We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a budget hotel, this place is good..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For a budget hotel, this place is good..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

After much too-ing and fro-ing, I finally booked at the Baleka Resort and Spa, Legian.. I didn't want to spend much money but wanted something in a good location and nice pool.. I liked this hotel.. The rooms were big and clean and looked out over the pool.. Breakfast was included in the rate and whilst basic, was fresh and enough to fill you up.. Staff were exceptionally lovely, friendly and helpful.. It looked like there were a few repeat clientele so that always says its worthy of a go.. I used the Spa a couple of times and the massages were brilliant especially for the price.. This is a good budget hotel in a great location..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsMinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    220
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
121
154
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed there Oct 2012 after a terrible one night stay at The Beach Melati Apartments. We walked in and were shown the front rooms for a good rate so checked out of the dump we were in and enjoyed our stay here. It is centrally located with a short walk (3-4 mins) down a laneway to beach front. The front rooms are the nicest, pool is nice with swim up bar and mostly empty. It is quite with a carpark at front and rear lane access towards the beach. I wiuld stay here again however wouldnt be my first choice but be a great back up when you cant find anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms closest to the pool as they are the newest and quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_sull806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Found Baleka by accident after walking out of another lodge we were supposed to stay. Baleka has this especial Balinese touch of tranquility you dream of. Deluxe room was big enough to accommodate our family of 4. Walk-in rates are slightly higher than on line. The front desk allowed us to use their wifi to book on line. Agoda confirmed immediately our booking and we were able to check in and enjoy the rain from our comfortable room. Breakfast is quite good with variety of pastries, however there is no cheese !

The only trouble we experienced was with the doors. They don't seem to be as smooth as the overall hotel environment!

Room Tip: Rooms No close to the pool if you are after peace and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordita33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

All about this hotel is great! The room is clean, services are great, workers are so friendly, location is near with beach, bars, and restaurants. I stayed here with my bf for 6 nights to celebrate NYE 2013. If we'll go to Bali again, we're sure we'll stay at this hotel again. And I'll recommend this hotel to my family and my friends who'll go to Bali.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoan_agusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I'm not quite sure where to start describing how poor this place was, but it started with the arrival. We emailed the hotel in advance to arrange an airport pickup, and received no reply. I then called to arrange the transfer and was given a price of Rp.200,000 (approx $20) - far too high, but just about tolerable. That is if the driver had actually shown up. He didn't. Upon phoning to ask, we were told that the driver "wasn't feeling well". I asked for them to send someone else and they quoted $30 this time.

In the end we took one of the taxis waiting outside the airport that provided the service Baleka were incapable of doing, for about half the price. Unbelievably, upon arrival the manager was already trying to tout transfer services to our next location. To give an idea of the prices, their price for the one-way trip to Ubud they offered was about the same as we paid for hiring a driver for a half-day tour of several different locations from another hotel in October (this may be due to busy season, but it was still significantly cheaper to arrange ourselves).

The room (135, near the reception) was supposedly a "Superior" and looked nice in the photos, and included a balcony. There was nothing at all superior about it though. It was at ground level, with no natural light and only exposed bulbs hanging from the ceiling to illuminate the room. The bathroom was dirty and the shower didn't drain properly. As for the rest of the resort, there was on-going construction between the lobby and pool/restaurant area. The noise can't be helped, but one shouldn't have to dodge lethal falling bricks when going to breakfast. The pool and restaurant felt unwelcoming and had a bit of a Club Med vibe. The restaurant blared out music over breakfast (which was included in the price and also fairly decent to be fair).

To make this review slightly more balanced, the location was relatively convenient - a short drive from the airport and close to lots of restaurants/bars – and the price was also acceptable. But the beach is a fair walk away via a dingy alleyway. And, despite being so close to Seminyak beach (which is quite pleasant and clean), the Legian stretch near Baleka was filthy when we were there. To get out into the water required swimming through a layer of rubbish. The hotel has no control over this, but it's worth bearing in mind if you are looking to stay here or in the area.

Unless you need somewhere cheap to stay that's relatively close to the airport, stay well clear of this place. Even then, there are almost certainly better options.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool looked newer, cleaner and much brighter. Go for these and avoid Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

my wife an i have travelled around kuta @legian on many occasions staying at different resorts we have found baleka very central quiet clean staff cant say enough about them value we have stayed at the baleka on 2 occasions we stayed near reception once an the other in room 132 infront of pool no complaints at all from us staff go out of there way to make ya feel at home we,ll be back for my wife, s50th in oct so it might be a bit noisy then haha we stayed in feb @oct 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Was really disappointed with Baleka due to a number of reasons.
Renovations, staffs attitudes, didnt feel welcome at all, miss leading advertisement, missing towels and pillows (random points were they would only leave us one towel for 2 people, twin room) and the list goes on.
Iv stay in a number of hotels around the same area/price range and decided to try Baleka out. A lot of reviews talked about renovations being done so i contacted them to find out when they would be finished. I was told the renovations would be completed by the time my friend and i arrived. This was a lie. We were put into a room right underneath the construction. no room we saw looked like its pictures, we were shown another room to stay in later on when we got fed up with the noise and it was crap. We were told the renovations were 9-5 but were woken up at 8 every morning to banging and on the sunday night when we were leaving they we still banging away at 8.30pm. Not impressed at all, do not recommend it!

Room Tip: Once the renovations are done the deluxe rooms will be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
1.0 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#26 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#11 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian 80225, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Legian
#22 Spa Hotel in Legian
#22 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleka Resort & Spa enjoys a prime Legian location that puts it within easy walking distance to a celebrated stretch of sunset beach as well as an extensive array of shopping and dining options. With two convenient entrance points, the property is well placed to experience the sights Bali's most popular lifestyle district up close and personal. Situated in between Kuta and Seminyak, Legian is an evolving destination known for its vibrant beach culture and carefree ambience. It attracts travellers from all walks of life who are looking for a pleasure-filled break. Baleka Resort & Spa is just 12km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleka Beach Hotel Legian
Baleka Beach Resort
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing