We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel”
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayang Maha Mertha
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 2 August 2011

In leaving from Lovina as my previous post related to. I am now at Sayang Maha Mertha in legian.

I am far from impressed with it except for the price for 8 nights stay.
Let me say now, im not hard to please nor do i complain but after 3 days and nights in Sayang Maha Mertha, I am about to give this hotel a very bad review.

On arrival <B>....we had to pay UPFRONT,......</B> my partner, who is old enough to be classed as elderly but still young enough to do full day tours etc, is <B>made to climb stairs that are made for giants I am sure.</B>

On top of this,<B> the walls are that thin and i joke not, we can actually hear couples and females and others either side of us having sex, orgasming, and talking without straining our ears</B> and it is that bad, I am about to complain to hotel management.

Add to those complaints the fact that <B>they are doing construction work on the section we are in and the noise starts about 630am every morning till about 6pm each night.</B>

Partner had <B>one dish of Shrimp cocktail and ended up with bali belly from the Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Restuarant</B>

on the 8th of august they turn 31yrs old, god forbid anyone should they
try any of the shrimp cocktails or buffet food, they may end up with bali belly as a result.

My opinion for what it counts isstay at another hotel and give the above a wide berth

Room Tip: Thin Walls and floors that you can hear couples having sex and ppl talking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leanne2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in many hotels in bali. But the sayang in kuta is by far the worst hotel ive ever been in!! the free breakfast is gross (2 toast with butter), the people are not even polite or nice! they made us change room because someone else requested it (after 3days in). We had to fight to get a nice room. all the room are gross , smell bad and they probably never heard of cleaning. they tell you dont reserved for moto we have plenty and when u come a noon they tell you with alot of attitude well we dont have some so its not our problem and walk away. If i had the power to shut down the hotel i would. Oh and the smell is gross too. plus there is construction at the hotel, and there is 2 big hotel constrcution next to it so u always wake up at 7 or earlier!!

I wouldnt recommand this hotel in a million years!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 weeks in June/ July. I booked the cheapest room with a fan, as sometime the aircon in haotels makes me sick. I didnt realise that those rooms ONLY had cold water! haha woops! Tried to swap rooms but the hotel was booked out. So were all the other hotels around the same area.
The room had an overwhelming stench of Napthalene... at least you know there wont be any moths/silverfish around.
The bar was CHEAP, only 13k for a small bintang i think. The room i booked was located directly above the reception/bar/pool table area and a few nights were a bit noisy.
The pool water was clean but the area round the pool was a bit dirty, some of the daybeds were broken.
I guess the hotel suits backpackers more than anyone else. If your on a tight budget then it would be great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smithy_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I had a stopover for one night on Bali, coming from Singapur late in the evening and going to Dili/Timor-Leste on the next day's morning.So I looked for a budget option to sleep and found Sayang Maha Mertha. I got a two-storied traditional hut, which was a nice surprise. The mosquito net have had some holes and the light was weak. But for less than 12 EUR I can't complain and the Sayang Maha Mertha fitted to my needs. If I will have another stopover in Bali I would book it again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

1) The room is very old, dirty and smelly, can see cockroach moving in the bathroom, near bed and under the desk.
2) No privacy. exposing from outside 2nd floor that we can only sleep without changing for pajamas.
3) A totally nightmare there. Strongly not recommend for family

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Nothing seems to be in order in this hotel. Run down hotel, filthy room, very dirty bathroom, very small beds with dirty linens, foul smell in the room with leaking wash basin. Very unsafe place with shady people and pimps roaming around; did not offered breakfast to us though it was complimentary as mentioned in the reservation voucher. We stayed there for a night only. Not at all recommended for a family accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calcutta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

They didn't get our online reservation on time, so they put us instead in a fan room (the only one left available). It was okay, I guess, because they did give us the difference from the original amount we paid for the nicer room, but their fan room was just so old and uninviting. The floor and about half of the wall was tiled using what seemed like big bathroom tiles, and although the linens were cleaned and changed everyday, they were so old, the white had turned into a yellowish/dark shade. Moving into the more expensive room the next day, we expected a bit more luxury, but although, yes, it was nicer, it still did not meet my expectations. Also, breakfast was bad with them just serving a piece of toast and tea/coffee. Their pool was okay though, and their beer cheaper than some convenient stores, so it's a nice place to load up/hang out. The staff was also quite ok. Some of them were likeable. Oh and btw, the WiFi is okay, but bring your own WiFi ready gadget, because they'll charge you if you use their computer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
2.3 mi away
Bali Ra Airport Hotel
Bali Ra Airport Hotel
#13 of 22 in Tuban
31 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balira Guest House
Balira Guest House
#176 of 253 in Kuta
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suka Beach Inn
Suka Beach Inn
#207 of 253 in Kuta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#76 of 87 in Legian
217 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
2.2 mi away
Next Tuban Hotel & Airy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Address: Jl. Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £8 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Zenrooms, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing