We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a joke”
Review of Villa Diana Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Diana Bali
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a joke”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

After staying in a villa in Canggu, we rocked up to Villa Diana, looking for a room for three nights. We were shown a private pool villa. There were three bedrooms in the villa and were told that we could have one of the bedrooms but the other bedrooms were closed. (Which similar to our private villa set up we were staying in at Canggu).

We were offered the villa for $80US a night, including breakfast. We agreed and they took our name and told us we could pay when we checked in the next day. All good and we were high fiving that we found such a bargain compared to what we had been looking at in the area.

The following day, we arrived at Villa Diana and were told we had to wait for an hour while our room was been made ready. I thought this a little strange as the pool room we were shown the day before was vacant.

Sure enough, after an hour they started to lead us towards one of deluxe rooms. Apparently the booking was made for us in a deluxe room. When we kicked up, they took us to the pool villa we were shown, but I noticed towels and people's swimmers hanging off a chair. We were informed that we could share the pool villa with another couple.

The girls at reception ended up calling the guy (Agus) that we had made our booking with as they were quite embarrassed at our situation. He flat out lied that he ever said that we could have a 'private' villa and that he said he told us we were sharing. Needless to say, we went elsewhere - after wasting a couple of hours on a wild goose chase.

Buyers beware !

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karebou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    92
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
34
117
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Ooh .. VDB was the best part of the trip, we were 8 friends from India, on a holiday to Bali and VDB made all the difference to our trip. All staff at the hotel are relaxed, friendly and will serve you with a smile no matter when and what you want. We were boisterous bunch and used the main pool till late night (read early morning). Especially popular with our group for her attitude was Kamala,who works in the morning shift at the admin center. She is your contact, if you want anything done in VDB. She is an asset to that place. The price point was superb especially because of freebies like upgrades etc were given without even asking, this could be because it wasn't the peak season. The staff helped us out by faxing, emailing when we faced a problem and always with a smile & no charge. I would recommend this place without a second thought, to anyone travelling to Bali and wishing to stay in Kuta. Other bits of advice get a self driven car, a ready reckoner on IDH-INR conversion and vegetarians carry Maggi and a induction cooker and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Book Villa 202,203,302,303 - for pvt access to your own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guestfromeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Nice quiet place not too far from kuta beach / legian beach though we have to take a taxi everywhere. The rooms are alright, clean and it is a small boutique hotel with villa surrounding a swimming pool. Breakfast was so-so, typical indonesia / southeast asian fare.

Overall the stay was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun Island Reso... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a long due review. I stayed in Villa Diana in 2010, it was my first time in Bali and I went there alone.

I made the booking through booking.com and I got a very good deal. The price online and walk in are different. Online is cheaper of course.

It is just a small hotel but very nice and cozy. It is just 10 minutes walk to the Legian beach and you will pass by many shops and spa.

I book for Deluxe room (the cheapest) but I'm not sure why, maybe some mess up with the booking system or smth the deluxe room were overbooked. So they upgrade me to Villa room. No extra charges. Villa room is HUGE with big bathroom, bath tub and outdoor shower. It also has it's own recreational area and small swimming pool. Unfortunately, I don't swim.. (yeah..yeah..i know :p)

I don't think they have internet in the room because I remember I have to go to the patio at the big swimming pool to surf the net.

The staffs are friendly and helpful.

The only bad experience I had there was the strict rule during nyepi day. It happen that i went on nyepi day (at the time i didn't know it was a nyepi day). We can't go out from the hotel, only one bedside lamp allowed (and they cover it with black cloth), and dinner serve at 5 and the kitchen completely close after 6.

I'm afraid to be alone in the dark in my room, and hungry, so I hangout with the french girls at the pool. We forced one of the employee to look for food in the kitchen, we found snacks! :)
Well, it wasn't that bad considering i made new friends hehe!

If you like a quiet place but still close to kuta and the beach, here is the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yati_Suzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This Villa is just lovely.. Located just about 10 mins walk from the beach, it is very quiet and peaceful. The rooms were amazingly spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and pleasant and very helpful. Will definately go back there again and recommend this to others..

Room Tip: as long as i have either sea view or pool view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Villa Diana for 3 nights in March '12 and we loved every minute of it! Having previously stayed in the centre of Kuta for a few nights this was such a nice contrast and the whole resort and area felt more authentic and how we expected Bali to be. The staff are lovely, very friendly and very personable, you will always be greeted with a smiling face and a chat whenever you pass through reception but on the other hand they leave you in peace when you are relaxing by the pool rather than constantly offer drinks which I find annoying in other hotels. We picked the superior room which was lovely, not huge but a decent size, very clean and lovely dark wooden decor. The bed is nice and soft and the room has everything you need (apart from tea/coffee but you can get this downstairs). Breakfast is decent and they always have nice traditional music playing during breakfast by the pool which is a lovely way to start the day! The pool area is amazing, so quite and peaceful with beds/sun loungers spaced out far apart with lots of shading if you want it and a beautiful large pool in grey slate which makes it look gorgeous. Location was perfect for us- in a quiet street by a river (the roads aren't great though- no proper pavement) but only a 15 min walk/5 min taxi ride which cost about £1.80 to all the restaurants. The hotel will ring you a taxi whenever you want it. Overall my partner and I loved it and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fatpigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Loved this hotel, the pool was in such a lovely setting and we had it pretty much to ourselves. Friendly staff. After a long flight we were glad we booked to stay here as was very peaceful, not really walkable to anywhere (although was good food at little Wayan/cafe at bottom of street) but the taxis were cheap into town area. Charming other guests (especially the nice aussie couple who gave us insights into Balicheapeats websites and more as well as their left over beers when they were goin!! Much appreciated! Cheers)
Great place to stay away from noise of Legian/Kuta.
Only downside was that the air con not that powerful, our safe didnt work either so we left our stuff in hotel safe free of charge.
What I would call a gorgeous boutique hotel, reasonably priced, small enough to care.
Happy to answer any more questions if anyone wants pm me.

Room Tip: i believe the prices vary depending which room you have, ours was first floor overlooking the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahnphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.3 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bali Legian Street
Ibis Bali Legian Street
#30 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.2 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#10 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Diana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Diana Bali

Property: Villa Diana Bali
Address: Jl. Kresna Uluntanjung | Jl. Nakula, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Diana Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Diana Bali Well located in the heart of Legian within 15 minutes walk to some of Bali is best restaurants, nightlife, the famous Seminyak shopping strip and the well known double six and blue ocean beach. Villa Diana Bali offers 25 rooms, consisting of 16 Guest rooms with a modern minimalist concept and 3 self contained 3 bedroom villas. Services : • Free pick - up service for minimum 3 night stay. • Pick - up and return airport transfer for minimum 5 night stay. • Welcome drink and fresh hand towel on arrival • Buffet American, continental or local daily breakfast served in the restaurant. • Daily housekeeping. • 24 hour security. • 24 hour Front Desk Staff. • Wi-fi available in the room. • safety box in each room. Facilities : • Main Swimming Pool. • Private Pool in the Villa. • Restaurant. • Mini Bar. • Wi - Fi. • Tour Desk. • Car and Motor Bike Rental. • Parking Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Diana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Diana Bali Hotel Legian
Hotel Diana Bali
Villa Diana Bali Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing