We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sparse but nice enough”
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayang Maha Mertha
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sparse but nice enough”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

For a low budget hotel in the middle of Kuta, it was a decent place. Rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Off the main streets so you don't have too much traffic noise. Fruit, toast, and tea breakfast included with more available. Free wifi in the common areas, worked fairly well (though it cut out from time to time, which I've experienced off and on throughout Bali.) Feels fairly safe for such a crowded area.
Downsides: No power points in the room. Area is messy and crowded (not the hotel's fault but matters when you're staying there). Rooms are small and a bit dim but still have enough light leakage that it can interfere with sleeping if you're sensitive to it.
Overall: Worked well enough for my wife and I to get into Bali, see a few things, and get our feet on the ground. Wouldn't go out of my way to stay here but if you don't need much it's a perfectly fine place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Our management and staff Sayang Maha Mertha to thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you during your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your suggestions and impressions to us as a reference to improve the quality and the quality of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    60
    81
    51
    63
See reviews for
34
88
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The shower flow even slowly than my pee.
The towel looks very dull and smelly.
B'fast is very poor,only two slices of toast.
And the customer service no friendly at all, its look like we owed them for life.
NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your comment on our core apologize for the dissatisfaction of our service to you and we will follow up on your comments and if you wish to come again to our hotel or also include other guests staying at the hotel we did not find the same problem as what that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Coron, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

If u want a luxory hotel than pay a luxory hotel price.. If, instead, you want a basic but clean place whit pool, wi fi and free breakfast (though not a king breakfast) , that's the place for u. There were no animals of any kind, and in Bali guys this is not obvious if u are on a budget, trust me. Then if staff is not the kindest i don't care, i want a place to stay, not new friends at the reception. Though with me they ve been all right, even got a discount on the fare they showed me, remember to bargain in south east asia, for everything. We got a room on the 2nd floor with balcony and wi fi worked in the room! What u want more for 5€ x person?
Ah pool is ok as well, some bottles around (left there by customers who could just walk to the bin) but is no big deal for me. Maybe i've just been more lucky than other people but to me its wortg the try

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FeTHErico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sayanghtl, Sales and Marketing at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear FeTHErico,

On behalf of Sayang Maha Mertha, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel.

We are budget hotel in Legian Kuta, it is indeed delighted to read that thoroughly enjoyed your holiday during your stay at Sayang Hotel. It was our pleasure to know that you were happy, even basic room but clean whit the pool, wi fi currently available at Restaurant and Swimming pool area, good to know that you able access it from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sayang Maha Mertha in the near future.

Best Regards,
Nyoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect much given that it was a budget option but even our modest expectations were not met. The room was clean but very sparse with no redeeming features. The pool was ok but the seating area around it was covered with empty bottles, plastic wrappers, cigarette butts, etc. Cancelled our second night and booked somewhere a little more expensive. Definitely worth it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovechildIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear LovechildIII
we apologize for the inconvenience you are disturbed by the presence of litter and butts rokak pelastik that is in the pool area. and we say thank you for your assessment. we will pay attention to what you convey, so that later on you and the other guests feel more comfortable in the pool so that your holiday more enjoyable.

Regards
Made Sumerta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed there for 1 night coz I arrived very late in Bali, but I was regretting choosing this hotel. The room was super hot! Impossible to sleep in, the fan wasn't doing anything, just mixing the hot air around! the bed was very old and uncomfortable, so as the pool, and the wifi very poor too.

Helpful?
1 Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you're looking for luxury then obviously this isn't the place for you, but it has everything you need, short walk from beach and restaurants. I would recommend paying a bit more as we did for a 'superior double with air con' it was still only $30 for both of us for the night and from reading other reviews, it was a good decision. We didn't eat at the hotel, the menu didn't look great and there was no need with restaurants close anyway. Rooms were well equipped, even had tv and DVD player. Just wish the bathroom and swimming pool were a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireStrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear ClaireStrat

Thank you for your review of this hotel , we will always pay attention to all the guests so that we always had the pleasure of staying here , we will maintain the cleanliness of the room as well as in the area of ​​the hotel and we give more attention to the Restaurants menu so that it looks more attractive . and we hope you will always remember and stay at this hotel ... if you are on holiday to Bali

Regards
Made Sumerta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my boyfriend, and we both found it very pleasent. the staff were very nice and friendly.. when we left for a week they kepy our big rucksacks in a room for us, this was very handy!! really good location, small walk to the beach, and cheap taxi ride to the town. Food was okay, got bored of it after a few days. Room was pretty good though. However the only thing would be to maybe clean the pool a bit more.. got a bit dirty some days!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.7 mi away
Bali Ra Airport Hotel
Bali Ra Airport Hotel
#12 of 21 in Tuban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#73 of 84 in Legian
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.8 mi away
Duo Legian Hotel
Duo Legian Hotel
#59 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#4 of 21 in Tuban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Next Tuban Hotel & Airy
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Property: Sayang Maha Mertha
Address: Jl. Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing