We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at Ossotel”
Review of Ossotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ossotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Ossotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We decided to stay at Ossotel in July after reading great reviews on TripAdvisor. We were glad we did! The service was fantastic from the very beginning. The moment we arrived we were greeted by name with big smiles and refreshing delicious welcome drinks straight away. We were so pleased with the pool room. It has a beautiful view and you can pop straight in the pool from your balcony. The pool was a little chilly but refreshing. The lounge on our balcony was comfy but a little short for my tall boyfriend! The bed was very comfy and the shower head is huge! The wall between the room and bathroom is glass but the frosted glass is strategically placed and you can't see through it clearly. Having a DVD player in the room is very handy as well and having robes provided adds a little luxury. The room was always cleaned well and plenty of water is provided - we hardly had to buy our own. The little pastry treats delivered in the evening is a lovely touch with a note describing any activities for the next day as well as the expected temperature and wave swell. We found the hotel quiet, we hardly heard our neighbours. We were towards the back of the hotel though. If you were towards the front the noise from the band / music at Romeos might be an issue.
Breakfast was amazing and generous. A choice from twelve freshly made dishes (we just about tried every one) as well as buffet is on offer. The breakfast meals were lovely. The pancakes, french toast, salmon bagel and salmon omelette were favourites. The staff are welcoming and attentive and always bringing over fresh coffee and tea. My only suggestion would be a fly net over the pastries on the buffet maybe? We often ate at the restaurant Romeos. My boyfriend loved the chilli fries and we both loved the chocolate milkshakes. The chicken fajita is delicious as well as the burger sliders. The bar snacks menu is great.
We thought the location of the hotel was great. I hadn't stayed in this area before but my boyfriend had. It only took about 15 minutes to walk into Kuta and a short taxi ride in to Seminyak. The hotel provides a shuttle to Kuta and Seminyak but we didn't realise this until towards the end of our stay. We were surfing every day and Legian beach suited both our levels. My boyfriend surfed directly out front of the hotel while I went further up the beach towards the Rip Curl Surf School. Ossotel has beach lounges as well which we used a few times. There is a door to access the beach alleyway at the back of the hotel. To get to the beach you have to walk down a narrow alley way which is also used by scooters. You have to be able to push yourself up against the wall in some parts if a scooter comes past but the scooters are going slowly and most people are courteous. We didn't find it a problem but you might if you're not quick on your feet. For most of the alleyway it is well lit at night but one section is quite dark. I don't think I'd be confident to walk down the alleyway by myself at night. Along the beach there are lots of lovely places to eat and get drinks. We often went to the Deck, Mozarella and the restaurant at Niksoma. Cocoon beach club is about a ten minute walk from the hotel. For sunset drinks we would go on the beach to sit on a beanbag with a Bintang.
We would definitely love to come back and stay at the Ossotel again!

Room Tip: A pool room is fantastic! I would definitely choose this option again. If you are worried about priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Catherine W,
Thank you for your kind remarks and wonderful compliments. Glad to know that you had enjoyed your experiences at Ossotel. Our services are personalized and we take pride to know each and every guest. We do appreciate your detailed review. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    320
    59
    12
    7
See reviews for
141
576
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 13 days in July, the staff were amazing and would always ask how our day was each day we arrived back at the hotel. We did make good friends with the staff members and have kept in contact with some since we have left. I could not have asked for better people looking after us on our stay.

The location was ideal as you could walk to kuta in the morning before it got to hot, and could also walk to seminyak to which was nice. But the taxi's were so cheap as well, to kuta it would cost us 25,000 or less, but the hotel also had a shuttle bus that could take you to kuta each day at 10.00, which we did use a couple of times.

The breakfast in the morning was amazing as you order the food so its hot when you get it instead of sitting in bay mare, but there was all your rice that you can have and fresh fruit and toast available. Try the banana pancakes as they were amazing!

But the only down point was the pool was to cold to swim in, but it was a 100m walk to the beach which we did spend more time as the beach was warmer.

But overall was a great hotel !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana0394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Lana0394,
Thank you for sharing your feedback which we value greatly. We are happy that you enjoyed your 13 days experience and appreciate the compliment to our services and the staffs. We do appreciate your recommendations. Once again, thank you for the encouragement and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A two night stay in Legian at Ossotel.

A late check in but was simple enough. After a lengthy transit we were hungry and the room service was prompt and of nice quality...although the menu was limited to a few items.

The room was spacious enough to sprawl clothes and processions. The bed was incredibly comfortable, as was the bathroom (shower with rain head). We were on the top floor at the far end which was great as it was very quiet and peaceful. A large enough balcony and well stocked mini bar.

Staff were very helpful and attentive. One of the managers went out his way to thank us for staying there during our complimentary dinner. A lovely touch....typically Bali.

The bar was great and I could enjoy watching sport from home while chatting with the staff. Food was fine, and BinTang was ice cold. During certain hours drink specials were available. Live music on weekends another good touch...the band on this occasion were excellent.

The pool was lovely, and next time we will consider a room that opens on to it.

Location is great. Just behind Niksoma and the beach...not to far from Legian Rd, and only a short distance each way to Kuta or Seminyak. Mini marts just nearby.

Great value for money, and as a new addition to the area, they have done well to improve the quality of hospitality with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms set away from the road are best for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HindleyHunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear HindleyHunter11,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and endorsement of our products and services which we value greatly. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations. Appreciated your recommendations. Once again, thank you for the encouragement and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheonan, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was very happy to stay here I think it is the perfect location, close to the beach (3 Mins away) and within 30 Mins walk to the action of Bali.
The area is less crowded that the main areas which is good if you don't wish to be fully involved with clubs.
The rooms are very clean and has lots of plug sockets which take any style of plug. The internet is OK.
Breakfast was good and the live bands in the evening are a welcome change to the dance music from other bars and clubs.
The staff here are very helpful and friendly and always willing to help. I left early Sunday morning and they had prepared a free breakfast box for me to take to the airport (which tasted great).
I will be staying here again hen I return and encourage others to do the same. Good quality to price ratio, it was a great stay.
Oh and the beds were very soft and sheets very clean. I slept very well here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hotel will be quieter but the music from the restaurant below stops at a rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Dave C,
Thank you for sharing your feedback which we value greatly. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the compliment to our accommodation and the services with friendly and helpful staffs. Once again, thank you for the encouragement and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stay here and you won't be disappointed. Far more modern and friendly than most of the surrounding hotels/resorts and excellent value for money! It is a 4 star hotel with 5 star staff and 5 star attitude.

We stayed here for 4 weeks over June/July and ALL the staff were fantastic (from reception, housekeeping, the restaurant and the management).

The location is great-probably the nicest stretch of Legian beach is directly ahead of the hotel (once you walk 2mins through the walkway) and there is a good range of restaurants close by.

The rooms are as good as everyone on TripAdvisor has said; modern, big enough, good amenities, very comfortable bed and pillows and the pool access rooms are worth the extra $20-30/night.

The pool is cold and it did mean that we spent less time at the pool and more time at the beach but because we were there for 4 weeks, we did notice that the sun was changing in the sky and the deck started to get more and more sun so hopefully by September/October part of the pool will be sunny! And I guess it is 30+ degrees in Bali so a dip in a cold pool is not really that disastrous.

The restaurant is very good. The breakfast can be a bit hit and miss in terms of runny vs rock hard eggs and can be fairly cool once it gets to the table. The omelette and breakfast burrito were very good (consistently). At dinner the menu expands and the food is more consistent and very good-better than most of the surrounding restaurants in Legian.

The restaurant morphs in to a more bar atmosphere on some nights after about 8:30pm and the music (often very good live bands but sometimes a bit nightclub and loud) can pump to past 1am! It will definitely affect light sleepers and those who stay in the rooms closest to the restaurant will be able to hear/feel the bass until closing time. Most affected are room numbers 101-106 (pool access ground floor) and 201-206/301-306 for the 2nd and 3rd floors. I would ask for a room about half way down (we were in room 109).

The staff, as I mentioned earlier, are great! A special mention to Dekni, Endra, Chef Banjar, Ari, Devi, Desi and Hendra-very professional staff with excellent hospitality skills and just fun to chat to when you visit. The reception staff including Ani and Arini were lovely-nothing was too much trouble. The management including Wayan (General manager) and Ngurah and Arnold were great too.

Comparing Ossotel to other hotels near by it stands up very well and is the best 4 star Bali we have stayed in throughout South East Asia!

To all the staff, thank you so much for looking after us so beautifully. Keep up the great work and we'll see you again!

Cheers,

Jack & Lucy

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson201157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jack and Lucy,
Thank you for your great review and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience with us at Ossotel. We would like to express our gratitude for your compliments on our products, services and the friendly staffs. We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Fantastic position very close to beach and half way between Kuta and Seminyak.

Rooms are lovely. Really modern , clean and well appointed. Nice touch leaving pastries/cakes every evening in your room. 2 x free bottles of water every day too.

Staff are wonderful. Very friendly and helpful.

Only slight issue is that pool is cold as it doesn't get any sun, apart from that , no issues whatsoever and would fully recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshSean1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear WelshSean1969,
Thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your experiences at Ossotel. Your positive feedback will certainly keep us motivated to do better for our customers. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at Ossotel for 7 nights in a pool access room. We were in room 102 but this was close to the street end I would have preferred a bit further down (say 110 onwards). We did ask to change but this was not possible without changing rooms during our stay so we declined. The hotel was in a perfect location in Legian with both Kuta and Seminyak in walking distance and restaurants and bars very close by (Try Mozzerella's and Hitano). Close to the beach via a back alley. The staff were fabulous. Breakfast at Romeo's was OK but limited buffet choices. The one big flaw I find with this place is the pool is sooooo cold. Hubby went in once and I haven't managed to submerge more than my feet. We chose the pool view room becuase we like to swim often but that has not been possible here. If this one issue was rectified with some solar heating (given the pool is not often in the sun) I would have rated it a 5. We had a late flight and were able to organise a late check out which was fantastic. Heat the pool and we will come back :)

Room Tip: First 5 or so pool view rooms are close to the street, noiser and less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, General Manager at Ossotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Allis0n_Smith,
Thank you for the review. It was indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad that you had enjoyed the experiences. We will certainly maintain and even improve in many ways possible to serve you better on your next visit.

Best regards,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossotel

Property: Ossotel
Address: Jalan Padma Utara | Legian, Bali, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ossotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ossotel is organic in its conception and operation. Stylish but not pretentious. We are modern, we like simple pleasures and design that works. The modern tropical design fuses simplicity and functionality, from the architecture to our tailored service showcasing a new breed of Balinese hospitality. Ossotel sits right in the centre of the iconic Padma Legian beach neighbourhood, a stone's throw from the ocean and a short walk to the Island's bars, restaurants, and vibrant club scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ossotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ossotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing