We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Champlung Mas Hotel
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at Champlung Mas Hotel in June last year one day my husband took $200 out of the safe put it on a pile of clothes in the wardrobe locked safe and went out for the day the wardrobe door was left open my husband forgot to pick up the money and it was still there when we returnedand the room had been cleaned we found everyone very honest and trustworthy

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank peta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    187
    138
    52
    91
See reviews for
171
170
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed at the old hotel twice before and found it great, but this trip was a nightmare, rooms were very basic with little or no facilities, such as teabags and water, no soap in the bathroom let alone a soapdish, water poured out of the downlight in the bathroom when it rained but no one was concerned, and the noise at night from the main pool and bar area was horrendous as was the noise early mornings from the pool. There is little or no information in the rooms about facilities in the hotel, we didn't know for a week that there was a rooftop pool and bar or an area up top for massages and nails etc.WiFi coverage is very minimal. It seems so many people had master keys of the rooms and would let anyone into a room whether they knew them or not. To cap it all off, when I reached Perth Airport and went to my wallet, which was kept in the room safe the whole time, I discovered it was empty, and there was $1,000 in there and it could only have been taken from the in room safe as I only ever took it out to take out small amounts of money to change to Rupiah, so all in all, not happy, and I know they can access the safe even with codes in as they had to open it when we booked in as it was still locked from the previous tenant. I searched my onboard bags very carefully but the money wasn't there, so it could only have disappeared at the hotel. Not even sure if I want to go back to Bali again after this trip even though I have been there many times and have had no problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

just returned from holiday in bali and unfortunatley stayed at champlung mas legion dont get me wrong there was people there who seemed to be enjoying the less than perfect surrounds but a lot of them had one to many bintangs the rooms were generally grubby and in need of a good clean and dont count on getting an unbroken nights sleep 24 hour pool and people coming back from clubs and pubs take care of that wi fi is not available in your room but if you go out on the bacony there it is as slow as it is i could go on bit im limited in the amount of words i can use so please do your self a favour and avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Warilla, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My family and myself stayed in the old part of the hotel 5 years ago although the rooms were old they were clean and tidy.
Stayed in the new section this October and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room for half the price we normally pay for our accommodation when in Bali.
Good parts
The rooms they were very spacious with the bathroom being large with a bath and separate shower. The employees were very friendly and willing to help if required. The bar staff and kitchen were also very good. The pool on the ground floor was very refreshing and not at all warm as most pools are in Bali
The security staff were very good as they would chase people out of the new section pool after closing 10 pm and send them into the old section were the 24hr bar was located to make all of the noise they wanted without disturbing the other guests.

Not so good parts.
There was a lack of fresh pool towels every day and you had to walk all the way over to the old section of the hotel to get one if there were any available. The workmanship on the building and in the rooms was a little slap happy but who cares when you are only paying $50 aussie a night for a ground floor pool side room. The drain in the bathroom was rank when we arrived as the waste had not been filled with water. After it was filled the bathroom was fine with no drain smell present. The central location of the hotel with a 5 min walk to legian and a ten minute walk to kuta was also a plus.
Overall the Champlung Mas hotel is really good value for money.

Room Tip: Grab a ground floor pool room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJJordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

For $30 a night this hotel is fantastic value for money.
Make sure you book online! The price is significantly lower than booking at the check-in desk. We used asiarooms.

Our room in the old part was pleasantly surprising. The room was huge, great storage space, the TV had good channels, and the aircon was very effective. + there is a fridge in one of the cabinets (which we didn’t discover until we were leaving ☹)

Downfalls =the bathrooms were a little dirty (but I have seen much worse in budget accommodation around Bali). It is a pity they don’t do room service at breakfast time. I <3 eating breakfast in bed when on holidays. We got advised to join the buffet, which was very average. Shriveled, tough bacon and eggs, and a picked over buffet was not worth the 50.000rp. Get breakfast elsewhere!!!!

On the last night we had people stay next to our room. Due to the doorway separating our rooms we could smell the cigarette smoke from their room. Also the walls/door is paper-thin. So expect to hear your neighbors if you have any,

The overall experience was great. The staff were fantastic, and most days we had the roof top pool to ourselves. Great for travelers on a budget.

Room Tip: Get a room near the gardens to avoid the noise coming from the 24hr pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lana3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

i have stayed in the old part,the aircon wont work properly and then again in the new building and yet the only things that keeps me comming back not to stay in the hotel but to visit is the john at the bar. The hotel needs better cleaners and staff to control people that think late nights and early mornings are ok for the pool ,we are talking 1-2am and 5-6am, this is not a 5 star hotel but some control would be good,i have had better breakfasts.
If you could clone John with his smile and love of his job, Champlung you would get it right

Room Tip: stay on ground floor and away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kbarrow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Situated just down the lane off Melasti Street on the corner of Mozzarellas, Champlung Mas is in a great location. 5 minutes walk to the beach one way and 10 minutes the other down to Poppies I & II and then round the corner from Garlic Lane and Jalan Legian. Backing onto Alum KulKul directly on the beach.

This property has been split in 2 - half of the old hotel has been demolished and rebuilt new in 2012/13. Modern, tidy, clean, lovely gardens, pool and new additional roof top pool and bar.

Then there is the old side which we stayed in - single villas with their own walled and gated front garden, very large rooms, new airconditioning but otherwise pretty old. You come into your own little world, shut the gate and you are home on your own little front verandah on your own sunlounge. The rooms are very large, not modern but very clean and tidy. The bathrooms are very old with not even a power point for a hair dryer but when in Bali who cares. This side also has its own pool with swim up bar. Still old and in desperate need of some love but clean and tidy.

We stayed 10 days and have booked again next year. We are staying in the old side again as this was the quietest side as everyone wants new. Breakfast was basic but freshly cooked and served by friendly staff.

J

Room Tip: definitely ground floor in a bungalow room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Serela Legian Hotel
Serela Legian Hotel
#47 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel & Spa
The Sun Hotel & Spa
#36 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bali Legian Street
Ibis Bali Legian Street
#29 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosani Hotel
Rosani Hotel
#65 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Mas Hotel

Property: Champlung Mas Hotel
Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Mas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champlung Mas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champlung Mas Legian
Champlung Mas Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing