We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in ground floor. Room was excellent, it was facing other side of the hotel, so we never experienced noise problems.

Shower is amazing, fully equipped. Staff service were more than helpful all time.

Breakfast was good as well, however i believe they need to bring more Indonesian food apart from english breakfast. however no complaints.

Air-con running well and cool all time, Security is well maintained. Roof top bar is a gem of the hotel, even if you don't have much to do around you can always relax in roof top bar.

Hotel is near to kuta and most happening place so it very well located. Basically this Hotel is providing all 5star services at low prices.

Will definitely comeback.

Room Tip: choose room at back side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pravin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Firstly, while I'm sure the negative reviewers had their reasons, they clearly didn't do their homework..... my girlfriend and I are sitting in the amazing bed watching tv after an awesome room service dinner (nasi goreng & ayum bakur), and are on the side with construction. It normally stops around 9pm and starts again around 8am. We've both slept like logs every night so far, outside music and all.
The lobby is impressive when you arrive and even though we were early, we were greeted with drinks, cool towelettes and they hurried to get our room ready.
The hotel is modern but not over the top and the rooms are really well styled. Everything is very clean and the bed is amazing. The pool is medium/small, but hasn't been busy when we've used it, and there's a swim up bar too.
The staff are trained well and are genuinely friendly, always greeting us whenever they see us. The room service food is fantastic and unexpectedly CHEAP, dinner tonight (2 mains, 2 desserts & 2 drinks!) came to around $19aud, which is as little or cheaper than many places outside.

Do your homework, manage your expectations and you'll struggle to find a better value hotel in the legian/kuta area!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on far side from construction if you are noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JayD_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Best thing = bed / pillows / towels
Worst things = noise , food , service , breakfast , noise again , service again - lack off. Only stayed here thank god for 4 days - not enjoyable. I understand that all guests have their own critea for hotels - mine is way better than here. Got a cheap deal BUT should have spent more and stayed in one of my top spots. Way too far from beach, not a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kazma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Kazma61,
Greetings from Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian!
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our management’s attention. It was disheartening to know that your stay with us is far below your expectation, although I wish you could have been more specific about our service and facilities that you were not happy about. However, I will investigate the issues with all departments concerned to better anticipate any problems that may occur during guests stay and offer solutions before guests check out from our hotel. We are still a new hotel; however, please kindly rest assured that we keep raising our standard high in all aspects of our service. I sincerely hope that you will still consider staying with us again in the future.
Best regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at Sun Island Legian with my wife when we went to Bali for our honeymoon, about a month ago. The hotel is new, and we were a bit weary about staying there because of the few and mixed reviews of the place before we booked. However, the rate was extremely favorable and we decided to go with it. We didn't regret one second.

In terms of services and amenities, we got everything we wanted and needed. The location is great. The hotel faces Legian Street, which is riddled with restaurants, coffee shops and stores, and the beach is just a 10 minute walk away. The food was consistently good. The breakfast is both continental and Indonesian. We were given a choice between fried noodles, Indonesian chicken soup, eggs and bacon, hash browns, bread and pastries, cereals and salads. The restaurant was also excellent and on par with most of the restaurants in the area.

Taxis are cheap in Indonesia, and the hotel was always able to get us a taxi or other convenient transportation at a moment's notice. They also have scooters and motorbikes for rent, and were extremely flexible and accommodating when it came to helping us find a bike we liked, getting us equipment that fit us comfortably, and helping us plan our trip to Ubud.

The rooms are what you'd expect of a hotel in this price range. They comfortably fit the number of people they are are supposed to, plus a couple of visiting friends if needed. There was plenty of space to stow away our luggage. The room we got was clean and well-lit, and we didn't notice any mosquitoes while we were there.

Where the hotel really stood out, however, was the staff and the service. When they heard that we were there on a honeymoon, they went out of their way to make our stay a memorable and pleasant experience. They gave us flowers, arranged a heart on our bed, and gave us a very nice surprise gift in the restaurant our first night. They were extremely helpful in helping us navigate the different attractions and finding alternatives for us when for one reason or another we were not able to go through with our plans. Everything we asked for was done swiftly and properly, and with a smile to boot.

My overall experience with Sun Island has been memorable and exclusively positive. If I ever return to Bali, I would not hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For a new hotel it has many problems. We stayed here with our family and friends. Extremely noisy hotel. We were on the 4th floor and heard constant noise from doors closing on all floors, as well as security talking on their walkie talkies and guest coming and goings. On two occasions we had to request shower towels once it took 50mins to get any, the other we didn't receive them and had to share 2 between 5 of us. We were in room 430 and on 2 consecutive days had diesel fumes fill our room from there generator. They did move us to another room upon my second complaint. Once moved to another room there was noise all night from kitchen next door. As well as been woken by car alarm 3 mornings in a row from next door property. Advertised with a balcony first room it didn't exist second room is a standing ledge and suite had none. Breakfast is very average poorly stocked and no pancakes even if requested. Fifth floor pool was closed due to tiles coming off the pool but was reopened prior to leaving. Elevator does not always work as they seem to have power issues hence generator. On arrival we received a cold refreshing towel and drink which was very welcoming. The staff are friendly but it takes along time to check in. Hotel issues one room key but requested second and was supplied with it. Unsure of airport transfer costs. We were charge US55 for nine of us on arrival and when we left was told that we were having 2 cars at 100000 rup per car which I checked 3 times of charge, when arriving at airport drivers charged us 200000 rup per car. Superior room is clean and tidy and maintained each day bathroom is small however. Children had suite which was lovely and spacious with a big bathroom. Food on room service was average as was food in restaurant. The hotel is centrally located to shopping and bars and nightlife. I have stayed at many hotels in Bali and this is not a hotel I would stay again. This is not a child's hotel. Don't pay anymore than $40-50 a night, not worth it. Not sure how it is rated as 4 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASharp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear ASharp22,

Greetings from Bali!

We’d like to thank you for choosing to stay in our new hotel and please accept our appreciation for sharing your concerns and give us opportunity to improve ourselves in all aspects of our service and facilities. Thank you for your correction with regards to the door ledge or banister in our suites and superior rooms. We have updated the information on our website. With regards to the noise, our management has taken significant steps to minimize noise, including limiting operation hours for our live entertainment and keeping our staff’s walkie talkies noise at the minimum. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the speed, accuracy and consistency of our service. As our guests’ comfort and satisfaction are very important to us, reviews such as yours will be used as one of references to improve our service & facilities. We are hoping that you will consider having another getaway with us in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I actually found this hotel by accident but it was a lucky discovery! This hotel is quite new, built in December 2013, so everything inside is refreshed and clean. We were suppose to get picked up by the hotel but due to delay of our flight and customs, we took a taxi instead. My advice is to just take a taxi! The hotel charges 22 USD for pickup but it's only $4.5 (literally) to get to the hotel. Once we arrived, we were presented with fresh cold towels and welcome drinks. It was so needed after a long tiring flight. The hotel staff are just so wonderful and kind. They are always smiling which made us super happy as well. We were then taken to our room and the hotel staff carried our luggages for us! The rooms were amazing, and extremely clean. They also provided robes, flipflops, and mineral water. The bathroom was compact but still spacious enough. Noise wise, we actually were not affected at all. We got a room in the corner on the first floor, towards the back, so it was really quiet. The wifi was pretty decent, and breakfast was sooo delicious!! You have to go early though, by 9am, a lot of the items were gone. Room service was affordable but not the greatest. I would only recommend the dessert section. The pool was just beautiful, love the infinity style. The rooftop was great for sunset viewing as well. I loved staying here, everyone was just wonderful!
The location is super convenient as well, it is walking distance to the kuta beach, and is surrounded by shops and beauty services!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back, away from the construction, and entrance. We got room 108 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The best hotel I've stayed in so far. Was taken aback at the arrival, wasn't expecting dropping off at a foyer for the price I paid. WOW! really 4-5 star standards. The only glitch that almost happen was to be told to deposit 1million rupiahs when Ive already paid for the full price of 5 days. After telling them that, they told me its fine if I do not want to. Got the card to my room and it was Splendid. everything was tip top. Wifi was great. sleep was great( because mine was at the corner where roads, construstions and clubs are further out front) they were also fine with me to extend my checking out couple of hours later due to some activities. Security was great. free parking. breakfast buffet was Pretty good. Lastly but not least, they are SUPER smiley and friendly. Even the biggest guy smile. hahaha.

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms closer to the roads or beside the ongoing construction works?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elroyunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Elroyunos,

Greetings from vibrant Bali!

Thank you for staying at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian, and I am pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. All your compliments have been passed on to motivate our team to keep giving our best to ensure a pleasant and memorable stay for all our guests. I appreciate you for sharing the details of your stay with other travelers. The whole Sun Island team is looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#36 of 88 in Legian
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#24 of 88 in Legian
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian

Address: Jl. Legian 123 | Legian, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#14 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £30 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most throbbing areas in Bali, Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian comprises of 99 rooms and 8 suites, restaurants and bars, and a roof top whirl pool. This Bali hotel is mere walking distance from the famous Legian beach, clubs, and only 15-minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel is designed for travelers who are always young at heart and wanting to be in the hub of endless entertainment and fun that Bali has to offer. Hotel Facilities: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian has a main swimming pool, a rooftop sundeck whirl pool, a spa, a main restaurant, a poolside restaurant with sunken bar, a rooftop bar, and 24-hour room service Room Facilities: All rooms have air-conditioning, TV cable, IDD telephone, free Wi-Fi access, safety deposit box, coffee & tea making facilities, hair dryer, and refrigerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing