We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for three nights before flying home and had no regrets at all, really nice room with everything that you need, really friendly staff, nice pool area. Yes it was noisy during the day as they are building next door but I didn't have any issues at all sleeping at night. The food was really good and there was a good range of foods for breakfast, overall I had a very nice stay and would stay again. I have seen some reviews where there is a lot of complaints about noise but really not that much of an issue, if you are looking for a nice quiet stay then maybe look to places outside the Kuta area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear ap282014,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian!

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel in your recent Bali getaway. Your review is highly appreciated, but most of all, I am delighted to know that you had an amusing time with us. Thank you for your kind word about our staff, food, room, and other facilities. Your compliments have been passed on to my team who will continue making the best effort to give the best service to our guests. We are already looking forward to your return!

With warmest regards,

Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bad start to visit, no wifi, Walls thin screening baby next room. Moved room to a room that was so noisy it sounded like a motor bike race track. Moved to another room, has wifi, still noisy, no tourist info in lobby.

Room Tip: Need a room away from lane ways, check if wifi works in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbell1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear bbell1965,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian!

I trust this message finds you well. It was disheartening to learn that your stay with us was not satisfactory. I am sorry that you had to start your getaway in a less positive note, which might have affected your whole staying experience. We provide complimentary wi-fi connection in all guest rooms, and it was shame that there seemed to be a problem with it in the first room you were in. In response to your comment about the noise, please kindly be informed that we will make the best effort to minimize disturbances, including limiting our restaurant's entertainment hours until 10.00 p.m. As for tourist information, our Guest Service Agents are at your service and will be happy to assist you with recommendation for guest activities during stay. Please rest assured that as a new hotel we keep raising our bar high in making our guests' stay a most comfortable and memorable one. I am hoping that you will still consider staying in the friendly hospitality at Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian again in the future.

All the best,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pros;
Great price
Nice rooms
Comfy beds
Helpful friendly staff
Nice rooftop pool
Great location
Amazing breakfast

Cons:
Nightclubs all around and on top floor, which caused loud music to play till 2am, felt like we were in the actual club at some point

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CamRanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear CamRanc,

Greetings from the vibrant side of Bali!

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian. I appreciate your time in posting the valuable review. I am pleased that you liked our hotel services and facilities and that you had most of your time during your stay. In line with your comment on our rooms and beds, I'd like to also highlight that Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian uses top brand mattresses, pillows, and linen to support maximum comfort for all guests. As you pointed out, we are located in a hip and vibrant location on famous Legian street, only 15 minutes drive from Bali's International Airport. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the noise; we will use it as reference to improve our services as our guests' satisfaction is of utmost importance for us. Last but not least, I am wishing you and your family well, and we are hoping we'll welcome you back in the not-too-distant future.

With warmest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in ground floor. Room was excellent, it was facing other side of the hotel, so we never experienced noise problems.

Shower is amazing, fully equipped. Staff service were more than helpful all time.

Breakfast was good as well, however i believe they need to bring more Indonesian food apart from english breakfast. however no complaints.

Air-con running well and cool all time, Security is well maintained. Roof top bar is a gem of the hotel, even if you don't have much to do around you can always relax in roof top bar.

Hotel is near to kuta and most happening place so it very well located. Basically this Hotel is providing all 5star services at low prices.

Will definitely comeback.

Room Tip: choose room at back side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pravin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Firstly, while I'm sure the negative reviewers had their reasons, they clearly didn't do their homework..... my girlfriend and I are sitting in the amazing bed watching tv after an awesome room service dinner (nasi goreng & ayum bakur), and are on the side with construction. It normally stops around 9pm and starts again around 8am. We've both slept like logs every night so far, outside music and all.
The lobby is impressive when you arrive and even though we were early, we were greeted with drinks, cool towelettes and they hurried to get our room ready.
The hotel is modern but not over the top and the rooms are really well styled. Everything is very clean and the bed is amazing. The pool is medium/small, but hasn't been busy when we've used it, and there's a swim up bar too.
The staff are trained well and are genuinely friendly, always greeting us whenever they see us. The room service food is fantastic and unexpectedly CHEAP, dinner tonight (2 mains, 2 desserts & 2 drinks!) came to around $19aud, which is as little or cheaper than many places outside.

Do your homework, manage your expectations and you'll struggle to find a better value hotel in the legian/kuta area!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on far side from construction if you are noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JayD_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Best thing = bed / pillows / towels
Worst things = noise , food , service , breakfast , noise again , service again - lack off. Only stayed here thank god for 4 days - not enjoyable. I understand that all guests have their own critea for hotels - mine is way better than here. Got a cheap deal BUT should have spent more and stayed in one of my top spots. Way too far from beach, not a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kazma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunIslandHotelLegian, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Kazma61,
Greetings from Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian!
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our management’s attention. It was disheartening to know that your stay with us is far below your expectation, although I wish you could have been more specific about our service and facilities that you were not happy about. However, I will investigate the issues with all departments concerned to better anticipate any problems that may occur during guests stay and offer solutions before guests check out from our hotel. We are still a new hotel; however, please kindly rest assured that we keep raising our standard high in all aspects of our service. I sincerely hope that you will still consider staying with us again in the future.
Best regards,
Ismullah, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at Sun Island Legian with my wife when we went to Bali for our honeymoon, about a month ago. The hotel is new, and we were a bit weary about staying there because of the few and mixed reviews of the place before we booked. However, the rate was extremely favorable and we decided to go with it. We didn't regret one second.

In terms of services and amenities, we got everything we wanted and needed. The location is great. The hotel faces Legian Street, which is riddled with restaurants, coffee shops and stores, and the beach is just a 10 minute walk away. The food was consistently good. The breakfast is both continental and Indonesian. We were given a choice between fried noodles, Indonesian chicken soup, eggs and bacon, hash browns, bread and pastries, cereals and salads. The restaurant was also excellent and on par with most of the restaurants in the area.

Taxis are cheap in Indonesia, and the hotel was always able to get us a taxi or other convenient transportation at a moment's notice. They also have scooters and motorbikes for rent, and were extremely flexible and accommodating when it came to helping us find a bike we liked, getting us equipment that fit us comfortably, and helping us plan our trip to Ubud.

The rooms are what you'd expect of a hotel in this price range. They comfortably fit the number of people they are are supposed to, plus a couple of visiting friends if needed. There was plenty of space to stow away our luggage. The room we got was clean and well-lit, and we didn't notice any mosquitoes while we were there.

Where the hotel really stood out, however, was the staff and the service. When they heard that we were there on a honeymoon, they went out of their way to make our stay a memorable and pleasant experience. They gave us flowers, arranged a heart on our bed, and gave us a very nice surprise gift in the restaurant our first night. They were extremely helpful in helping us navigate the different attractions and finding alternatives for us when for one reason or another we were not able to go through with our plans. Everything we asked for was done swiftly and properly, and with a smile to boot.

My overall experience with Sun Island has been memorable and exclusively positive. If I ever return to Bali, I would not hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 87 in Legian
2,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bali Legian
Mercure Bali Legian
#25 of 87 in Legian
1,383 reviews
0 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#36 of 87 in Legian
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akmani Legian
Akmani Legian
#24 of 87 in Legian
977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
0.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Legian 123, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#14 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £26 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most throbbing areas in Bali, Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian comprises of 99 rooms and 8 suites, restaurants and bars, and a roof top whirl pool. This Bali hotel is mere walking distance from the famous Legian beach, clubs, and only 15-minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel is designed for travelers who are always young at heart and wanting to be in the hub of endless entertainment and fun that Bali has to offer. Hotel Facilities: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian has a main swimming pool, a rooftop sundeck whirl pool, a spa, a main restaurant, a poolside restaurant with sunken bar, a rooftop bar, and 24-hour room service Room Facilities: All rooms have air-conditioning, TV cable, IDD telephone, free Wi-Fi access, safety deposit box, coffee & tea making facilities, hair dryer, and refrigerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing