We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"So cheap being that good"”
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sayang Maha Mertha
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"So cheap being that good"”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed in a double standard room with fan. The room was very nice and clean. The common facilities were excellent (swimming pool, bar and restaurant). The price includes breakfast and it is very good. The restaurant is pretty cheap and the food is so good compared to other restaurants in town.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    60
    82
    51
    64
See reviews for
34
89
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DALY RIVER NT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stay at Sayang for up to a month 2 to 3 times a year for almost 3 years. We have always found all Sayang staff, friendly, helpful from our arrival to departure, if we have had any
Area which required attention we speak to reception who have the matter cleared up quickly.
We dine at the resturant any time, some times for each meal, always the food is tasty, sufficient, value for money. Breakfast keeps us going until lunch. Usually first day or 2 we have extra ie delicious scrambled orpoached eggs to give us a boost after our travel. Never had a bad meal, if any thing to whine about it is other inconsiderateaz guests who arrive late or early in the mornings & decide to re arrange their upstairs room, noise travels in most buildings, take ear plugs or give the wall a,bang, speak to the guest, maybe offer them a pair of thongs to quieter their walking. We would like guests who smoke to leave the Dining area, not good 2nd hand smoke especially in the mornings. Same with the motor bikes, don't ride them past rooms, noisy god dam machines, be considerate of others, we are all on a holiday & be respectful of guests and staff and especially courteous, we are visiting their lovely island, we have visited,many times in 20+ years.

Room Tip: Request where you would like to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DalyRiverNtWaytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

As a couple backpacking, we decided this would be a great place to crash for £9 a night, with breakfast! We were welcomed warmly and given something to drink to refresh after our journey, shown promptly to our room which was clean (mothball smell was a bit overwhelming but we just get rid of them). There was some construction going on across from our balcony which was a little noisy and meant chilling out by the pool was a bit frustrating. But it's clear that these guys are trying to make things better, service at breakfast was with a smile and the food was absolutely fine. Definitely more for the budget backpackers than the family's coming away for there annual 2 week holiday.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandria9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I was staying in Sayang Maha Mertha for three days with my boyfriend (we are 39yrs.). It was my first time in Indonesia, so I wanted to book beforehand. Most important for us was the good place; in the middle of everything but not in a noisy street and price which was 65$ for three nights an breakfast included; coffee, orange juice or fruits and toasts, not much, but enough to start your day. Rooms were quite old, but we had everything we needed; bed, toilet, shower and fan. We spend also couple of hours at the pool, very old, but clean and okay with own beers;) There were also possibility to book excursions around Bali and surroundings. Small mini market at the corner. I recommend this hotel to young people who do not expect much and are happy with the basics. By the way safety box at lobby, big bonus for that. We enjoyed our stay, nice neighbors; older couple who travel a lot and backpackers!!
The rooms in TripAdvisor looks much better than those really are!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninza1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Terrible cheap hotel the staff not very friendly the rooms a not clean nothing more then a place to clash if you are out pretty much all day. I don't recommend my self and I would not stay here again. Because really for the same price you can get better .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikaentchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Since we were only on transit in Bali and we only had a night to spend, we chose the cheapest option we could find.
You will be better off spending a few $ more and avoinding this hotel. Rooms were dark, staff not very friendly (which is rare in Bali) and the overall hotel just old and tiered.
But if you're a backpacker who likes to go party at night and just needs a room to crash at night, this might be sufficient...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Don't expect to land on a 5 star hotel as it is a real budget hotel - meaning poor equipment in the room, bad smell, a bathroom that you don't want to spend one hour in for sure and the staff isn't that friendly.

BUT the location is great as it 5min from the beach by walking. You can rent a scooter around (bargain !) and go some places like Legian Jalan, the main street very animated in the night.

The hotel has a swimming pool and free pool table so you can enjoy and connect with foreigners (mainly Aussies). Bed quality was ok.. Get ready to spend more than expected if you want to have a proper breakfast as the one included in the rate is not much... You can ask the hotel for the tours they ca organise but you can find cheaper transportation and make your one one in the street, bargaining with drivers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.9 mi away
Next Tuban Hotel & Airy
2.7 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#75 of 87 in Legian
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jepun Segara Guest house
Jepun Segara Guest house
#150 of 340 in Kuta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Made Bali
Hotel Made Bali
#2 of 2 in Mengwi
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#4 of 21 in Tuban
782 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#167 of 340 in Kuta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Property: Sayang Maha Mertha
Address: Jl. Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Zenrooms, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing