We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a WOW factor!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel with a WOW factor!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Walking into the lobby alone gave us our first WOW. A beautiful spacious calming place away from the busy road outside. Security was very tight, but all done in a friendly manner. When we walked into our modern spacious room and on to the balcony in the early evening, we were greeted with a view over the lovely large pool and the sound of a saxophone player coming from the bar rooftop - another WOW. The balcony bathtub was also another nice touch. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but these were first class and so the choice amazing. Lets just say we didn't need any lunch!
We had 2 nights there and could have easily stayed for more. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was superb.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    428
    130
    43
    18
See reviews for
300
744
91
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights around new year when the hotel was just a few months old. There were a few issues associated with its newness but most of the things that didn’t work for me were more fundamental. It’s a far cry from a great hotel by the standards of any destination, and for Bali in particular, where there are some truly outstanding properties. So, a very mixed review.

The hotel website still has the computer generated images of the hotel rather than real photos, for some reason, so I am attaching some here for info. In addition to regular hotel critique, I am giving a detailed description of the gym.

Concept: it’s a design-concept hotel trying to create a very hip, urban feel. In this it is very much a W-annabe. [Having also stayed at many W properties -including the one in Bali- I have to say that they don’t match up.] Anyway, some staff wear red converse sneakers (a current talisman of hipness), there is design-statement furniture in the lobby, beanbags around the pool perimeter, you get the idea. And it is a little gimmicky sometimes: the welcome towels are pills that magically hydrate in water. Woohoo, cool (not)! I also found the fire dancers and saxophonist pretty cheesy. But that's me and my taste.

Room: we had a private plunge pool with a view of the main pool area.  This was a mixed blessing as it meant we had no outdoor space other than being inside the jacuzzi itself. I think the regular rooms have a little chaise on the balconies to relax on. When in the room we could only sit in the desk chair or on the bed. It would have been nice to have a place to just relax. But the room itself is all pleasing grey and beige tones, with blonde woods in paneling, furniture and floors. It doesn’t seem to be very high quality and will probably wear badly over time. A very comfy bed (firm but soft at the same time) with six huge pillows. The illy coffee machine was a very nice touch.

Common areas: As others have noted, this property is not on the beach and they do not provide a beach service. The pool area is therefore the focal point of everything. The pool itself is very large and a joy to swim in. Even though the hotel was very full it was actually calm, uncrowded, not too noisy. One problem is that people coming in from the beach rinse their sandy feet in the pool. Yuck!

Gym: It will be pretty good with some basic improvements. There are no mats for stretching and they need a dumbbell rack as they are currently all sitting on the floor. There are no changing rooms to speak of. Weight machines are Matrix equipment and are leg oriented with leg curl, leg ext and leg press. There is also a lat pull down and chest press, a bench and a couple of barbells (a straight, a cambered and a tricep bar) with weights : 2 plates 20kg, 2 of 15kg etc. Dumbbells go up to 20kg only. For cardio they have 4 treadmills, 2 cross trainers, 3 bikes (2 recumbent).  There is a single TV screen dedicated to each one, with cordless headphones that can be tuned to the TV stream.

The Spa: we were unable to get an appointment in the spa, so we cannot comment other than that they probably need to engage more therapists.

Concierge and service generally: very hit and miss, but uniformly friendly at least. We asked for a cab to take us to the airport on departure and called the concierge desk three times to reconfirm it but they appear not to have ordered it. When we were unable to get an appointment in the spa, we asked the concierge to hook us up with massages at another place, they really could not come up with anything and resorted to flipping through the phone book. It was as if some of the staff were just standing at the concierge desk but were not at all trained for that job. This was similar to the gym monitor who did not know how to adjust the temperature in the gym. On other occasions we did receive good service and while the staff need a bit more training to deliver a high level of service, it was reassuring to see that the F&B manager and the hotel manager were visibly working throughout the property to deliver the best possible results.

Location: even though this may technically be Legian, it is practically in the heart of Kuta. Bear that in mind and decide it that is your scene.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank superdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

great hotel ! you wake up in the morning, smell the ocean, and just walk to it! the breakfast was great, they even served ice cream in the morning #sure, our kids love it. the room with private small pool was great, clean, and neat, and the people in this hotel is very very nice. this is a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: try the private pool rooms, kids love it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nassa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroubra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Having travelled to Bali many times we were surprised at this new gem in Legian. Right opposite Kuta Beach and within easy walk of the Beachwalk Centre this hotel is a welcome surprise. Just opened in October 2012 the staff are still finding their feet a little but the service is outstanding and the hotel facilities are 4/5 star. Most travellers here are on business so the hotel is quiet and peaceful during the day. The pool is huge and crowd free so you can truly relax and enjoy. The security is high with X ray, dogs, body scans but these days that's a good thing. Highly recommend the pool view rooms for a relaxing staff in the heart of a busy area.

Room Tip: Choose the pool view rooms and breakfast it's worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ibodyboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We're just about to complete out stay at Stones Kuta / Legian and it has been a pleasure. I have never stayed in such a gorgeous hotel before. The rooms are amazing, the pool area is out of this world and the breakfasts are amazing. From the security and reception staff to the pool and waiting on staff, all employees are helpful, friendly and very attentive. I read the earlier review commenting on the over the top security and do not agree. Yes. There's a lot of them but given that Bali has just celebrated its 10 year anniversary of bombings, it mass us feel safe. We always had a laugh with the guards as we entered.

The hotel location is far enough out of Kuta to be away from the rough hustle and bustle bug plenty of bars, shops and restaurants nearby. We loved Uncle Norms bar. My only slight muggle about the hotel is the price if drinks round the pool. This just gave us the excuse to have a walk and drink somewhere else.

Would totally recommend. A beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail-and-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed in a number of hotels in Bali during our honeymoon (in Nusa Dua, Ubud, and Kuta), and this was hands down the best of the bunch.

First impressions: Security is pretty fierce in Bali, and The Stones definitely is at the top of their game. Two separate gates, a team of security guards, and a rotation shift between a golden retriever and a black lab ensure that nothing gets into the Stones complex by car that shouldn’t. The airport-style security (metal detector + x-ray machine) ensures nothing gets in via the visitors/guests that come to the hotel. While others may be bothered by this… I figure it’s better safe than sorry, and what’s to fret, if you have nothing to hide? Feel free to check out Ground Zero (2002, 200+ dead) around the corner if you think security is excessive.

The People: Everybody, and I mean everybody, is super friendly. “Good mornings” and “good afternoons” are aplenty. Check-in, complete with magic towelettes and popsicles, was a breeze... by the end of my short stay various hotel employees would magically remember and address me by name. Loved it.

The hotel: The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms surround a very nice-sized pool, plenty of recliners, a swim-up pool, hot tub, hammocks, and a daily evening fire show. Three adjoining restaurants offer seafood, international, and local food for lunch and dinner, and lead to a magnificent feast for the morning buffet. Walking through the enclosed halls or going into the elevator, everything smells delicious, as if you’re walking into a day spa.

The Rooms: The rooms are awesome. The pool-facing rooms all have either tubs in their patios (floors 2-5), or a private hot tub if you’re on the first floor. Inside, everything is slick, beautiful smelling bath materials, lilly coffee pod espresso machine, and a reasonably priced mini bar.

Miscellaneous: Because the complex is still new, most of the storefronts leading into the hotel are still empty. However, what they DO have a couple restaurants set up right on the main street that are beach facing. The top floor offers a bar/lounge complete with multiple small infinity pools right on the railing that allow you to enjoy the sunset over drinks… in the water.

The hotel is centrally located on Legian beach. Quick access to either of the Poppies lanes, and a pleasant stroll either south to Kuta/Kuta Square, or north to Seminyak. Perfect location.

Final thoughts: We first planned on only staying at the Stones for two days before heading up to Ubud. By evening of the first day, we decided to extend the stay one more night… and then the next day extended it for a fourth night. After our trip to Ubud, we were deciding whether to head down to Jimbaran or Uluwatu, but ultimately decided that none of those hotels provided the most luxurious bang for the buck as The Stones. Two separate stays at the hotel in one trip… and at The Top of the list for any future trips to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Well, I've just returned from a 7 night stay at the Stones. I've come away with mixed feelings about the place, whilst the hotel itself is magnificent, it leaves a lot to be desired. It all started at check in when we weren't given the room upgrade which was part of our reservation, had I not asked for it we would never have received the upgrade.

We encountered so many frustrations during our week at the hotel. Here's a list:

First - the over the top security checks every time you come back to the hotel, this includes x-ray of anything you're carrying, a walk through a scanner and then a scan with a hand held scanner without exception. Yes, I know its keeping the hotel safe but it just gets frustrating after a couple of days. The bomb gates, sniffer dogs and legion of security personnel also seems ridiculously over the top. We learnt quickly to get our taxis to stop out on the street so we didn't have to be subjected to this invasiveness.

Two - the saxophonist and fire dancers around the pool every evening doing the same show over and over again, on some evenings to an audience of zero people. Bizarre.

Three - continuously being asked for your room number every time you visit the pool and sometimes on multiple occasions. Even showing them you room key had no impact. Then you are handed a 'relax' stone in addition to a protracted explanation of how to use the stone so that you are not disturbed when you come to the pool. Isn't the explanation every day a disturbance? Ironic... And if you want to use a cabana for a day it'll cost you US$80!! Ridiculous.

Four - every day having to ask for soap and milk to be replaced. On one occasion a call was made to have toilet paper delivered because we had not a sheet.

Five - Breakfast was also a bit of a disappointment, whilst there's plenty of variety, it's of inconsistent quality, dried out pancakes, funky tasting turkey bacon and blowfly ridden pastries. Yes, I said blowflies, every morning loads of them crawling all over the pastries and bread, and I have the photos to prove it. I noticed other people taking pictures of them on other days. Yuck! Not good enough for a 5 star hotel. The great tasting coffee was never served with milk unless you asked for it.

Six - the safe in the bedroom being at almost floor level. We had to practically lay on the floor to access the contents, frustrating.

Seven – the hotel seemingly operating at far less than capacity for most of the time we were there, the restaurants were deserted for the most part… I think this may have something to do with the hotel being set so far back from the street and the very intimidating looking security out the front. Even as a guest, walking up and seeing massive boom gates, sniffer dogs and loads of security personnel all dressed in black is very off-putting!
Positives - There are some nice touches in the room like the top notch coffee machine, bath tub on the balcony and a comfortable bed. There’s a great gym too! The front desk staff and restaurant attendants were always very friendly. The swimming pool is awesome and a real treat to swim in. It was amazing for us to see how much wear and tear it has suffered in such a short amount of time such as missing paving capstones, missing tiles and dangerous uneven decking which you can trip over...

I'm not sure I'd stay there again as the rooms are a bit too small and coupled with the other frustrations, namely the 'swimming pool police' and ridiculous security measures it just doesn't appeal...

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.4 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Property: The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#7 Spa Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali and only 20 minutes to the airport, this five star Bali hotel is the perfect vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing