We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice !”
Review of The Sari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sari Beach
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice !”
Reviewed 8 April 2009

The Sari Beach Inn is a little resort at the beach of Legian. The rooms are in little cottages with garden view. Some rooms have a terrace, some have a garden. Our Deluxe room was on the upper floorand we had garden view from the terrace, and a little seaview. We had a huge 4 poster bed, marble floor and a marble bathroom. Everything was neat and clean, everyday fresh bedsheets and if you like new towels. The pool is tiny but pretty, there are sunchairs and pooltowels free of charge.
There is a little walkway between hotel and beach. You just step out of the hotel, walk 5 meters and you are directly at the long beach. There is no streetnoise as this hotel is at the end of a little alley away from the traffic. But you only have to walk about 2 minutes and you will find many shops and restaurants.
Service was nice but a bit slow, extra wishes where no problem. Breakfast is a bit frugal as you get toast, eggs, jam, coffee or tea, juice or fruits. Or you can order the indonesian breakfast, which is fried rice. However, the quality was very good. Balinese coffee is excellent, the fruits were sweet, the fresh pineapple jam was yummy. One morning I tried the fried rice and it was delicious. We never had any other meals there, as there are many beach vendors which are selling fruits or fried noodles etc. and there is a huge selection of restaurants in every price range.

The Sari Beach has not too many facilities and they do not provide the fastest service. But if you like small resorts with a nice garden and a good atmosphere – this is your place!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YellowCrazyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    42
    20
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
42
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paringa, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We go to Bali twice a year on average. We usually stay in Tuban, at the other end of town, but wanted to stay in Legian. We had seen photographs of the wonderful gardens on the net. The grounds are really beautiful! The location is great, right on the beach, and near to all the good restaurants.
BUT, & this is a big one, the staff are very unfriendly.We arrived at 11pm on Saturday night, and not one person had bothered to reply to our good mornings, until Thursday pm. In Indonesia this is unheard of!
When we asked what other choices were available for breakfast, the staff lied. This changed once the germans accepted us, all of a sudden other choices were available!
The staff were incredibly rude and surly. The one exception to this is the room boys, who did an excellent job.
The staff were excellent at watching the television, as this is what they did all day. They were generally too interested in the television to have a conversation with you.
The vast majority of other guests were german, who had no interest, and possibly no english, in conversing with us. After the first week, we met a nice german couple who took pity on us, and introduced us to all the other guests, so that eventually people and the staff did speak to us! WE WERE THERE FOR A WEEK before anyone would respond to our good mornings. We attempted to speak to the owner, who grunted at us.
I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It was such a disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

benalla,vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We looked at this hotel in 07 and we were stopped by security and questioned that time this time we stayed there was no problem for anyone who wanted to use this hotel as a thorough fair to get to the beach every morning surfers would walk thru boards under there arms and on there return to there hotels, The pool is let out to anyone who wants to use it to lay by or swim in and the walls are so thin the room next to the Kitchen we could hear the workers when they started early in the mornings starting the breakfast cooking,The cats and kittens all meow around the kitchen so the noise is heard clearly in the room every morning and evening, There is no shower in the room next to kitchen its hand held and the spa doesnt work either,The gardens are lovely and would only stay there again if it was cheap but has now jumped in price dramaticly due to more tourists, Breakfast is ok no extras in the rooms like shampoo&Conditioner just soap and thats it .

  • Liked — Its location and garden
  • Disliked — The thin walls and walk thrus from other hotels
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank alaskanbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The Sari is a small and quiet hotel at Balis Legian Beach.

We have stayed 5 nights at a groundfloor Deluxe Room and we´ve been very happy. The room itself was spacious, clean with a big four poster bed, marble floor and a nice terrace. Bathroom good and clean with a huge bathtub.
Friends stayed at a Standard Room which was ok but not as nice as our Deluxe.

Nice pool and small restaurant, well kept pool and garden with view to the Beach.
The food is good and the staff ist very friendly - except the Lady working at breakfast... Breakfast itself has not a big choice but excellent fried rice and fresh fruits.

Perfect Location: Just cross the street (pedestrians only) and you´re at the beach. On the other hand you only have to step out of the hotel to find many shops and restaurants, it´s only a short taxi ride to Kuta or Seminyak.

  • Liked — Good value and location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YellowCrazyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I have stayed at this hotel before on my own for 2 nights last year and did decide not to come back,
although it is in an excellent location, I did come back wirth my husband and son,
we were booked into the sea side villa, I thought for 10 days, when we arrived I was told we could only stay there for 4 days and then would have to move rooms,
the seaside villa was the most expensive room in the place ( for 3 of us $$70 us per night) it was terrible, the bathroom was very old and no hot water for 2 days, rusty plumbing etc, my son ended up sleeping on the floor as the bed was so uncomfortable, we had broken slats in our bed,
we had a nice balcony which was located near the pool, but there was no privacy.
As we sat at our balcony we had to listen to the resident dog trying to breathe and choke, was not very nice, poor dog.
The bar man and one other staff member were delightful, the rest of the staff were not very friendly at all.
I am a hospitality manager and think they have been working there too long, or need to refresh their training.
We were moved upstairs to a deluxe room which was $10 Cheaper per night, (not our doing) and that room actually was much nicer,
We did check out before our time was up, could not stand it any more,
we have been to Bali many times, and although this hotel was in a very good location, the service and facilities did not suit our taste,
the pool and gardens were kept very well just like every other hotel in Bali,
we will never go back,

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank ellen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

The Sari Beach is a very clean and small hotel fronting Legian Beach. Nestled between the larger Puri Raja and Melasti Beach Resort it offers an alternative to the bigger hotels. The rooms were spacious and beach towels were replaced daily by smiling staff. We booked 3 x standard rooms and as they had 2 superior rooms vacant 2 of our party were upgraded at no cost. This was a lovely gesture by the hotel. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. The pool was very clean and a welcome relief to the days heat. The pool bar was not open while we stayed there. Breakfast (I thought) were good and of the same standard as many other hotels in the area. I would stay there again, but I would prefer the pool bar to be open.

  • Liked — close to the beach
  • Disliked — the pool bar was not open or operational while we were there
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mcmaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

Did lots of research and were really looking forward to this little hotel. The positives are it's good position across the road from the beach and near lots of good restaurants. The pool is good and the gardens quite nice. The negatives were the incredibly surly guy on the front desk and the totally vulgar guy at breakfast. He thought he was really funny but I was totally offended by him.
We had a deluxe room upstairs which after inspecting the other rooms was the best available. Very modest and depressing with very little privacy. Sitting on the small balcony you can see and hear the people either side of you. We moved to Kamala Pantai and it was a million times better for less $$s. The only hotel of the 7 we stayed in on our last trip that we would not return to :(

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Staff and modest rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#27 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#33 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#28 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sari Beach

Property: The Sari Beach
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sari Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be awaken by the sound of waves. Within steps from the Beach. Have a lushful Balinese Garden right outside your window. Stay in traditional Balinese Rooms decorated with an authentic Balinese Taste. Home away from Home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Sari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Beach Hotel
Sari Beach Inn
The Sari Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing