We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Stones”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned after a 5 night stay at The Stones @ Legian. Our flight to Bali was slightly delayed, so we didn't arrive at the hotel until after midnight.
When we arrived, the reception staff were wonderful, and very welcoming. They brought "magic towell wipes" and frozen fruit icy poles which were very refreshing.
Check in was smooth, although our travelling friends did have a room which had a strong odour, and were promptly moved to another equal room.
We had booked a poolside King room with a spa/jacuzzi outside the room. A fantastic idea, but we didn't use it, as it the water was too cool for us, with no heating. I guess during the hotter months they would get a lot of use.
The room itself was more than big enough for the two of us, with a huge king bed and comfortable pillows. Bathroom as the entrance to the room was different, but we had no problems with it, and the rain shower was very impressive. The supplied toiletries were also of good quality.
My one room gripe, (and yes, if you have read all of my other reviews, there is always one, :/) was that the mini fridge was not cold....Warm Bintang just does not cut it in Bali. I think the room air conditioning would be as cold as the fridge. Surely this should be rectified.

Breakfast was brilliant, as others have noted, and yes, I did have to try icecream once. The other choices were amazing and the staff were very attentive to any needs or issues.
The pool was very nice, large and although fairly busy, there never seemed to be a problem finding enough sunlounges for 4 people.
The hotel location was great, just around the corner from Melasti street, and directly across the road from the beach. Plenty of restaurants and shopping close by.
Hotel security seems to be fairly tight, with everybody entering through a metal detector, and bags xrayed. Not too sure how alert the "sniffer dogs" are out by the road, but it looks like they are trying to do the right thing.

Our stay was great and I would not hesitate to stay here again.(#167/159)

Room Tip: Groundfloor, poolside are nice. Spa/jacuzzi's are not heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekidna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyGD, Director of Room Operations at The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

It's a delight to hear that you enjoyed the Stones experience.

The Premium pool rooms with the plunge pool have a temperature set at 28 degrees and it’s a normal guideline for hotels or villas that has a plunge pool in Bali. I do agree that it tends to get cold but certainly believe that during the present hot period of Bali, it's a nice feature to have in your room.

The sniffer dogs are from the Denpasar police and are trained to detect any detonating devices. This is part of the Marriott standards for hotels in Indonesia.

We are currently working on the minibar fridges in the hotel and we certainly do apologise over this issue.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

At first was a little hesitant of staying here since we were close to Kuta. However we were 2 families of 7 and got connecting rooms with plunge pools. Great idea since kids liked it... Fabulous swimming pool and set up. Clean beach in front.
Why I didn't give it 5 stars
1. Kids club can be definitely improved with more activities... Add kids slides/playground
2. Have dedicated umbrellas on the beach
3. More fogging for mosquitoes

Will still recommend for families with small kids

Room Tip: Plunge pool rooms are the best... Don't take a non pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PKL123952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We loved it the first time when we were at the stones last year May 2013 for our first wedding anniversary & planned again to go back for our second in early June 2014:) we felt right at home !!!

We simply love everything about this hotel but specially their customer services & management rocks :D Breakfast buffet is so delicious, the chefs are great & the servers are so hospitable & polite. As a dessert lover I simply indulge into the freshly baked goods. I so wish I can work in their kitchen as a baker one day - hopefully soon :D

The rooms are clean & spacious, bath tub in the gallery is a very unique idea & we love it .... The swimming pool is amazing & you can easily relax there for hours & hours, we never missed the beach view for a split second.

Over all it was a great week that we have spent at the stones yet again and look forward to returning back :D

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MoonshineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Check-in & out was smooth, friendly service, help with bags, quick and efficient. We were there for birthday celebration and we were greeted with a nice cake during our stay. I would like to say many thanks to the Front Office Manager - Sita Saraswati for the arrangement. The room was nice and clean. Quiet room and nice view of the pool. The pool is amazing. They provide you towels. Most of the time the pool is crowded and bench were all occupied. Wish the hotel could add more bench at the pool side as the pool is really great! Overall it was a great stay in the The Stones Hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with pool view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went as family with 8yo child. Stayed for 4 nights. This is relatively new hotel directly opposite Kuta Beach. It is managed by Marriott Hotel Group. Before entering the hotel, our car (all vehicles) will have to pass security check with police dog. Before entering the lobby, all bags and people were checked through metal detector gate. Still feeling at the airport...

Stepping into the lobby, we are served with hotel-made popsicle and wet towel to refresh. Hotel pool is not big but enough for our child to swim around. In the morning, this pool is crowded with guest having morning swim or sunbathing. My observation, most guests here were not domestic traveler.

Some rooms (facing the pool) on the first floor have small outdoor pool (about the size of a jacuzzi). We stayed in King Size Bedroom on the ground floor facing the back garden. Room quite spacious. But we found that mosquitoes could get into our room somehow because every night when we got back to the room some mozzies welcome us around. One time, our room smelled like mosquito spray so we have to open the bedroom door for sometimes.

Upon check in we were told that breakfast were complimentary during our stay because my husband was Marriott silver member. But during breakfast time, on the next day, the restaurant staff mentioned breakfast was not free (unless you are a gold or platinum member) and gave us 50% discount instead. Its a setback but we went ahead anyway with breakfast. The food was nice but not the best. The turkey bacon was too dry and tasted a bit like rubber. The bread, yoghurt, juice and fruits selections were good.

We did try the rib eye and tenderloin steaks at the restaurant and its quite good.

As Kuta beach just opposite the hotel, it is very convenient for my child and niece/nephew to play at the beach. However, we couldn't find a place/shower to rinse ourselves before entering the hotel so we just borrowed a watering host from hotel gardener to clean up sands from our bodies. Thanks Mr. gardener.

Overall, staff were attentive during our stay. Their greetings and smiles made our days.

Room Tip: High floor may be better with less mosquito
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The rooms were spacious - perhaps the space could have been utilised better - especially in the entrance area, but it all worked. The bath on the balcony was a novelty and well worth a try! The restaurant was good - food to a good quality and not overly pricey for a hotel of this nature. We indulged in happy hour a few times. My only gripes were people smoking in the pool (and leaving their ash in the water) and in the lobby area when the hotel advertises a smoke free policy. The spa was amazing and the massages absolutely amazing - as was the tea we got on arrival at the spa. Staff were all very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We booked here for 5 days. On the first day, our pick up from the hotel did not look for us. We had to call the hotel for them to see us. When we arrived, the security was full on everytime you enter. Two barricades then you have to put your stuff in the security machine then get checked by the security personnel like the airport TSA. It does not feel like a holiday. Afterwhich they found scissors in one of the big luggages and they want us to open and find the scissors at the lobby in our big suitcase. We cant believe it!
Then i arranged a chocolate birthday cake for my boyfriend. They charged me 36$ for a ridiculous looking small cake. Less size of a saucer.
It took them a day to prepare it.
We also ordered a la carte for brekky and we ordered banana pancake. They served us 3 plain dry round pancake on a little plate. MickeyDs was better in taste and presentation.
Do not order room service as it is junk and circle K is better.
We are on our 3rd day and we wont be coming here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
13  Thank kayearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyGD, Director of Room Operations at The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

We do apologise over the incidences that has occurred for the past 24 hours. We have already spoken to you in person and we have rectified the issues that you've faced.

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 88 in Legian
6,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod | Bali, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#8 Spa Hotel in Legian
#9 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £92 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali, and only 20 minutes to the airport, our Bali 5-star resort's location is perfect. Here, you have the ideal vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing