We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bali Subak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bali Subak
Ranked #37 of 63 Legian B&B and Inns
Huntly, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After many trips to Bali we chose this hotel based on its excellent location. The Hotel Bali Subak adjoins the Hotel Sari Bunga and the two hotels share a common entry & reception. The Bali Subak building is towards the rear of the plot and is of an older style and decor compared to the Sari Bunga buildings. Also many of the rooms don't have such a nice outlook from the balconies as the Sari Bunga however it was perfectly clean and comfortable for our stay as we spent most of our time out & about or relaxing by the pool. A good simple buffet breakfast is provided in the restaurant in the Sari Bunga section of the hotel. The Bali Subak hotel has an unusual 'rock cave' style pool which was quite neat but was a bit shaded so quite cool so we tended to use the pool at the Sari Bunga more as this was warmer and had nicer pool loungers and food / drinks available. Other reviewers have commented on their being no pool towels but these were always readily available when we asked. The hotel staff were great and always friendly. The only thing we missed was tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms. For the budget price we paid we'd certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Room 121 had the best view of the Sari Bunga pool from its balcony :-)
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cyberbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When i come to Bali i usually stay in there sister hotel next doors Sari Bunga, But travelling with a friend we had little money and stayed in Bali Subak. Rooms are basic and clean. Free wifi. TV with couple of English channels. The staff are very friendly. always remembered my name and helped me with my Indonesian. breakfast finishes at 11 which is great means i could have a bit of a lie in. they do have a pool but i would suggest using Sari Bunga pool. i would definitely stay here again. great location, 5min walk to the beach, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We always spend a night here on our way to Lombok. Perfect place for some shopping, beach and swimming. The beach is just a few minutes away and the street is full of small shops where you can buy presents to bring home. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The prize is also very good. You can use the free internet and have a good meal in the restaurant. I would recomend this hotell for everybody who has a few days on Bali.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun-Ane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I liked staying at the Bali Subak. It was cheap and clean but not fancy or luxury!! Meals at the resturant were great!! Staff are very very helpful and happy!!!! The only thing I didn't like is that the pool is freezing cold!!!!!

Room Tip: room over looking the pool and away from the road!!!!!! My room was 121- excellent room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1914Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Well my wife and I are staying the first of 6 nights at the Hotel Bali Subak. Although the beach is very close, the beach is quite littered with trash and as to the other comment provided on Tripadvisor, I agree, the street was a bit of a narrow road and not the best for walking down. We chose this as its close to the beach for a very cheap price, however you get what you paid for I guess!

As for the rooms ... well there was a huge cockroach (dead thank god) under the pillow of the bed, there was many dead flies in the corner of the room and near the balcony. They did come and change the bedding in about 10 minutes which was quick but honestly with a huge dead cockroach under a pillow in a room they should have offered us a different room especially when we are here in the low season and the hotel is not busy at all. There is also what appears to be mouse droppings in the room but I have not seen a mouse (yet!?!). Our balcony faces a nasty back lane so we only go out there to have a smoke and dry our clothes.

The people here are nice, however I would only recommend this to young surfers that just want to have a cheap trip and have more money to party on the beach.

Room Tip: Check under your pillow and around the room for signs of insects and other unwanted guests!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDN_PhD_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We booked our NY celebration trip in Bali at last minute. At the peak of holiday, it was almost impossible to find an affordable hotel. Price went up to $200 per night even for some 3-star hotels.
And we found Bali Subak at usd40/night for double room (no breakfast). With that price, we don't expect much. The rooms are clean, basic furniture. But as the price suggests, furniture are not of good quality… seems quite old. The pool is small, we don't bother to check out… the hotel is an extension of a previous established hotel by the owner (forgot the name though). The service is rather slow. Anyway they try to be helpful and we wouldn't complain for the price we paid. There is a restaurant, offering so-so food. Don't eat there for dinner (at 6-7pm) because waiting time is very long and you are actually being served to way many mosquitoes…

What I don't like is actually the location. On one side, it appears to be well located, near Legian beach/ Double six club… But it is actually not convenient to visit other part of Bali. Legian beach is certainly not the best so we had to hire a bike to visit other locations for party/ clubs, shopping and dining. Walking to the main road will take around 20 mins... The hotel is at the end of Jalan Arjuna road, imagining at dead-end of a narrow 1 car road. We almost missed our flight because taxis just don’t want to go there to pick us up. It was raining and we had to carry our luggage, walked all the way to the main road to find a cab. Once there is a jam on Jl Arjuna road, it simply takes ages to get out.

I believe there are better options in Bali… but it doesn't hurt to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbly1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

For only $40 a night in the July school holidays this was brilliant.Fantastic location,only 200 metres from the beach.Great staff,nice grounds and 2 clean swimming pools.Included breakfast was lovely with a choice of western or Indonesian.The rooms are spotlessly clean,quite large with aircon and fridge.rooms have balconies and are quiet.
Plenty of money saved to spend on bintangs!!Could be a great choice for families with older kids....cheap enough to get 2 rooms!!

Room Tip: not sure about other rooms,but ones facing the pool have a balcony...1st floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emuplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#66 of 87 in Legian
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#62 of 145 in Seminyak
993 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Naga Seaside Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seminyak Paradiso Hotel
Seminyak Paradiso Hotel
#75 of 113 in Seminyak
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bali Subak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bali Subak

Property: Hotel Bali Subak
Address: Jl. Arjuna, Legian, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bali Subak 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bali Subak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Subak Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing