We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$461
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legian Beach Hotel(Legian)
US$283
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The ONE Legian(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akmani Legian(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Raja(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Island Hotel & Spa(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bliss Surfer Hotel(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,021)
Filter reviews
2,021 results
Traveller rating
1,245
530
167
52
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,245
530
167
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath tub on the balconykuta beachpool viewmetal detectorjuice barpool barbreakfast buffethuge poolbeautiful hotelacross the roadcoffee machinebeachwalk mallone way streetour honeymoonpool staffsun loungersbreakfast was amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,732 - 1,737 of 2,021 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Well, I've just returned from a 7 night stay at the Stones. I've come away with mixed feelings about the place, whilst the hotel itself is magnificent, it leaves a lot to be desired. It all started at check in when we weren't given the room upgrade which was part of our reservation, had I not asked for it we would never have received the upgrade.

We encountered so many frustrations during our week at the hotel. Here's a list:

First - the over the top security checks every time you come back to the hotel, this includes x-ray of anything you're carrying, a walk through a scanner and then a scan with a hand held scanner without exception. Yes, I know its keeping the hotel safe but it just gets frustrating after a couple of days. The bomb gates, sniffer dogs and legion of security personnel also seems ridiculously over the top. We learnt quickly to get our taxis to stop out on the street so we didn't have to be subjected to this invasiveness.

Two - the saxophonist and fire dancers around the pool every evening doing the same show over and over again, on some evenings to an audience of zero people. Bizarre.

Three - continuously being asked for your room number every time you visit the pool and sometimes on multiple occasions. Even showing them you room key had no impact. Then you are handed a 'relax' stone in addition to a protracted explanation of how to use the stone so that you are not disturbed when you come to the pool. Isn't the explanation every day a disturbance? Ironic... And if you want to use a cabana for a day it'll cost you US$80!! Ridiculous.

Four - every day having to ask for soap and milk to be replaced. On one occasion a call was made to have toilet paper delivered because we had not a sheet.

Five - Breakfast was also a bit of a disappointment, whilst there's plenty of variety, it's of inconsistent quality, dried out pancakes, funky tasting turkey bacon and blowfly ridden pastries. Yes, I said blowflies, every morning loads of them crawling all over the pastries and bread, and I have the photos to prove it. I noticed other people taking pictures of them on other days. Yuck! Not good enough for a 5 star hotel. The great tasting coffee was never served with milk unless you asked for it.

Six - the safe in the bedroom being at almost floor level. We had to practically lay on the floor to access the contents, frustrating.

Seven – the hotel seemingly operating at far less than capacity for most of the time we were there, the restaurants were deserted for the most part… I think this may have something to do with the hotel being set so far back from the street and the very intimidating looking security out the front. Even as a guest, walking up and seeing massive boom gates, sniffer dogs and loads of security personnel all dressed in black is very off-putting!
Positives - There are some nice touches in the room like the top notch coffee machine, bath tub on the balcony and a comfortable bed. There’s a great gym too! The front desk staff and restaurant attendants were always very friendly. The swimming pool is awesome and a real treat to swim in. It was amazing for us to see how much wear and tear it has suffered in such a short amount of time such as missing paving capstones, missing tiles and dangerous uneven decking which you can trip over...

I'm not sure I'd stay there again as the rooms are a bit too small and coupled with the other frustrations, namely the 'swimming pool police' and ridiculous security measures it just doesn't appeal...

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Kuta is an area of Bali known to be bustling and yet has a downmarket ambience to it. It’s where the low budget tourist tends to go. It’s also the happening place...Giving Kuta a leg up and a higher visible profile are a stretch of new hotels just along the beach at Legian separated by a very busy road. The Stone sis among the latest of these and is a real asset to give Kuta a better ambience.
The hotel has an inviting ambience The welcome is smooth and swift after your journey from the airport which is relatively short on distance but slow on time. The hotel is centred around its pool and the restaurants adjoin the lobby which is large Function rooms are above that area.
the guest rooms are reached through a corridor and then they are packed in the higher floors have better views of the sea but the ground floor rooms often have their own outdoor Jacuzzis.
The service is good, polite and efficient. However the menus at breakfast and in the restaraunts are very Indonesian and could do with a greater variety.
The rooms are not large as in beach resorts but for Kuta's bustle are a good place to be.

Room Tip: Higher the better for the view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I could sing the praises of The Stones Hotel for days. It is very rare that you find a place so eager to take on feedback-all staff actively seek your opinion and make it very clear that they are a new hotel who want to be the best and they really do listen.

A good way to judge a place is by how they deal with challenges. Unfortunately we had a small problem when we checked in (a fault of the booking agent not the hotel) that was handled in a most professional manner by the director of rooms Mr Christy Guna Desa. This really set the scene for our relaxing two week stay.

We stayed in two interconnecting pool view rooms with our teenage children, our room had a balcony with a gorgeous outdoor bath, the kids didn't have a balcony but were grateful for the extra space in their room that would have been occupied by a balcony. The rooms are equipped with a great coffee machine, ipod docking station and large wardrobes. The reading lamps were excellent. The rainfall showerhead was wonderful. Housekeeping looked after us very well throughout our stay even leaving a gingerbread man on our pillows on Christmas Eve.

The pool is a definite highlight, especially at night when the saxophonist provides entertainment, the Balinese fire dancers shine and the lighting amazes. Sam, the bar manager makes the finest espresso martini I have tasted and his company is delightful. The complimentary freshly popped corn as a pool snack is a nice touch and was welcomed by the children.

During the day we relaxed in a poolside cabana, it was nice to come back to the cabana after a swim to have your towel straightened and pillows plumped. The "magic" towels were very refreshing. In the afternoon the pool staff came around with some samples of lovely fresh cool juice of the day. It was delicious.

The gym was spacious, cool and very well equipped.

Breakfast was good and there certainly was a great selection. Every morning when we walked into breakfast the gorgeous staff would remember our names and our coffee and tea order and it was really good coffee (we are very fussy when it comes to coffee!). Freshly squeezed juices were readily available from the juice bar and the offerings changed daily. Perhaps it would have been nice to have some ice water available also. The kids enjoyed the ice cream bar and all of the associated offerings, ice cream at breakfast-why not? My only suggestion is that the egg station was very slow and a little more training is required. Often we would order our eggs to be told that they would be brought to our table, twenty minutes later they would arrive and we would have already finished eating. The consistency of the cooked breakfast offering was also a little unreliable. Aussie chef Matt and food and beverage manager Nils took this feedback on board with grace.

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas day at the resort. The food was sensational. Our son doesn't eat seafood so it wasn't worth him having the adults set menu so the kids menu was the alternative and it was very basic. Perhaps a little more selection here would have been good. The Christmas Day buffet was lovely and traditional. The turkey was sensational as was the foie gras stuffing!! A taste sensation. The seafood selection was vast; freshly shucked oysters, mussels, prawns, lobster, crab and bugs, all fresh and flavoursome. The dessert offerings were varied however they were not refrigerated or on ice and a lot contained cream so we avoided those as by the time we got to eat them they had been sitting in the heat for a few hour. . The children were however very impressed with the chocolate fountain!! A lovely touch. Despite themselves not recognising Christmas, the staff were very festive getting in the mood with various Christmas adornments and helping to make the day special for us.

We have been to Bali many times and this is the first time we have stayed in a western type hotel. We were not sure what to expect. We were not disappointed. The staff are often what makes a hotel and the staff at The Stones were amazing. A special thanks must go to Ayeux (in the restaurant) and EkaLely (on the front desk) these girls are fantastic, customer focused in an unobtrusive way but ever so friendly, warm and welcoming.

The heart and soul of this place is undoubtedly Mr Christy Guna Desa who made us feel very special. We never got to meet the hotel manager during our fourteen day stay which was disappointing as I wanted to highlight the wonderful service and humour extended to us by Christy. The kids loved his cheeky jokes.

I want to highlight something that happened on our first day which I think exemplifies the ethos of this place. My husband tipped a staff member who looked quite uncomfortable and replied that it was not necessary as it was her job to make sure that we were happy.

We would definitely stay at The Stones again and would highly recommend it to other travellers whether you are a first timer to Bali or whether you have visited multiple times. The location is great, the staff accommodating and the facilities are fantastic.

Room Tip: A room facing the pool is worth the investment. Room 319 and 321 were interconnecting with one balcony and one larger room which was ideal for a family.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and have been traveling to Bali for thirty years now and have stayed in many beautiful hotels.The Stones is the pick of them all.
Service,amenities,rooms and location are just perfect.It is the little extras that put this hotel top of the list,attentive service,helpful smiling staff.
The pool is the absolute feature of this hotel,sun lounges in and out of the water and lovely big Bali bales.
The buffet breakfast is a highlight,variety is way and beyond any buffet I have ever experienced.
The rooms are breath taking with every mod and con required with a huge free standing bath on the balcony.
Thank you to all the lovely staff for making our stay a memorable one.We will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view room,you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TLM-Terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotel i've ever visited. I love the tub on the terrace idea. They also put the lazy bench inside the shallow side on the swimmingpool area.The room design is also shopisticated and cozy. I got a room with the pool view. The breakfast are also good. They have soo many options. Chef Rangga's fried rice is also remarkable. Ps: dont forget to mix the fried rice with sambal bawang!! Must try! Btw i definitely agree with their statement : "ice cream for breakfast, why not?!" ..yeaa..high five!! :D

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip-Trops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews