We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem the Sari Inn”
Review of The Sari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sari Beach
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A true gem the Sari Inn”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Sari may have changed its name but I still recognise it . I stayed here about 25 years ago ,
I loved its quaintness , small personalised service and a touch of old school Bali .
My girlfriend had stayed at the legion beach inn a large rambling hotel with very non personal feel .
I went back and had a peek at the Sari the last time I was in Bali and they now have a pool.
The hotel is in a wonderful location ,close enough to everything but away from the crazy ness.If you want a big shiny hotel that is the same in any country this isn't it ...
This is a lovely Balinese hotel

Room Tip: There was an upstairs room that had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    42
    20
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
42
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

For what you get this little gem is great value. Only A$65 for an off peak room right on the beach: pool, bar, restaurant, service wih a range of rooms for groups, families and couples. Small, boutique and friendly. Just off Jalan Padma Utara, near the heart of Legian.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Funkychick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for three nights in July 2012. At US $70 for single person it compares well.The days of nice places at $20 are long gone folks.Nice staff, accomodating, rooms pleasant older Balinese style,breakfast more than adequate and a reasonably priced evening meal..not fantastic but filled a gap.. Great barman but to save time during happy hour prefers mixing quadruple gins.
Wonderful gardens and pool and superb beach access. Hot water OK but not unlimited. Good alleyway walk to the hustlers on Jl Padma and back to peace and quiet. Driver takes you to airport for fixed price no hassles.
I'd recommend it for couples with little kids...no dangers. Can't understand the bad reviewers..lving in past expextations?

Room Tip: Garden view rooms nice. Others have own little courtyard but not really much point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ROD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is by far one of the best locations on the beach at Legian. The pool area gave me a feeling of being in a backyard at home. The grounds are green with a beautiful lawn and some furniture spread spread out but it you won't find too many guests hanging around.

The rooms and service are pretty average but I still give it a rating based on its location and may actually visit there again. The price is quite good when you look at it. It is basically somewhere to lay your weary head and location makes everything accessible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mel_travelled33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Not the fanciest hotel, but the room was clean with AC and cable tv. The bathroom was a little dark and dated. There is a nice pool and they provide beach towels. The beach is as close as possible. It's a small hotel, with only 24 rooms, and breakfast is provided. It's a good value for the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

One of the best locations on Legian beach, easy stroll on the sand to Kuta square, surrounding shops, markets and restaurants. Set in beautiful neatly maintained gardens this unique Balinese hotel may not be to everyones taste but it suited us.. Our prime requirement was to have direct access to the beach and a clean and comfortable peaceful room. Our Deluxe Garden View room (214) offered fully tiled bathroom (shower over bath) ornate lighting and full lenght mirror. Large bedroom with KS 4 poster (with netting) , maybe not quite KS size but close, side tables, large inbuilt wardrobe with ample hanging space and shelves, dressing table and stool, TV and CD in cabinet, table and chairs, safe and AC (new). Outside balcony with table and chairs plus drying rack (really delightful outlook). Downside was low water pressure, hot water takes forever to come thru. There is no provision for making coffee or tea. We purchased an electric kettle (70000 IDR) as we must have our caffien shot first thing an waking. The staff are pleasant and are mostly old retainers from the time the hotel was built some 30 years ago. They speak basic English, German and Russian and are polite and helpful, particularly at breakfast with old fashioned table service. Breakfast is adequate and the Restaurant provides Austrian cuisine plus local and international dishes (excellent value). We found most guests are return visitors and book up to 12 months ahead. We took the hint and booked for next year. Room rates range from $80 to $120, incl breakfast. Depending on stay you can negotiate. Aside from the need for some roofing maintenance we rate this hotel on a par (if not better) than its more expensive beach side neighbours. Booking should be done directy to the hotel by Email.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivanabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, QLD
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Over the past 10 years we have stayed 4 or 5 times. With only 24 rooms, down the long driveway, & 10m to the beach the prices have gone from $30 to $80 with the only noticeable change new aircon. Same boys clean the rooms (boys seldom do a good job), same cook, same staff. Agus has been there for 20 years, Made on the bar for 12. Showers have always been dodgy.
No better or worse than others in Bali. Plumbers must be hard to get.
We rather stay here than Melasti next door that has 200 rooms because its a haven from the bussle on the road, the pool is ok & the grass, trees allows the chilling out. And no bogans. There are nicer places but this is OK.

Room Tip: Upstairs are nicer & quieter. 214 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Fairlieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#27 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#33 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#28 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sari Beach

Property: The Sari Beach
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sari Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be awaken by the sound of waves. Within steps from the Beach. Have a lushful Balinese Garden right outside your window. Stay in traditional Balinese Rooms decorated with an authentic Balinese Taste. Home away from Home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Sari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Beach Hotel
Sari Beach Inn
The Sari Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing