We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Diana Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Diana Bali
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

If you're after a 5 star sanitised Bali experience then Villa Diana is not for you. However if you're looking for a peaceful retreat in the madness which is now most of Bali, then Villa Diana is a gem. Yes it's a decent hike from the beach, and yes at the front of the hotel is small river, and yes the linen in the bedrooms is a little tired & the breakfasts are limited, but the setting is gorgeous, the staff are friendly & helpful & I would return again in a flash. I stayed for 2 weeks in one of the small villa rooms - away from the main pool area and it was very private and very quiet. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day. I was a solo female traveller and I felt completely safe walking back to the hotel at night - yes it's a dark street but the locals are very friendly - felt much safer than leaving the clubs in Kuta & Legian in the early hours of the morning with none of the hassles! There is a good warung about a 5 minute walk from Villa Diana on your right as soon as you turn onto Jalan Nakula if you're looking for a quick cheap lunch and can't be bothered walking down to Jalan Legian or the beach. They don't speak much English but the menu is in English and the food is fresh. Once you're on Jln Legian, the large Bintang Supermarket is about 10 minutes walk away where you can stock up on anything that you may need. Lots of great restaurants along Jln Legian - the Japanese restaraunt just down from Bintang was superb - Cafe Seminyak also highly recommended - the best gado gado I've ever had! For a fantastic massage or facial, I recommend BodyWorks at Seminyak.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    91
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
34
117
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantirna, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We booked it as part of our honeymoon and was a terrible place to stay. It backed onto a river with stagnant sewage and not close to any town centres. When walked outside the room it backed onto 2 run down buildings with squatters and barbwire around it, human waste could be smelt. It also lacked basic facilities such as a kettle etc. Furthermore there was a wasps nest sitting on a chair on our balcony and a birds nest in the roofing squawking the whole time. When confronted reception about the above issues they were not helpful at all. We gave our travel agent a call and got out of there as soon as possible, Photos were extremely misleading!
Should not be 4 star!
I could go on but wont
TRAVELLERS BEWARE!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JossFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

This hotel is vey nice and the staff is very helpful. for the price it's a good hotel. it's not on the beach but across from a river with garbage. the beach is 15 min walk or 3 min by a $1.5 taxi ride. the single pane glass door to the room does not seal so bugs come in and all the noise around the pool will keep you up. the morning staff starts at 6AM and you will hear every plate and converstation coming from them. it's a nice place, all it needs is better doors on the rooms and someway to separate the kitchen/dining room during prep time so as to not disturb the guest.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucky-gabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

From the moment we set foot on the premises, we realized that what we got far exceeded our expectations. The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times. Willing to assist us with our needs and travel arrangements, all we needed to do was tell them what we wanted to do and they would organize it, driver and all.
The grounds were beautifully kept at all times, pool area a delight, with modern facilities. Our villa was wonderful, clean towels and sheets every day, would come back to our room as if for the first time entering. Free Wi-fi was a bonus.
The only thing we found not too pleasant was the smell that came from the shower drain but we rectified that by placing the waste bin over the drain. Second, the noise of traffic a bit much, even though not on a main road, the sound of bikes doesn't die down till about after midnight so bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Positives: spacious enough rooms and bathrooms (we were in one of the smaller villa rooms), private villa pool & lounge area, large pool is nice, wi-fi (lobby only), budget enough (approx $60 USD).

Negatives: a bit far from the beach (but you know this going into the booking since you've read up on this hotel, right?), towels and sheets are dingy-looking and have stains (likely from the rust from the outdoor shower's soap/towel rack), bugs coming in from the outdoor shower area.

Breakfasts are okay. You have a mix of local and Western food. Selection is minimal but decent enough. The best parts are the omelette station and the toast. We didn't have other meals here.

I think one improvement VD must make is to change their towels and sheets. They look a bit ragged, are frayed at the edges, and have this gray hue. The mosquito net canopy was stained in odd spots. Firm beds must be a norm since that's what we encountered at other Bali hotels but this particular bed was seriously uncomfortable. Maybe it was on its last legs.
The outdoor shower in the villas are kinda fun but you're so aware of the mosquitoes and the rust on the soap rack that you wish for a normal indoor shower.

Front desk staff was hit and miss. One very buff fellow was helpful when we had questions and needed cabs. One fellow (I wish I caught his name) kept trying to get us to use his friend's tour company/car service in a manner that just wasn't trustworthy.

Cab rides to the beach or into a more populated area of Legian was very inexpensive ($2-6 USD) and worth it. We ate at Lemon Grass (Thai), Ultimo (Italian), Mikonos (Greek) - all very good and decently priced.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minkycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed here for 10 days in June and had a great holiday, staff cound not do enough for us, they organised hire car and a car with a driver all much cheaper than going through any other hire business. Breaky was good you could eat as much as you like, they would cook omlette or scrambled eggs to order. Rooms were clean and spacious, my teenage kids loved all the tv channels you could get.. Yes it was a bit of a walk to the beach around 15mins, but a taxi was only a couple of dollars. Shops and restaurants a short walk maybe 5 or 10mins, It is a quiet tropical oasis to relax in away from the hustle and bustle of Legion.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croomefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

I cannot work out why some reviewers have had negative comments to make about this place. Yes its a 15 minute walk to the beach, but you would know that b4 you booked surely.
we stayed in a Villa with plunge pool, I think its about 4-5 years old, , very quiet (except for the peaceful sound of water falling into the pool outside the bedroom. if you really want to watch TV,there was a good selection of Foxtel type channels, plus we had a DVD player, in the downstairs living area ( good to check quality of DVDS purchased in the streets)
huge very comfy bed, big bathroom, serviced every day, .
Breakfast was adequate, good selection of western and Indonesian dishes. Was very busy when we were there and replenishing of food items took a little prompting but , -- its Bali.
It surpassed my expectations, staff were delightful, very helpful in ringing restaurants .
If you want somewhere peaceful to stay, this is your spot, if you want to be in party mode, and bar hopping stay elsewhere. A taxi to get to the heart of Legian was 10000 rup. ($1.30 aus ) .
Will I come back, you bet. Wi- Fi not available in rooms, but I am writing this as I sit beside the pool near the restarant.
(If you need a driver speak to Jeremy at reception and get Chris , we used him for a couple of day trips, , very knowledgeable, good english, and best of all he wont try to take you to places where they get kickbacks, )

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.3 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bali Legian Street
Ibis Bali Legian Street
#28 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#21 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.2 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#10 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Diana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Diana Bali

Property: Villa Diana Bali
Address: Jl. Kresna Uluntanjung | Jl. Nakula, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Diana Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Diana Bali Well located in the heart of Legian within 15 minutes walk to some of Bali is best restaurants, nightlife, the famous Seminyak shopping strip and the well known double six and blue ocean beach. Villa Diana Bali offers 25 rooms, consisting of 16 Guest rooms with a modern minimalist concept and 3 self contained 3 bedroom villas. Services : • Free pick - up service for minimum 3 night stay. • Pick - up and return airport transfer for minimum 5 night stay. • Welcome drink and fresh hand towel on arrival • Buffet American, continental or local daily breakfast served in the restaurant. • Daily housekeeping. • 24 hour security. • 24 hour Front Desk Staff. • Wi-fi available in the room. • safety box in each room. Facilities : • Main Swimming Pool. • Private Pool in the Villa. • Restaurant. • Mini Bar. • Wi - Fi. • Tour Desk. • Car and Motor Bike Rental. • Parking Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Diana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Diana Bali Hotel Legian
Hotel Diana Bali
Villa Diana Bali Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing