We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and spacious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Damai
Ranked #14 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and spacious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Puri Damai in Legian. Very clean, comfortable and spacious 2 bedroom apartment with huge kitchen, air-conditioned tv room. Great bathrooms with excellent showers. Nice pool and surrounding area to relax after shopping in Legian/Seminyak. Good value and good location, close to Legian beach, bars and restaurants. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Not 5 star by any means but a good choice if you're looking for affordable and comfortable accommodation in the Legian area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanthini41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, lets start by saying that the room was nice, clean and had a big porch with fridge and kitchen, the pool was nice as was the staff and location (but very hard to find by car). The first night we had a top floor room and it was really nice we loved the porch area, it was very private. The problems occured when a storm hit and the power went out. The power was out all knight and although the hotel generator kicked on it does not power the A/C and the generator soon stopped working as well. So it was a very very hot night. The next day after the power came back on our rooms A/C broke and we had to be moved to another room. The second room was down stairs and much less private although it was nice as well. ( if you are able to get a second floor room, it was better). The second night there was another storm and again the power went out and again another hot night with no A/C.
I don't know how often this happens, but it is something to think about.
We really did like this hotel and wish that we could have enjoyed our stay with power.

Nothing to do with the hotel but just a quick note about how filthy the beaches are, no joke I had garbage that included female sanitary products wash up on my legs at the beach and all the beaches from Kuta to Seminyak were dirty like this.
Although there are no beaches in Ubud if you are visiting Bali, it is a much much nicer area to visit.
Thailands beaches were better if you are looking for the beach.

Room Tip: second floor rooms much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euroa, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Each time we arrive at Puri Damai, it feels like we have come home.
The staff here are absolutely wonderful, Ayu and Gus De plus the whole team treat us like family each time we return. We have been staying here for 4 years now, and still love the place. With only around 12 rooms it is a real sanctuary for those that don't want he impersonal, could be anywhere in the world resort style accommodation. We stay in the 2 bedroom apartment, usually number 9, and it has all the facilities we need. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, lounge with TV and DVD and outdoor sitting area with dining area and lounge etc.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and we often take off for overnight stays elsewhere in Bali, and know we can safely leave all our gear including surfboard etc.
It is so close to Blue Ocean beach, and Double 6 with many restaurants etc. Also a short walk to Jl Legian and the boutique shopping etc. a great base.
The only let down this year was the state of the local beach, filthy water, big yellow brown bubbles looking like raw sewerage! This has made us re think staying in this area as if you can't use the beach, what's the point to a degree?
Don't let this put you off Puri Damai, it really is a beautiful little losmen, and my favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 is next to the pool, can be a bit noisier, but gets more light than room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquib70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I booked here knowing it was a quiet boutique hotel. It didn't disappoint.
We stayed in apartment 6 closest to the pool which was a 2 bedroom. If I was paying $200 a night I could get picky about some marks on the ceiling in my bathroom and my bedroom curtains missing some curtain rings, but seriously, everything else outweighs these minor details.
The sheer space of these apartments is fantastic and although there are only plants separating you from the rest of the hotel on the lower floor, surprisingly the noise doesn't travel. I never found we were listening to anyone's conversations from other apartments, just occasionally you would hear their kettles whistling.

The fountain at the pool is turned on 8am which sounded like it was pouring with rain outside from one of our rooms. The door lock on one of the bedrooms broke on day one and it was totally replaced by the time we got home that afternoon.

Reception is quick, ever so helpful and speak good English.
The air con in the bedrooms and entertainment room was fantastic after a long day out. Both bedrooms have a shower with one overhanging the bath.

Eden Green Spa across the road is excellent! Turn left down Werkudara and in minutes you're at great eating spots like Waroeng Asia and the Italian Restaurant across the road sells Illy Coffee!

Turn right down Werkudara and you will find a series of little shops. If you keep following this street around the bend and take your first right (down Rum Jungle) you will find the Permata bank ATM on the right. You can get 3,000,000Rp out at a time here. (saves huge transaction fees) Its about a 5 min walk.

I'd love to take my family back, but unfortunately they don't book children 2-15.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs 1 BR apartment closest to reception/pool. I felt like I was invading their pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have stayed at Puri damai twice now, and would probably book again. Firstly, the hotel is old, but in a "grand" way it was one of bali's first boutique losmans. Now we'd call it a small boutique hotel. It has 12 aparments only (8 one bedroom, and 4 two bedrooms) I have stayed in both room types. The 2 bedroom apartments are so spacious, see photos.Both bedrooms are upstairs, one with a large balcony and chairs. The bathroom is also upstairs.The kitchen is downstairs, eating area with table and dining chairs, then relaxing area with arm chairs and coffee table, plus a day bed with comfy pillows. Also downstars, there is a seperate enterntainment room, with large flat screen TV dvd and lounge ! The space you have is an absolute luxury. On my second stay, there was 4 of us (price worked out to only $30 AU per person per night) and it really felt like we had our own house, there was just so much room. (also there is an extra loo downstairs)
The staff are really friendly and helpful, (it is a small staff and they seem to really take pride in thier work). Pool area is smallish but we mostly had it to ourselves , so it was perfect....relaxing and quiet.
Location is ideal (Workadaru.. just off Double six) one street back from the beach. It takes about 4 mins to walk the all the great resturants along the front (Tekkor, Blue ocean, lanai, Zanzibar). You can also leave the apartment and be at Cocoon for sunset drinx in 2 mins.We walked most days into Seminyak for shopping.
There is a little handy convenience store directly opposite the Puri Damai for your soft drinx etc Also (as some one else mentioned, the spa opposite is really lovely) Eden spa...excellent massages, pedicures and manicures..all well priced (ie rediculously cheap) it is clean, with tasteful decor .If you don't want a big hotel and love some thing small and authentic, well-run, great location, heaps of space, serviced daily, Puri damai is it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hneesh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have been in Puri Damai almost since the opening , I've been in a double unit first, than in the big suite, and also tried the single unit upstairs and downstairs.........and I was feeling confortable anywhere !!

I really feel home every time that I'm in Puri Damai, central but quite , near to Kuta Beach
I normally stay one month for business, and I really love the place !!

Livia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiviaRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed 4 nights in July, paid £44 sterling per night and was extremely impressed with our stay. Room was big, clean and staff were friendly. For 2 days we had the pool area all to ourselves and it was very quiet which was nice. Reception staff always on hand to answer any questions we had and helped us book a tour to Jimbaren. Stocked up on fruit and drinks from supermarket a few streets away which was really handy and saved us money. There was adequate cooking/storage facilities in the open plan kitchen. Our room was immediatley overlooking pool and close to reception/main road and i felt quite vulnerable at night, it didnt seem very secure so didnt sleep well whilst there (but this is just me). Maybe for added security ask for 1st floor room?

Used the beauty place Eden across the road and it was great, 50,000rp for massage, girls were nice. We thought Legian was an ok place to be based but wouldnt go back again. Streets were really busy - mo peds up and down pavements etc and the nightlife around puri damai wasnt great (very quiet) but maybe because we were there mid week? We got a taxi into Seminyak one night and preferred this to Legain or Kuta.

Overall i would definitely recommend this place for the value for money and was very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: ask for room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#33 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#22 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananta Legian Hotel
Ananta Legian Hotel
#31 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Damai

Property: Puri Damai
Address: Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Puri Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Damai Hotel Legian
Puri Damai Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing