We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in Bali!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in Bali!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Hospitality at its best! The staff was the friendliest we met in Bali.

We booked a room with a private pool at the Magani to start our one week holiday based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews and the swim up bar... both of which proved to be excellent reasons.

Our room was simple, clean, with amenities you'd expect for the class. The shower opened to the private pool. Even though the private pool was great, barely used it as we spent most out time out lounging around the larger pool and swim up bar. Next time we'll probably try a suite.

The hotel is set in Legian which is a short hike from the airport, depending on traffic. It's across the road from a beach offering more cheap beer than white sand... So we spent most of our time on the property and enjoyed that just as much. Though we normally get out to eat, I think we enjoyed every meal we ate at the hotel... the food and service were excellent.

The 150,000 RP Balinese massage is definitely worth the extra 100,000 RP that you would spend down the street. Prices for food and drink were the best of our five star stays in Bali. Wifi worked well at no charge. The only issue we had with our stay was a bit of confusion with our hotel pick up, but a cheap taxi ride got the job done.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and will stop in for a few days on our next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    289
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
277
696
80
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After a full load flight to Bali airport, it was lovely to arrive at The Magani. I was greeted warmly on arrival with a tropical juices welcome drink and the reception was friendly and acknowledged my requests prior to arrival, small touches like these are what make a traveler feel welcome.
On the arrival to our suite, it was spacious and nicely furnished in a simplistic but home style, cleverly designed room partition separate sitting to sleeping area and block out some noises but still let in light, allowing the room to stay bright with natural lighting during the day. Bed was big and comfortable as one could expect in most 4-5 stars Asian hotels. But what strike me was the beautifully designed and spacious bathroom, with dressing area, double sand stone vanity, double size shower with rain shower head and a Jacuzzi on the patio, I am sure with a rollaway bed I can comfortably live there.
Location of The Magani was perfect for us, it was in the quiet and peaceful Legian, within 10 minutes walk to Legian beach on one side and main street Legian on the other. For the nights when we felt like some action, Kuta was a mere 10 - 15 minutes drive in a taxi. Of course if one is feeling adventurous (although not recommended), an ojek (motorbike taxi) ride will take you back within 10 minutes after a night out.
There were not so many decent and exciting culinary offerings around the hotel, but the hotel restaurant does a good job with the Italian/Balinese fusion menu for lunch and dinner, despite breakfast was nothing special. Then of course, see the above for venture to Kuta, or a 15 - 20 minutes cab ride (depending on traffic) to all the beautiful eateries at Seminyak. Considering that the bell staff are always happy to make a fuss about your transport arrangements.
For us, The Magani has it all, service, comfort and location. Of course it helped that there were special deals on, giving us a suite at a reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Request for a room near the elevator if walking is challenging or that you are travelling with child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

we stayed at this hotel from the 22nd December for 4 nights in a deluxe room at rear of hotel. the room was lovely very clean, great shower and the bed was so comfortable. breakfast was always fresh and tasty, great variety. the staff are the most friendliest I have ever encountered in bali. it is in a great spot close to markets and restaurants. we had rain for 2 days so its location was excellent. the pool is lovely and large. keep up the good work we will be back for sure. loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: request a room near rear of hotel, didn't hear any noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracrickal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at magani in the first week of January 2014. Our first impression of the hotel is that it was extremely clean and ultra modern. Upon arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly staff/security, a refreshing drink and a cool towel. They made check in very easy and stress free after our long flight.

The room was modern, nice, spacious and again extremely clean. It contained a large tv with DVD player and an easy to use safe. The bed was king size and so so comfortable! Was like sleeping on a cloud :) The air conditioning is also very effective!

We were however a little disappointed as our balcony looked onto a cracked and dirty brick wall (next door), whilst most others looked out onto he luxurious pool. We went down to reception and asked if there was a possibility of changing rooms and they were absolutely lovely and so incredibly helpful. They told us they would organise a new room for us immediately that was looking out onto the pool. Within 1 hour we had a brand new room with an amazing balcony view.

The pool area and lounges are very nice, with fresh towels always available. The only aspect we both were very disappointed with is that due to the way the hotel was built, the pool area only has about a maximum of 4 hours of sun per day (10am till 2pm). The pool is also very close to the sun chairs so often if bags were left on the ground they ended up saturated.

The swim up bar is a nice added touch with 2 for 1 cocktails all day long!! The pool staff are extremely friendly and will always fix your towels for you and bring your drinks to you whilst you sunbake :)

The spa was absolutely incredible!! And sooo cheap for what you get. We paid approx AUD $12 for a 1 hour Balinese massage. Before the massage we were given a cinnamon tea drink and a cool towel. The massage itself was so relaxing and all staff appear to be very well trained, and were also very respectful. After the massage we were given a cool juice which was so yummy.

The magani restaurant was quite nice with quite a broad range to choose from. The restaurant offers the same food as the swim up bar by the pool!

The Buffett breakfast was good, however not 4-5 star quality. It was quite limited and they had almost the exact same thing everyday! It did however have large range of bread choices and yummy watermelon juice.

Wifi is available and very easy to use and quick :)

The biggest downfall with the magani is the location. It is in legian however very close to kuta!! We much prefer seminyak however it was a good 20-30 minute drive to the heart of seminyak due to the heavy traffic. This was however our own fault of not doing enough research before booking!!

Overall we had a very nice stay at magani. The staff are incredibly friendly (they also speak good English) and it is one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in (which is always very important).

Would recommend to stay here if you want to be in legian/kuta :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britt_woodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband, 16 month old and I decided to stay at the Magani based on all the awesome reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The Magani is a world class hotel with the best team of people who bent over backwards to make your stay perfect.

We stayed in the Magani suite which was delightful and had a view if the pool. The Magani staff treated our little boy like a prince and made us all feel so special. All the little personal touches just add to the experience, from the security stopping traffic for you to cross the road to the staff playing with your child and even a Santa for Christmas Day. Great food and all well priced.


The Magani spa is heaven, I tried nearly every treatment and can highly recommend the couples indulgence. All very well priced and a professional team. A special thanks to Rena, we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks to the Magani family, we hope to see you all soon.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank caryssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Magani during New Year. Room was nice and clean. The Dinner Party on New Year' s Eve was very sweet and warm! Most impressive was their excellent service. Staff were polite friendly. Especially the guy works at the Front Desk ( Sorry I couldn't remember his name). He was really helpful for our rest trip to Gili Island. He made the hotel reservation and arranged the transportation for us. We really appreciated it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmbizwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We walk off the street to check this hotel to stay 12 days through for New Years . The first impression is a new hotel with different class rooms . We booked a suite room on the the four floor with an outside spa. When we first had a tour of the room we didn't notice of the problems just that it was clean ,new, modern and we were desperate.
The pool is in the centre of the hotel and you will only have sun for two hours the pool is small and is only 1.3m deep. The hotel has no Bali feel and has no trees or grassed area other than about 10 frangipani pains in pots.

The pool is no good for families because if the kids jump in the pool they slash everyone because the deck chairs are right on the edge of the pool. ( this hotel does not cater for families )

The deluxe room suite was dark and the toilet is inside the shower cubicle so if you go to the toilet and someone is showering you will have wet pants in more ways then you think. The next problem is a gem , you have to turn the spa or shower hot water tap on for 10 minutes before it gets hot. If you fill the spa up the water stinks you will have to put bottle of shampoo in it.

We were charged a New Year's Eve dinner we didn't want , the new years dinner show was a joke, food was buffet which was served at 830pm , by that time the kids were starving.
Remember , if it is a last resort and you have to stay here refuse to pay New Years dinner.

On the 31st and the 1st jan we had to put will a bunch of 8 dunked males drinking all day swearing and jumping of the balcony above , the staff encouraged them and it forced everyone to leave the pool , I wasted two days of my holiday .
We booked out early and they charged me one day cancellation fee , what a joke , told the manager and showed him the pictures and videos of the drunked males and they couldn't care less.

This hotel is only good for a couple of days stop over shopping , also you are located in a one way street ,you will have to drive around the whole of kuta to go to the beach or walk a long way.
This hotel is no good for a long stay for families or couples wanting a romantic get away . Also check previous reviews about a maggot found in the nasa gore , they have it a breakfast and re heat all day, the breakfast is awful , buffet always had empty trays with no food. If you do your research there are better hotels nearby, legian village hotel, Pullman, alam kul kul and haven , this hotel has no Bali feel to it , just a block of concrete units.
We have been to Bali 18 times as a family and couple and this was our worst hotel , the only appeal it has, is that it is new.

Room Tip: Don't book rooms with their own plunge pool because everyone above you can see you no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank l0tusdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,116 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magani Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magani Hotel and Spa

Property: The Magani Hotel and Spa
Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian Kelod, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#2 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magani Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on lively Melasti street in Legian, Bali, The Magani boasts 108 rooms including 67 deluxe rooms, 7 deluxe suites, 20 premier rooms with private plunge pool, and 14 Magani suites with private outdoor Jacuzzi. All rooms are equipped with chic décor, king size bed, plasma TV, walk-in shower bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities and safe deposit box. The Magani is equipped with international hotel facilities.The Magani Hotel & Spa is meticulously designed to indulge the mind, body and soul of the hectic-living urban travelers This city boutique resort concept accords the highest level of service of its kind by offering a chic lifestyle transformation.THE MAGANI affords a fine urban product of its style on a smart location. A personalized genuine friendly service by its amicable staff is proven to be the paramount asset in sustaining client’s patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Magani Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magani Hotel And Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing