nice. I think it was close to full capacity when we stayed, in the morning it was quite difficult to find a table at breakfast. The breakfast selection was good but because of the sheer number of people trying to eat. the staff could not keep up with supply. I sat for quite some time waiting for the food to be replenished. The pools are large and the swim up bar is good but there was a lot of children splashing about. Being the parents of six and one grandchild we are used to having kiddies around but on this occasion we were on our own for the first time in years. We found the noise a little over the top. Our room was right next to the pool,so when the shouting and laughter started at about 6.00am it was a bit annoying. Maybe people looking for a holiday without children should look at a quieter hotel. The staff throughout the resort were very polite and helpful as are all the balinese people in all the hotels we have ever stayed in. This was our 17th or 18th trip to Bali and one of the best. The weather was perfect being 18/19 at night and 27/29 during the day with almost no humidity.
If you are travelling with children this hotel is an excellent choice, you will be right on the beach and close to shopping and eating establishments. There is a kiddies play room, kiddies pool and plenty of grassed areas for them to run around. Down by the beach end you will find table tennis, full size tennis court and huge chess set, also a small play ground. The bar down by the beach has been enclosed since our last stay and if you are a non smoker it is pretty smelly.
All up this hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the pool. This is a very big resort and some of the rooms are a long way from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baliboundagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have stayed 3 times. Once just the two of us, Once with the four kids, once with friends. I would stay again. Kids loved it! Right on the beach but with the 4 pools and spa you don't need to swim at the beach.Just walk over and sit at one of the many beach bars for a $1 bintang and friendly company from a local.
Good base as it is close to everything. Good Value, Staff friendly. Great swim up bar. Great dry bar with entertainment, Great buffet Breakfast to start your day. Had a massage there also and it was wonderful. Full spa and gym with daycare provided if needed. Feels traditional with music in the background throughout the lush gardens that are immaculate.
There has been bad experiences here from some so maybe we have just been lucky...But I don't think so. If you are wanting to be waited on hand and foot and want modern facilities just go elsewhere I say.
Did I mention kids with love it :)

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room close to the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lushgraphix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nice Pool, swim up bar, beautiful gardens and great location!

A little tired with the breakfast area under big pressure - Europeans eat a lot! Staff seemed unmanaged and therefore good some days and lax other days.

Internet was very poor, better to go to other restaurants than bother in the meals area. Although we later found the business center away from the beach was very fast and cheap!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was great, straight out into the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottcamry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have stayed at the Jayakarta many times and the quality of the rooms really varies from block to block. The older rooms in block 5 and the residences are best to be avoided. They are damp and have a very unpleasant odor. Some of the rooms in the residences overlook an alley full of garbage.
The three pools are really lovely and the buffet breakfast is quite good. The location is also desirable - right opposite the beach. The hotel has a lot going for it but to keep it's advertised 4* rating some money should be put into the older rooms to make them more pleasant to stay in.

Room Tip: The newer blocks have smaller rooms but are not damp like some of the older rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
2,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#30 of 84 in Legian
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
5,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Property: The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#36 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayakarta Bali Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Residence
Bali Jayakarta
Jayakarta Hotel Bali
Hotel Jayakarta Bali
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing