We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kubu Kauh Beach Inn Legian
Nearby Hotels
FuramaXclusive Ocean Beach(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The ONE Legian(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magani Hotel and Spa(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legian Beach Hotel(Legian)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astagina Resort Villa and Spa(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
37
24
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
24
6
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

the rooms are awesome, comfortable and clean. it's impossible to find another guesthouse in this price, in similar standard and in as good location as kubu kauh has. for this reason, i stayed there for three times. however, the situation i experienced during my last stay destroyed my positive image of this guesthouse.

first, nobody picked me up from the airport, even though earlier i got a warm confirmation via email that it wouldn't be any problem. second, after i arrived to kubu kauh, the front desk lady was totally surprised that i was supposed to have a room there. she was even rude, acting like it would be my fault that nobody informed her about this. and after all, i didn't receive my deposit back, even though i reminded Steve about this situation several times.

my previous kubu kauh experience was better but not always perfect either. i was the one that had to remind the staff about the aiport pickup provided for my friends, otherwise they might have also forgotten about it. also once, regardless my reservation, i got a room in a lower standard.the explanation of this situation was that "someone has extended their stay and nobody knows when will they check out" so instead of a comfy and clean room with a hot water i had to spend a night in way worse conditions and instead of having an easy day the next day, it was again packing, unpacking,reminding the staff that today i should get the better room, one big mess..

summing up, if you are lucky, you will have the best room conditions and a guesthouse location for this price in all kuta center. if you are not... be patient,make sure they know when is your flight and remind them about it several times as well as make sure you receive your deposit back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylwia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Bookings at Kubu Kauh Beach Inn Legian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Sylwia

It's a pity you now feel this way about Kubu kauh after being a great repeat customer and that you had those bad experiences. I am sorry for the mistake with your airport pick up and we did try our best to give your small deposit back, hopefully you can get Paypal soon as I have the deposit sitting there waiting to give back.

We have a better system in now for bookings and have found a new driver, sometimes being a small family guesthouse with very cheap prices means we don't have the same training and expertise as the big international hotels so we don't always get it right but we try our best as we never want any of our guests to be unhappy in Bali.

I hope you can come back to Bali again and give us another chance :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Me and two friend stayed in the Kubu Kauh B&B for 4 nights and had a great stay. When we first entered the property we were really amazed by its beauty. There is a little square with (what I guess was) a family Hindu temple, a big tree in the centre and lots of green and little ikons all around. Around the square there are a few nice apartments. Its a really quiet environment, the rooms are clean and if you want the new towels or anything you can just ask for it. The family is very very friendly! From the B&B you can easily walk to the beach in about 5 to 10 minutes. The bars are also on walking distance, about 10 minutes. During our stay we did some great excursions like snorkeling, going to see the dolphins in Lovina, monkey forest (watch out the monkeys can bite), rice fields and temple in the lake. Only thing we missed was the free wi-fi as mentioned on the website of the B&B. For the wi-fi you have to go elsewhere, for example to Koto, a nice little restaurant nearby.

If you want a very friendly entertaining, good humored, chatty and very good and careful driver for your trips, you should call SOLO on tel. no. +62 812 3677 8774.

He drove us around for 2 days and he also does airport pick-up and drop off. His prices are very reasonable and he doesn't stop over for the commercial things like the gold- and silver shops or paintings shops or anything. He takes you to local stop-overs (restaurants and a befriended family) so you really get to experience the real Bali culture!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LobkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Guest Relations Manager at Kubu Kauh Beach Inn Legian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi Lobke

We are really happy that you had a great time in Bali and liked our guesthouse. It was a pleasure to have you and hopefully you can come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Wished there was a pool as im not a beach swimmer. But only a short walk to beach and good resturants. Also not far to Poppies and many stalls. Was tricky to find initially. Didnt try breakfast as it was only toast. Went to Ketumbar for breakfast. Lovely big American with fresh juice for about $4 AU

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Kubu Kauh for 3 nights and rented car with driver for 2 days. The place is quite hidden, in local family area, but close to everything, strategic. Beach, shopping streets, eating places is just a walk away. The owner and his family/staff very friendly and helpful. They have 2 little puppies that are super cute too, I think they are the charm here, chasing each other naughtily every morning, melting my heart. My friends are scared of dog but this 2 angels never disturbed them. So even to those who don't like dogs, don't worry, it is very safe, and they sleep at night :)
I feel that the room value more than what we paid, nicely decorated,clean, firm bed, aircond, fan, hot/cold shower, LCD TV with lots of channels. We rented car for 2 days and Tut had taken us to where we wanted to visit and recommended delicious restaurant in Ubud & Jimbaran. There's painter house right before step into Kubu Kauh, I'd purchased 2 paintings directly here. My family all love the paintings. Recommend for that too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Manager at Kubu Kauh Beach Inn Legian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Hi

Thanks for staying with us and its a pity we didnt get to meet. Hopefully you can come back to stay with us again!

Steve and the Kubu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Kubu Kauh for a total of 6 nights, and never regretted our decision. Our room on the second storey came with a breezy balcony, very pleasant for just relaxing and chatting. Each morning, we had a simple breakfast of toast and jams, plus a hot water thermos to make our own drinks (teabags, coffee and sugar were provided).

The room was clean and comfortable, and yes, the beds are firm, so you get a good night's rest. Popular cable channels like AXN, Fox, Discovery Channel and Nat Geo were available, as were air-conditioning and hot water shower (although the water pressure on our level was slightly weak). The beach is only a few minutes' walk away, but Kubu Kauh itself is down a quiet street nearby. Free wireless (you don't have to order anything) is available at the Koko Cafe which is also owned by the family, a 1 minute walk down the street

The family lives on the premises, so you'll get a glimpse into the day-to-day lives of the Balinese. Ketet and his family are friendly and helpful, and will give you advice on anything you need. They can arrange bike rentals, tours, surfing trips, and if you're around during traditional ceremonies, you might get a taste of their babi guling (suckling pig).

All-in, a really enjoyable stay, and excellent value for money at rp250.000 nett for a double room. You get an airport transfer thrown in if you stay for a week or more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank startr3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews