We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is a compliment”
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayang Maha Mertha
Ranked #82 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average is a compliment”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Yes it was cheap / average price for a traveller but the rooms were like sitting in a prison cell. There was no air con, the windows and balcony doors did not close, the toilet light was dim, one small mirror and the bed looked as if things were crawling in it. The pool was probally the nicest bit of the hotel. The included breakfast was a slice of toast...YUM. I would recommend stay at bakung sari instead, for the same money much better value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC12491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    60
    83
    51
    64
See reviews for
34
89
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

nice Balinese hotel spoilt by the staff, very noisy and unhealpful, breakfast is a battle, always something wrong, for the price if you can put up with bad staff, that run up and down the halls talking nonstop loudly,not doing their work properly, then go for it, a lot of rooms only have cold showers

Room Tip: potluck back area seemed the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived in Hotel Sayang Maha Mertha early Feb 2012. We had booked our room online because price wise it is so much cheaper then everywhere else. We got our room no problem, which to be fair was clean, and spacious.

Our main problem here is that their computer in the lobby is seriously comprimised and after doing some online bankng on it. We had $3,000AUS taken from our accounts. When we realised what happened we figured we would simply be able to call the banks freephone number and get it sorted out. However the hotel REFUSED to allow us to use their phones. even though the number was a freephone, specifically for international calls. even when we offered to pay they refused. we spent over $200.00 on phone credit trying to get this sorted because of how much it costs to ring from a mobile. (the freephone only works on landlines). When we asked where we could find a payphone we were told 'how would I know? I have a mobile, go look.' Tourist police in Legion were no use to us or the two people in the station with us who had just been robbed.

We had by this stage learned our hotel staff would be no help, but dangerously low on cash we decided to avail of the one free lunch offered, when you book 7 nights or more, only to be told that the internet lies. someone put that on the website by mistake.(In the hotels description).

Aside from the staff, the room was not cleaned once in 8 days even after we asked. The pool is nice but there is not enough sunbeds. The room itself is grand and there is a lot of bulding going on. hotel food is extremely basic and small portions (but most places do very small portions here). Restarunt is swarming in bugs.

Overall, The location is not great. its about a 30minute walk to Kuta, the rooms are nice and big but do not get cleaned, the pool is nice, but small, the staff are terrible and the price is cheap. After several months travelling this is my least favourite place I have stayed. A long walk to get anywhere. I would pay an extra bit to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

This place is good value for money. It is full with all sorts of travelers, but mostly backpackers. I came in with my girlfriend but have to admit she is a humble girl. ( do not try this on your first date :-). ) friendly and helpfull service but hey for $18 a night there are limits... :-). There is everything what a humble traveler needs. have to admit on this occasion the double bad is rather ordinery. cutting long story short. great place to stay if budged is the key word. If your middle name is " luxury" dont try to save money by staying here... :-).

One more important thing...

While you read this - the next comment
has no relation to this venue !!!
However you are near " dodgy money exchangers". Watch out for very good exchange rates. On couple of of occasions they double counted the money while trying to distract us. On the second count the man " vaporises " part of your money. in our case 25% of Aud $ 200. He was rather good at it. I think he could make money as magician. When we worked out what they do, they came with " commision excuse" .. Same thing happened in the next " hig exchange rate" place. so watch out, and enjoy Bali . We still do.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel used to be a beautiful place to stay with Balinese style rooms and airy bungalows set in a flower garden with a lot or orchids, frangipani trees, birds, they even kept chicken, ducks and rabbits. But since 2009 the owners are changing the architecture to the policy "as many cheap made tiny rooms as possible, green tiles replace plants". The Balinese spirit and architecture is now completely gone and the balconies and terraces face other balconies and terraces some within a distance of less than 2 meters. There are 4 times more rooms on the same piece of land as before 2009! The flowers and trees that are still left now are encased in concrete instead of soil which looks very unpleasant and sad.
We arrived after a very long journey from Austria at 6 a.m. and the very unfriendly receptionist told us that he does not know if there will be a room available after 11 a.m., he told us it is better we book online (for he would not give us any discount as long time returning customers anyway). We found his behavior detestable, but too tired to move to another place we sat down in front of the reception and booked the room online (!!!) and waited for 5 hours to get a key. The very noisy construction work now is continuing for 3 years in a row and the receptionist first wanted to give us a very small and dark room without washbasin or mosquito nets in the windows. One small window was facing a high wall in a distance of 20 cm/8", the other window was facing the place where workers were welding and working with cutoff wheels from 8 a.m. until sunset. This was supposed to be a "superior room" - the room type we had booked online 5 hours earlier. After a long discussion we got one of the old worn rooms that were not renewed or even painted in at least 20 years and smelled very strong after insecticides of all kinds, the bed was covered with old mattresses uneven like hammocks. After we got that room we discovered that this room was for sure vacant for days or weeks, it was not cleaned a couple of minutes or even hours before, for some reason the guy simply did not want to give us the room earlier to get some rest. The breakfast was also very poor compared to all Indonesian breakfasts we got in our lives. The pool too is not very inviting with old greyish and greenish tiles, the water looks milky. After the 2 nights we had booked we wanted to leave (to never return again) and the receptionist asked us to wait a little. I asked him why and he said he has to check if the room is OK. I asked him if he thinks - after we had come to Sayang Hotel so many times before - that we would steal the old towels or the bedsheets and he answered he has to make sure that we did not. I never experienced more ignorance and unfriendliness in Indonesia before. This hotel is the last place to feel welcome - it is not even cheaper than others hotels! Better you stay next door at Beneyasa II, or Puri Tanah Lot, or Kuta Bungalows, or the Komala Indah Bungalows - anywhere but not in Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silkebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We've stayed in this hotel four times in two years & will always return. Dewi and the staff are super friendly and will make your stay the best!

We have NEVER experienced bed bugs (people might wanna check it's not mozzie bites first!), always swim in the pool, which is clean and safe!, always eat the continental breakfast included in the room rate (& bought more to fill our tummies...it's only like $5 extra Aussie dollars to you stingy people out there!) always have lunch and dinner there too (they do the best satay in town!!!), always have hot, running, working showers and toilet, and always received best value for money in a delixe room with fridge, dvd player & air con....and excellent customer service.

I just don't get why people complain? If you don't like the construction, stay in the wap waps...maybe UBUD? If you dont like a "flashpackers" or budget motel, spend more money and go elsewhere! But then I don't think some people will ever be satisfied. Tut tut...

I Will recommend this place again, and again, and have bought other family members here to stay and they too, will return!

We love you guys at Sayang!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were more than happy with our £13 a night booking initially, rooms are basic but clean and tidy. The pool is nice and the service friendly. However after my first night I thought I'd picked up a few mosquito bites as has a few bite marks in the morning, five months travelling aisa in budget accomodation and haven't come across the dreaded bed bugs until now! Despite using as much repellent as I could get my hands on the second night was unbearable. Bed was absolutely crawling in bugs, nasty bites from head to toe.
The rest of the rooms my be okay but definitely avoid room 508!
There is also a little construction work nearby but we didn't find the noise disturbing.

Room Tip: Avoid room 508 , that's where the bed bugs are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.9 mi away
Next Tuban Hotel & Airy
0.8 mi away
Jepun Segara Guest house
Jepun Segara Guest house
#102 of 252 in Kuta
49 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#74 of 87 in Legian
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balira Guest House
Balira Guest House
#171 of 252 in Kuta
32 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Made Bali
Hotel Made Bali
#1 of 2 in Mengwi
2 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suka Beach Inn
Suka Beach Inn
#210 of 252 in Kuta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Property: Sayang Maha Mertha
Address: Jl. Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Zenrooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing