We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and location”
Review of Hotel Sinar Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sinar Bali
Ranked #71 of 86 Hotels in Legian
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value and location”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Our family of 5 spent 8 nights at Sinar Bali and were completely satisfied. As others have mentioned it provides clean and basic accommodation. The bathrooms are nothing special and there is a bit of mould here and there as you'd should expect in a cheaper hotel in the tropics, shower is also a bit slow to drain so a longer shower felt like you were standing in a puddle but good pressure and hot water. Any concerns were easily forgotten when lying by the large, clean and deep pool or enjoying a drink at the swim up bar.

There is a small TV in the rooms - mostly local channels plus the Australia Network

Lots of friendly but not overbearing staff. Lockable cupboard in rooms and security boxes available at office. Free wifi in the restaurant.

Breakfast buffet included in the room charge and consisted of toast, fruit and three of the following dishes on variable rotation - fried noodles, sausages, pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, bacon. Omlettes and eggs can also be ordered at no additional cost and no problems with going back for seconds or thirds. A number of other guests stocked up with bread and fruit before heading to beach. Staff also happy to provide bowls and spoons etc if you bring you own cereal to eat in the restaurant.

Meal and drink prices were the same in the restaurant, by the pool and in rooms. Only catch was that the restaurant was not licenced for spirits so once the pool bar shut about 6.00pm the choice was beer or wine - so remember the duty free if you want an evening drink.

Drinks:
Large Bintang IDR 27,000 (24,000 in happy hour)
Tea 1,000
Gin and Tonic 42,000
Coke 14,500

Meals:
Chicken sate sticks 5 for 20,000, 10 for 47,000
Hamburger 32,000
Nasi goreng 28,500

Location:
The beach is a short walk away down some narrow lanes (after you leave Sinar walk towards the Circle K and then head down the lane rather than following the street round the corner. The lane leads to the entrance to a 5-star hotel, the lane to the beach is to the right of the security office - keep an eye out for oncoming scooters.)

Plenty of restaurants, massage, DVD, bintang shirts available within a 2-3 minute walk of hotel. Money changer at the Circle K was competitive and honest. Local phone cards available at the DVD shop next to Circle K. ATMs at Circle K (max imum withdrawal 1,500,000) and at the bank further round the corner (max 3,000,000). Despite this all being so close the hotel was very quiet.

The hotel also has a generator that kicks in during the regular power failures.

Overall good value for basic, clean accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TopEnd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    48
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
30
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I thought the room was clean, but the shower was basic as well as the decor. The location was wonderful with several restaurants, spas, and pubs within walking distance, and the airport is reasonably close. There was one spa in particular called Santai which my wife loved. I think she wanted to move in permanently. We stayed in the standard room, but I believe an upgrade would be worth it. It's a great value, but after 3 nights I had to take my wife to a 5 star hotel as it became a little budgety for her taste. Be careful when being dropped off by taxi since many drivers confuse this place with another hotel close by called the Sinar Indah.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gospeedracer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phitsanulok, Thailand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The staff are very friendly. It's in a good location, set back from the street so it's quiet, yet only a 6-7 minute walk to a beautiful stretch of beach. The area abounds with restaurants and shopping, and you are within walking distance or a cheap cab ride from the hustle bustle of the Kuta area. While simple. the rooms are well maintained, good hot water, quiet air conditioner, TV, refrigerator and veranda or balcony. The rooms surround a beautiful garden. The pool is a good size and very clean with an inexpensive poolside bar and comfortable sun chairs with umbrellas. A buffet breakfast is provided, and it changes daily. By western standards this is an inexpensive hotel (about 37.00). Though not cheap, its probably one of the best places in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank falangsabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Sth Aust
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Nothing flashy but clean and tidy with all that we wanted in a budget hotel. TV with english channel, aircon,fridge and hot showers. The pool area was nice and the restaurant served cheap meals. Room service was the same price so very reasonable. Beds were comfortable but we did have 2 singles instead of a double. Small breakfast buffet but you can ask for omelettes or egg dishes at no extra cost. We found it was close to everything with only a short walk to nearby restaurants, massage spas, money changers, shopping and the beach. We cut through the Jayakata a few times but there is a laneway if you look hard.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Sinar Bali..this time on my own for ten days..I just love the simplicity, friendliness and quietness. I felt very safe by myself and the staff are wonderful. The breakfast is just right and eggs are available as well, cooked any way. i found most of the guests are friendly but not invasive.. i have already booked for next year for a month.

I would recommend it to too many people as I mightn't get in..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RebeccaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sinar as the first stop of 4 months in Asia, and we still think of it as the best place we stayed all trip.
Our room was spacious and very clean with a/c, fridge and an enormous, very comfortable bed. I haven't slept better since! The bathroom was a little bit small and the shower leaked a bit, but other than that no complaints regarding the room. It's not luxurious, but functional, clean and comfortable. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard every day with fresh sheets and towels given on a daily basis.
The best thing about the hotel is probably the pool, which is very large and in a beautifully kept garden area with plenty of comfortable loungers and shade if you want it.
Sinar is down a small track, so off the main streets of Legian, which can be very busy and noisy especially at night. I think it's rare to find a genuinely peaceful place there for this kind of price. (We paid approx $25 per night). All the main attractions of Kuta and Legian are within walking distance though, as is the beach. We spent every day by the pool since the beach was very crowded with surfers, and the pool was just so relaxing.
Finally, the staff at Sinar are amongst the most helpful I have ever encountered. They are all very welcoming and always on hand to assist with anything you might need.
Breakfast is included, and is reasonably good.
Definitely worth staying here if you come to Legian.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batfink27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I only stayed there for 1 night in the standard room as I needed a place for transit before I checked in to the hotel the next day for my stay in Legian. The room is quite spacious but the furniture needs updating badly. The bathroom is not well-lighted and looks really old (quite scary). Some renovation is much needed. The bedsheets and pillow cases doesn't look very clean either and smells a little. The only think I like about the room is probably the balcony. There is no kettle in the room so if you need hot water you will need to ask from the front desk. The pool is of average size like most hotels in Bali. No blockage so will be able to get some sun. The breakfast is quite pathetic. Not much choices, maybe about 4 dishes to choose from. Toast, sausage, potato...

This hotel is tuck in a little corner away from the main street and the beach so its not exactly very convenient. Unless I will be out most of the time and only needed a place to crash at night, I wouldn't consider this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluejuize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
#58 of 86 in Legian
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kusnadi Hotel
Kusnadi Hotel
#44 of 86 in Legian
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#31 of 86 in Legian
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 86 in Legian
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zest Hotel Legian
Zest Hotel Legian
#10 of 86 in Legian
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sinar Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sinar Bali

Property: Hotel Sinar Bali
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sinar Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sinar Bali Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing