We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit overpriced. enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bit overpriced. enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having walked past this hotel many times and then dining at the Mozerella restaurant here and liking what we saw we decided to stay if we could get a good price.
Checking all the on-line sites we found a price we were happy to pay and booked for a 5 night stay.
This hotel ticks all the boxes; great location in Melasti st, short walk to the beach, refreshing, clean pool with swim up bar, gym, massage and spa place (little expensive but really nice and good service with a sauna if you want to use it!), tour desk and on site one of our favourite fancy restaurants; Mozerella.
We had booked a double room. It was a good size room with a comfortable couch for lounging, big bed, adequate shower/toilet and separate dressing area, tea/coffee facilities, included 2 bottles of water and bathroom items replenished daily. Small fridge (no freezer). FREE WiFi! Hot water in the shower and vanity whenever we wanted. Our room was on the top floor and the balcony overlooked the side alley and building site. Once inside the room you did not hear anything and we always find the building sites entertaining so enjoyed this room :-)
Staff were all happy and always smiling and helpful.
Housekeeping staff paid attention to the room sign; when you put out the sign to make up the room, I'm awake now please clean my room, it was done by the time we returned.
Housekeeping were very attentive and prompt to respond to requests.

Suggestions for management;
Would have been good for the bathroom to have an exhaust fan and hose or brush for the toilet.
Reconsider layout of lobby and particularly check-in area. When we checked in there was a group of 8 also checking in. They took up nearly all the room in the small reception area and we felt like we were shoved to the side. The person checking us in was nice and worked to make us feel welcome. There is lots of area wasted in the front foyer.

Things we noticed that are not that important to us but maybe to others; Fridge was not very cold. TV was low on the wall so if you were laying in bed or had stuff on the desk in front of where the TV was you couldn't see the bottom of the screen. Pool and lounges around the pool don't see much sun.

*Warning* The wall bench has a sharp corner near the balcony door exit! I caught my leg on this several times and now have a bruise :-(

Things we suggest;
Balcony furniture; such as table and chairs on the balcony. Most rooms only have a day bed on the balcony.
Curtains are not true blockout, light filters in under them and also through the bathroom window.
Serve breakfast earlier. we didn't have breakfast included and were glad when we were told it wasn't served till 9am!
Open Gym earlier. We had looked forward to using the gym and sauna but were told it didn't open till 9am.
Overall a pleasant stay and we would stay again if we found a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: We considered that any of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astama, Manager at The Magani Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sirs,
On behalf of the team members of The Magani Hotel & Spa, I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to know that most of the hotel facilities and services met your expectation. Your constructive comment is very much appreciated and highly valued. Preventive and corrective measures will be made appropriately.
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
If I can be of any further assistance in making your future stay more enjoyable, please let me know.
Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    280
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
270
685
77
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well run, clean and safe hotel. The pool does not have spacious surroundings. Restaurant food is average but the waiters excellent. I found noise from the plant room behind the pool and the air conditioners to be excessive for a recently constructed hotel. Well located short walk to beach,
Staff hail Bluebird taxis ( excellent) for inexpensive trips around kuta semyinak

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astama, Manager at The Magani Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr Michael,
On behalf of the team members of The Magani Hotel & Spa, I would like to express our sincere appreciation for your recent stay with us.
I am glad to know that most of the hotel facilities and services met your expectation. Your constructive comment is also very highly valued. It is very essential for our further improvement as it is our commitment to offer the highest standard of facilities and services to all guests at all times.
All team members miss you already and look forward to welcoming you back "home" in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you don't need expansive gardens and an infinity pool overlooking the sunset give this hotel a try - you won't be disappointed. I stayed at the hotel about 18 months ago and it still looks brand new, the rooms are expansive, balconies large and it all runs like clock work. Staff are gentle, eager to please and happy. We checked into two rooms and requested a higher floor (personal preference), west facing and interconnecting. The hotel manager graciously accommodated our request. The staff are simply lovely and the service impeccable. Fixtures, fittings, air con, security, room service, water pressure, day spa - all get top points from me. At night it's dark and quiet and so easy to sleep. The beds and pillows are really comfy and western style. It's just the little things, like room service noticing you are drinking all of the water so they give you an extra bottle. That is very thoughtful and does make a difference. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: West facing towards the sunset/over the laneway, unless you don't want your balcony looking acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moe, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

this was our second stay at he Magani and the facility is still a great facility in a great location. We stayed in a premier pool room and they are great. Only downfall was the number of times it took to get our brekky eggs right..i don't think we were the only ones esxperiening that problem...not a biggy in the theme of things as the rest of the brekky was great. communication was difficult at times but you have to put up with that in a non english speaking country. Many great eateries very close to this motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our stay at the Magani was fabulous. The hotel is just few steps from the beach, shops and restaurant.
The room is very well designed. Big twin beds.. 120 x 200cm each with another long sofa, and a large lazy couch at the terrace facing the pools. Spacious enough and they have wonderful room service..My kids love the dine in the room and order repeatly at the pool lol. The restaurant has enuff variety menus for our 4 nights stay and its not boring at all. The pool is not too big but enuff for the guests.
the free wifi is excellent!

You guys SHOULD try the spa! Its very cheap compared to the great service and other hotel's fee. I shud hv gone back for the 2nd massage but i didnt have enuff time for it.. haha But anyone staying at The Magani have to at least try once! even outside guests :)

Overall we enjoyed our stay in The Magani and has already recommend it to our friends and family in Jakarta

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewy_candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 8 days in a deluxe room. The room was lovely and comfortable, cleaned everyday. Security is great, my door hadn't closed properly after I had entered my room once and I received a call from reception letting me know! Buffet breakfast had great variety of good food, juices, milks, they even make whatever coffee you'd like and custom omelettes aswell! Restaurant mozerrella seemed very popular for outsiders also though apart from breakfast we only ate their once as we had plans most nights.
Spa was lovely and the treatments are awesome - def worth paying more for treatments here (still half or third of the price at home) rather than going down the road to cheaper options... You definitely get what you pay for. We did use the gym a couple times which had adequate equipment and space for a good workout, audio equipment to crank your own music, water and towels.
Pool area was awesome place to relax and the swim up bar is fun. All features and facilities of this hotel and spa are really wonderful and beautifully maintained, however the thing that made our stay her really memorable was the service and staff. Most genuine, friendly, accommodating, helpful staff I have ever come across anywhere so far. Everyone seems to remember your name!
My partner proposed to me during our stay and had arranged transportation through the hotel to and from the special location, and once we had returned after the evening, we found our bed covered in rose petals and flowers and swans made out if towelling which was a really gorgeous gesture :)
The hotel is in a great location, close to everything. Would return there with our children too next time :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff in this hotel are incredible. They helped me organise getting our room decorated for my friends birthday and made it really special for her.

The location is perfect. Close to the markets, restaurants and the beach. Also a short $5 taxi ride from Kuta.

The rooms are spacious and clean but the only negative thing for us was that they were a bit dark in the evenings trying to get ready.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magani Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magani Hotel and Spa

Property: The Magani Hotel and Spa
Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian Kelod, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#2 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magani Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on lively Melasti street in Legian, Bali, The Magani boasts 108 rooms including 67 deluxe rooms, 7 deluxe suites, 20 premier rooms with private plunge pool, and 14 Magani suites with private outdoor Jacuzzi. All rooms are equipped with chic décor, king size bed, plasma TV, walk-in shower bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities and safe deposit box. The Magani is equipped with international hotel facilities.The Magani Hotel & Spa is meticulously designed to indulge the mind, body and soul of the hectic-living urban travelers This city boutique resort concept accords the highest level of service of its kind by offering a chic lifestyle transformation.THE MAGANI affords a fine urban product of its style on a smart location. A personalized genuine friendly service by its amicable staff is proven to be the paramount asset in sustaining client’s patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Magani Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magani Hotel And Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing