We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old hotel......”
Review of The Sari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sari Beach
Ranked #63 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in February this year.... At 450,000Rp a night so overpriced.....booked for 2 weeks stayed 4 nights.....on arrival fridge filthy.....curtains covered in mildew, linen disgusting, towels old and thread bear, TV didn't work, no WiFi on room......food yuk......a shame.....great location....but needs some major work to be done.....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
7  Thank Lainie2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NARTA_MADE, Manager at The Sari Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mrs Lainie,

Good morning, wish to meet you alwasy very well.
We are very sorry if during your stay with us fill not so confortable.
Please apologiest.
Thank you and very apprciate to your comments.
Of course this is to improve the state of our Hotel
We strongly believe you are doing this because you love the Hotel

Sincerely,
Made Narta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

The wife & I returned, yesterday, from spending seven nights at this hotel. It was our 14th holiday trip to Bali, so we are accustomed as to what to expect on the island.

We had booked & had confirmed by web page print out - plus an e-mail, a garden bungalow with a king size double bed. When we arrived we were given a room with two single beds & in a back area of the hotel. I complained & the desk attendant tried to say that my booking could not be guaranteed & all rooms were the same price. I said that I would be attending the reception area first thing in the morning & demanding to see the manager. I said I would demand my money back & go somewhere else.

To cut a long story short we were transferred to another bungalow that was in a good area of the hotel grounds with a small park area opposite. However the air conditioning didn't work & it took several visits & phone calls to reception before workmen came & fixed the problem.

We had no hot water in the bathroom & our requests met with no response. It rained a lot during our stay & as the skies were overcast for days at a time the water for showering was cold & uncomfortable. The TV reception was faulty & all channels dropped out for periods several times a day.

To obtain poolside drink/food one had to go to the swim up bar to place an order. No attendants
walked the pool taking orders as done in other hotels. Overall the service, by Bali standards, was very poor.

The hotel is located in a good position & on the beach. The restaurants provided very good food - especially the Indonesian cuisine.

I would not stay at this hotel again. Its location & food compares well with most other hotels on the island but the service falls well behind.

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow room close to the beach - otherwise location is too far away from pool & r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gutsache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NARTA_MADE, Manager at The Sari Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear gutsache

Good Morning,
Hopefully you are in good health always.
Thank you and we greatly appreciate your comments.
Of course this is to improve the state of our Hotel
We strongly believe you are doing this because you love the Hotel
I hope you are not disappointed to come to Bali. we still hope you deign to come to Sari Beach

Sincerely,
Made Narta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed here twice. Once with my hubby and once with the two kids. Both times we had issues with the bathrooms, lights from outside. ( curtains are sheer ), noise from staff who stay up to do nightshift....t.v on all night in lobby. then the airconditioner. We stayed with the kids in the villa ???? huh. There was no aircon downstairs, bedrooms upstairs had a/c but not for 4 of the 7 days we were there. They just wouldnt fix it. Plus the mozzies. There were no screens but breezeway bricks were the choice of building material. On the plus side the location is private, the pool is nice. the pool chairs are always taken by 6am, not that their that comfy. Please, whoever owns this hotel, close it, fix it and you will have the jewel in the crown.

Room Tip: Room 100 or 200. upstairs and downstairs, overlooking the pool. best rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you're expecting the Hilton this place is not for you but if you want peace and beautiful low-rise surroundings right on the beach in the heart of Legian, this accommodation is of good value. We booked for just a few days then negotiated a better deal to stay a bit longer.
The fittings and fixtures are old and reminiscent of past times but it'll remind you of when Bali was less hectic. We stayed in the Garden Room Delux which is very private and close by the pool, I hope they upgrade a few facilities in the near future.

Room Tip: If your facing the beach, all the rooms on the LHS are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NARTA_MADE, Manager at The Sari Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Robert.
Good morning,, Long time not hear you,
wish to meet you healthy, Happy and alwasy very well.
Thank you and very appreciate to your comments.
Hope we can keep our relationship on future.
We wish to meet you next time.
Rgds
Management and Staff The Sari Beach .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The only reason this place gets one star is because I can't give it zero. We walked by the beachside previously and saw that the pool area and garden looked nice so decided to check in...what a mistake that was. The exhaust for the AC is in the from porch blasting hot air at the seats, creating an extremely noisy and hot environment where you are supposed to be relaxing. There is a black mold/film on the walls in the small front garden area. The room looks like it was built with discarded wood that you might see in a scrap pile. The walls and sheets are filthy, the faucets and bath are gross. The bathroom tiles are cracked, the mirror is messed up. The AC leaked badly, there was a huge puddle in front of the door in the morning. The fridge is a mess, no minibar.
This looks like a dirty motel that a drug addict might check into for a few hours, not a beachfront boutique hotel that you would think it is based on the website, oh and the pool that we originally thought looked good was old and you could smell the mold.
Now the service, ok, where do I start. We asked for towels for the pool and were told to go the laundry room and get them ourselves. Checking in and out they were rude, total lack of attention to any form of customer service.
We checked out of this hotel after one night and went to the All Seasons which is about a block away where the room are clean, they give you a card to get towels, you can relax on the balcony.
The only good thing about the Sari Beach is the wonderful, pleasant, hospitable woman who works at the bar, Wayan. She makes amazing drinks and is pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Surfdivekite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel in Legian and were pleasantly surprised at its value for money.

The rooms themselves are comfortable but I agree with the other reviews that they are tired, particularly the bathrooms, although ours was fully functioning!

The big plus of this place was that it has this huge lush garden with a gorgeous pool and you can just walk across the lane to the beach.

The staff were lovely and very polite and helpful.

We will definitely stay here again due to it being in a quite location, yet very central.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Sari is in a great location on the beach and in the heat of Legian. You walk straight out onto the beach at ground level unlike other Hotels near by.
The grass are was good for the Kids to play. I had three kids aged 2,4,and 7yrs. The staff were friendly and always would keep an eye out for the kids. The breakfast was good and the food was enough for nights in. Staying in this area it is always good to sample all the local resturants anyway.
The gardens are great and the pool is kept clean daily.
For the price and location, the rooms were as expected. The bathrooms were old and the taps and fittings are old and worn, some even broken. The hot water is poor and is of very low pressure, but it is Bali and you pay for what you get on the beach front.
Overall I was impressed with the Sari and have already booked again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 88 in Legian
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#33 of 88 in Legian
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#70 of 88 in Legian
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sari Beach

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: £35 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sari Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be awaken by the sound of waves. Within steps from the Beach. Have a lushful Balinese Garden right outside your window. Stay in traditional Balinese Rooms decorated with an authentic Balinese Taste. Home away from Home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Sari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Beach Hotel
Sari Beach Inn
The Sari Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing