We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places iv stayed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Magani Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“One of the best places iv stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Magani Hotel and Spa for our 20th wedding anniversary for two days. The staff were lovely and made such a fuss over us, they surprised us with a beautiful cake in our room and a beautiful towel and flower arrangement. The room we stayed in was the Deluxe room which was very spacious had a very comfortable king size bed. It was very clean, and our room was serviced twice daily. It not too busy like some of the larger hotels which I really liked. The Staff at the swim-up pool were fun to joke with, the pool itself was clean and lovely to relax in. The all day happy hour made our stay so much fun! The food was delicious and the daily breakfast changed slightly every day, the cappuccino was great. The location of the hotel was excellent, close enough but not too close to kuta for some shopping. The staff organised taxis and restaurant transfers for us. Iv stayed at much more expensive places in Bali, but this hotel was way better . Will definitely stay there again and thoroughly recommend if.

Room Tip: Our room was 4006 and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    270
    37
    4
    4
See reviews for
263
659
75
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just completed a 12 day visit to Bali where we stayed at the Magani Hotel at Legion. We were amazed at the fantastic service provided and the cheap massages etc provided at the Hotel. Generally, the inhouse services cost a lot more but this was very affordable and CLASSY to boot. Our breakfasts were to die for, ranging from cereals up to having your eggs cooked just the way you like them. The staff were sooo attentive, and were calling us by name from the very start. A bit different to what we have had in Australia on the Gold Coast.

We left our room for breakfast one morning and the cleaners had already been and picked up hubbies PJ's from the floor! and folded them neatly on the bed. He was so embarrassed that he didn't do that again. Towards evening, the staff would come back to the room, check the bins etc and fold down the bed linen.

We had room 415 which had views towards the ocean and early mornings were so serene, cool and quiet. Local shopping at the front door, 5 minute stroll to the beach, heaps of restaurants, ATM's and honest money changers almost next door. Taxis everywhere.

The boys especially loved the swim up bar and during the day if we were not out and about, took great delight in a swim, a few beers and a chat. Lovely lounges around the pool if you wanted to just lay about and read a book. Drinks were very cheap and if you purchased one cocktail, the next one was on the house:) Great stuff.

We loved the security guards on duty at the front of the Magani, and saw them with mirrors checking the vehicles before they were allowed into the underground carpark. No Tour Guides were permitted into the Hotel unless they knew our names and room numbers as well. When we ventured out shopping, the Security Guards stopped the traffic so we could cross the road safely. This sounds silly, but with motor bikes and cars wizzing by, it definately was appreciated.

If you want a great guide, call WIDI Tours. (+62) 821 452 095 80 or email dsekalan@gmail.com to make a booking. Widi speaks and comprehends English VERY well, and charges about $25 - $40/day for 6 - 10 hours. This is fantastic value if there are 2 couples to share the cost. He even paid for a few of the entry fees to some places and shouted us a Luwak Coffee. His contacts were vast as even if there was a traffic jam or problems in some areas because of rain etc, he knew in advance so we avoided some places on different days.

Only on our last day when we passed the Bali Memorial sites did he tell us about how on that fateful day of the bombings he had taken 2 Australian girls out touring for the day. On the way home, they wanted to stop at the Sari Club, but after about 10 minutes they came out, jumped back in his car and decided to go somewhere else. They were only about 50 meters away when the bombs went off. When they realised what had happened, the girls were terrified and ran off screaming. He laughed and told us that he hadn't even been paid for the days tour but considering what had happened, he didn't care about it at all. He then went to the site to see if he could help anyone.

What touched us most was the fact that after the incident, he couldn't drive for 2 years and after many visits to a Doctor eventually returned to his job, but had been diagnosed with Traumatic Stress Syndrome. He witnessed first hand the horrific sights. This is just one story, there must be hundreds of others, but we were grateful that he shared this story with us as he is such a quietly spoken guy. When we said our goodbyes, we gave him an extra AU$50 and thanked him for looking after the two Australian girls and that the money was for their Days Touring.

I could go on and on, but suffice to say, if you stay at The Magani you will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Our Room 415 was great, but there were others on the ground floor with private pools that also looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2Woombas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We just spent 10 nights @ The Magani and it was just fantastic. From the greeting to the Goodbye it was first class all the way.
The staff are wonderful and the rooms are spacious and clean.
We had a Premier Pool Room, what can we say.....awesome. We recommend this room to everyone. They fitted an extra bed in the room for our 7 year old whilst the 5 year old slept with us in the king size bed... we still had plenty of room.
Breakfast was great with a large selection.
The pool was good and swim up bar was very nice.
But having our own pool was simply the best.
Room service was quick and very good prices for food and beer.
All in all the only thing we could pick up is there is no Kids Club, but I am sure one is on the cards.
Well done to the staff of The Magani for making our holiday so special.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Festa_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights based on the tripadvisor rating and they did not disappoint! We got there 1hr 30min before check in and they were still able to get us in the room early. We got a deluxe pool room 1022 which was at the rear behind the pool bar area. Very clean and classy room. Bed was very comfy and bathroom was fancy and the shower facilities were really good. The door from the shower leads straight into the outside area where our private pool was. Pool was one for relaxing and not swimming but still very good. Mozzarella restaurant is the room service which is the best value in bali!! They do 2 for 1 cocktails all day so works out to be $5 per large proper cocktail. The meals are very well priced only $10 for any meal rump steak with mash and veggies. They deliver to your room with no added charge so u could stay in bed watch dvds and keep the cheap cocktails coming! Breakfast buffet was amazing tasty food with plenty of choices plus egg station. Even after we left the hotel we stayed close by we kept going back to eat there!! The staff are brilliant! Whether it be reception or pool bar or security out front or mozzarella restaurant they all greet you and are always smiling and polite and helpful with anything. We gota 1hr Bali massage here and it was the best of any massage we had in Bali. The only probablem is it's so good they're always booked out so u gotta book it really early like the day or 2 before but amazing experience u get welcome drink and juice after the massage. If I had more money I would stay longer but next time I'm gonna stay here for longer. Location is great next to markets and massage places and restaurants everywhere. Also the beach is a 5-10 min walk. Can't wait to get back to Magani!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. All the staff treated me incredibly well, so well that I felt like home and honestly didnt want my holidays to be finished there. Since my arrival until my departure every single staff were really kind. I got the deluxe room and to my surprise it was really big size. It was so clean and so comfortable. There was cable tv and all the channels available, which usually is not what happens in most hotels. In one of the days of my stay, it was my birthday...and the hotel prepared a happy birthday cake to me, that is something you rarely experience in any hotel around the world, I havent at least. The swimming pool area was also so nice and relaxing and loved the bar in the pool, so handy and fancy at the same time. We also tried the gym, very well equiped for me, at least they have everything I usually use and it was brand new! The Spa, oh the spa, you must try it! I went 2x there and felt amazing, the facility is so nice, clean and relaxing! Loved it! The only down point was that internet wi fi didnt reach our room but honestly, when you are in Bali, you want to relax and forget about internet and social network...and it was all good overall, no doubts I would stay there again! A special thanks to Tri, the receptionist and also Annie who brought me my bday cake and was so caring, unfortunately I cant remember everybody's name, but 100% of staff just made my stay amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simagagnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our family stayed here for 10 nights and I couldn't fault it. The hotel is only 11 months old which we loved as everything was new and modern. We had two adjoining rooms, one with a King size bed (massive) and the other with two king single beds. Each room had a long couch, TV unit, mini bar, bathroom with separate shower and large balcony with a sunbed overlooking the pool. The room was always spotlessly cleaned and staff would spray for mosquitos every night and turn down our beds which impressed me. Breakfast was fantastic and if there was something else my daughters wanted like pancakes, we could order that. Breakfast included an egg station and the usual bagels/breads/bacon but also some Indonesian cuisine. We often ordered food by the pool, and again we could order off the menu or adjusted to suit our taste. Drinks and food were extremely reasonable, if I remember rightly a small Bintang $2.70 and cocktails were always 2 for 1, so two cocktails for $10. The staff ensured we were always comfortable and happy and nothing was a problem for them. I cannot recommend the staff highly enough especially Heri and all the pool staff, Sari and Ani in the restaurant and all the front desk staff. The location is brilliant, only 5-7 minutes walk to the beach where you can watch the sunset while having a beer/drink and have a foot massage at the same time. Most of the restaurants near the hotel were great, especially Moo Moos and Ours in Garlic Lane (virtually opposite the hotel), both were cheap and had great food every time we went there. The small massage place around the corner from the hotel was great, cheap massages ($5) for an hour. If you want to buy Souvenirs don't bother battering, just go to Krisna where they are really cheap.

Can't speak highly enough of this hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Awesome small hotel with the focal point being on the pool! Welcome massage was the best I've ever had! Staff are soo lovely and the food delicious! Would highly recommend! Great location too!! They have really thought of everything at this hotel! We lived it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherines10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magani Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magani Hotel and Spa

Property: The Magani Hotel and Spa
Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian Kelod, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#2 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
#4 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magani Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on lively Melasti street in Legian, Bali, The Magani boasts 108 rooms including 67 deluxe rooms, 7 deluxe suites, 20 premier rooms with private plunge pool, and 14 Magani suites with private outdoor Jacuzzi. All rooms are equipped with chic décor, king size bed, plasma TV, walk-in shower bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities and safe deposit box. The Magani is equipped with international hotel facilities.The Magani Hotel & Spa is meticulously designed to indulge the mind, body and soul of the hectic-living urban travelers This city boutique resort concept accords the highest level of service of its kind by offering a chic lifestyle transformation.THE MAGANI affords a fine urban product of its style on a smart location. A personalized genuine friendly service by its amicable staff is proven to be the paramount asset in sustaining client’s patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your The Magani Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magani Hotel And Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing