We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and bad service.”
Review of The Sari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sari Beach
Ranked #67 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 29 December 2011

At check in they gave us what had to be the worst possible room in the hotel. Aft we complained they moved us to an OK room with a dirty jacuzzi. The shower didn't work and they didn't seem to worry about it when we told them. Very disappointing breakfast. Upon check out they tried to overcharge us a "high season fee". Won't ever stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arucatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Loved the position, right on the beach. We paid approx $75AUD a night after haggling included breakfast. Staff seemed a little unfriendly & over it. Our room was nice & clean. Bathroom was nice, carved sandstone, bath, hair dryer. Room had A/C, KS 4 poster bed, safe, bar fridge & TV. Electrical was dangerously dodgy on bedside lamp. All daily housekeeping needs attended to. Meals were nice. Was nice to walk out of the grounds onto the beach esplanade & not have hawkers hassling you until you got onto the sand. Convienience store located directly opposite lane, it sold beer much cheaper than Sari prices, byo bottle opener. Pool was OK 7 plenty of lawn & deck chairs to lay on. Bar hut close by.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOxfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Standard room feels like a prison, that's why upon showing we asked the staff "could you please show us a superior room?". "This is our superior room" was the reply. According to the website only two type of rooms can be chosen: standard or deluxe. In our case we agreed upon deluxe but we went after one night. Sink was defective, shower also... the only thing that felt a bit like luxury were the bathroom lights.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tjiktjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I cannot believe some of the reviews on this place, we stayed for 10 nights and it was great right on the beach, nice small little hotel with great friendly staff, clean rooms a little old but great, I expected not much else for like $30 per person per night ( reviews on staff not friendly, maybe it wasn't the staff but yourself, ) We booked and paid again for next year. Hey people if you want 5 star then head up the road to Padma !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank bev2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We got back from here only last week. I loved the size, staff, pool and gardens and the great price. We only slept in the room so if you are planing to watch movies and be couped up in your room all day - don't stay here! If you are like me and go shopping, eat out and want to relax by the pool with a Bintang or cocktail, this would be perfect. There were not many children when we were here, everyone was quiet and it was mostly just couples of all ages. The driveway is long - out to the main street which has the traditional junky shops full of rip off brands, we hired a scooter which made it much easier. It was only $65 a night and right on the beach. There were plenty of pool chairs on the grass around the pool and nice gardens as well. We left for three nights to go to Nusa Lembogan and Bingen and they looked after our bags- (this was prior to our check in) I thought that was nice as there would not be many places that would hold your bags with out you even staying there yet.
The only faults are that it definitely needs a revamp,our room had thin walls and the shower was not brilliant a bit temperamental bad water pressure - everyday was different but it still worked. Air con was good, bed and linen big and comfy, plenty of space in our room. I will most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in a garden view room not near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank becca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

A great location on the beach, quiet area, old-style Bali grounds -- probably it was once a lovely place. Now the atap thatch buildings are patched with tarps, the plumbing stopped functioning properly years ago (shower heads leak and spray everywhere but down, hot water is usually cold), mold is rampant in the bathroom ceilings, no one has dusted under the beds or behind the TV, etc in months, the beds are really hard, the pillows uncomforatble lumps. the bed linens a dingy gray and fortunately, so little light in the rooms you can't see most of it. We ended up buying pillows and pillowcases to use. Most of the guests develop a hacking cough after a few days -- probably the mold. You can hear your niehgbors talking (and hacking) through the thin walls.
Note: Rates are quoted in US dollars. You are not told you will need to have US dollars in cash to actually pay that rate until you check out. Then the exchange rate to rupiah the hotel gouges you for is close to 10% loss to you, plus, if you use a credit card the hotel adds on an extra 3% -- all this is an unpleasant surprise at the end.
The staff (other than the desk checkout cheat) is generally friendly and helpful. They were especially nice to children. Unusual for an Asian hotel, there is no electric kettle to heat water for tea or coffeee or boil it for drinking water. A request for one resulted in a long negotiation resulting in being given an old one that needed an adapter -- fortunately I had one in my travel kit.
The breakfasts included get tiresome with little varierty -- the same hard cantaloupe and melon each day, the same tasteless pastries and brown fried eggs. The coffee and banana pancakes are good, however, and the bacon is pork, not halal turkey or beef.
It's a shame really, because the gardens are so nice, the building design is traditional, and it's really the kind of place that would make Bali different than just any beach party town. The pool is really nice. It would take so little money to fix the faults -- a few lamps. new faucets and shower heads, new linens and pillows, a mattress topper, and someone to supervise the cleaning staff and hold it to standards of clean.

Room Tip: The garden rooms provide a private porch and patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdswandtres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed at Sari Beach late May. Booked last August in a superior room. Upon arriving last week we were given a standard room unrenovated with airconditioning not working properly. The room towels were disgusting and the taps were rusted and pitted. Upkeep and maintenance seemed to be non existant. The pool needs repainting and cleaning, tiles were mouldy. The breakfast was Ok. If you book in this hotel make sure you do not get rooms 101-104 which are not fit for anyone to stay in. We will never stay in this hotel again and we have had 25 trips to Bali and this is the worst hotel room over this time. The older reception person did not seem to care or listen to any requests. The rooms near the pool are Ok would have been happy to have been allocated one of these as they are also classed as Superior or deluxe with only a $10 price difference. Upon checking out 2 lots of other guests were also complaining about their rooms, no hot water and leaking airconditioning unit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank swift1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 87 in Legian
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kusnadi Hotel
Kusnadi Hotel
#43 of 87 in Legian
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sari Beach

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: £47 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sari Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be awaken by the sound of waves. Within steps from the Beach. Have a lushful Balinese Garden right outside your window. Stay in traditional Balinese Rooms decorated with an authentic Balinese Taste. Home away from Home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Beach Hotel
Sari Beach Inn
The Sari Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing