We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hideaway”
Review of Puri Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Damai
Ranked #16 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil hideaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned from our second stay at Puri Damai and in the four years since visiting Bali we were delighted to find this property has remained a tranquil hideaway nestled on the border or Legian and Seminyak. Close to shopping, restaurants and the beach, the location is ideal for our needs. Both Gus De and Ayu Giri ensure guests are comfortable and well looked after. Puri Damai thankfully does not cater for loud, noisy guests. It is well suited for couples or families that want a peaceful retreat from the frenetic world located outside its doors. To sum up our experience - Peace. It does not mean to be in a place with no noise, trouble or hard work, but to be in the midst of all these things and still be calm in your heart. We will be back again, sooner rather than later.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chynablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed for 5 nights with husband and 3 teenagers and loved our 2 bedroom massive apartment.We were absolutely amazed when we arrived and couldn't believe we had the whole 2 storey building that was all for us !! Downstairs is an airconditioned media room,separate large kitchen with a huge fridge (which we mainly used for drinks) and a small bathroom with a large undercover living area with a table and chairs.Upstairs are 2 lovely large bedrooms,each with ample storage and 2 bathrooms with another huge covered area with another table/chairs and a daybed.
Puri Damai is in a great location,just off Double 6 and only a short walk to the beach.Lots of spa's,shops and markets are right at the doorstep.The gardens are lovely and little squirrels play amongst the frangipani trees.The pool is lovely and refreshing and because there is no restaurant or bar,you can buy your drinks across the road and enjoy them by the pool.All in all,a wonderful small,quiet,peaceful oasis and great value for money !!!!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a folding bed in the second bedroom to accomodate 3 teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in January 2014. Was our first stay at this hotel and are already planning a return after just one day at home. Over the 20 years we have been travelling to Bali, this is one of the best finds. We love everyhting about this hotel. It's small (around 12 rooms), the location is great, the rooms adequately equipped and with a great air con in the bedroom. The kitchen is handy and with a larger fridge rather than the standard bar size. The grounds and pool are meticulously maintained. The staff were terrific and nothing was too much trouble for them. They will even greet you as you return after a day out and help you with taking your shopping to your room. We had a medical drama while there and they summoned an ambulance and helped us enormously at midnight with getting help. Great stay and we will definitely return. Wendy (Melbourne, Australia)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get a great cooling breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gooram Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at Puri Damai on our annual trips to Bali for many many years now. Despite some recent detractors, we still love this place as our second home. It's is so wonderful to be welcomed back by Ayu, Gusde and all the staff each time we stay. We have tried some other places in Bali for a few nights but nothing compares in our eyes.
The gardens are beautiful, the rooms have everything that we want, but most of all it is the feeling that we have come home that keeps us coming back. It is in a perfect position, close to the beach and many restaurants, and an easy motorbike ride to the top eateries in Bali as well. After trying 2 other highly rated villa style accommodations on this trip before coming back here, we have now vowed never to bother trying anywhere else in Legian / Seminyak. Simply nothing compares to Puri Damai.
Thanks team for another great stay, and see you in August!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Melbourne Victoria Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our third stay at Puri Damai, and like most guests who stay here, we have booked again for next year. This time we had half a dozen "schoolies", all boys, but must say that their behaviour was excellent, and did not detract from our stay at all. We were at the hotel for a month, and can only repeat what other reviewers have said about the ambience, and the great staff. Any problems we encountered were swiftly and cheerfully dealt with, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking a place which is ideally situated, and has a quiet restful atmosphere, (but not too many as we still need room for us !!).

Room Tip: All good, if getting on in years, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at Puri Damai for 4 weeks in August this year. This is the 3rd year we have done so and we have rebooked again for next year. Why do we keep returning? The reason is simple.

We love the quiet, peaceful atmosphere, delightful owner and friendly staff, beautiful gardens and rustic accommodation and the location is perfect, on the border of Seminyak and Legian. Everybody goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

Apartments have both air conditioning and ceiling fans,1 or 2 bedrooms and are serviced daily. All are spacious and open plan with large dining and sitting area overlooking the colourful tropical garden.The well equipped kitchen in our apartment has everything we need if we choose to self cater, however, there are so many wonderful restaurants right on our doorstep we usually dine out. The pool is kept pristine and is very welcome after a day spent shopping, sightseeing etc. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away down a little lane to the right of Puri Damai.

We love to walk down to the beach and have breakfast at Zanzibar. Try the American Breakfast. Keeps you fuelled for the day and only costs around $5AUD. There is a wonderful day spa (Eden Green) directly opposite Puri Damai, where you can have a massage, manicure, pedicure or hair treatment at very low cost. Supermarket and shops are all within easy walking distance.

I note that a previous reviewer found noisy Australians had taken over during their stay. I think that they were just unlucky, as we have never found this to be the case during our stays, and our visit this year was after theirs. In fact we have met some lovely people and forged friendships. Puri Damai ticks all the boxes for us and is our Balinese home away from home.

Heather and Peter

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luculia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Puri Damai for 11 nights in June. This was my first stay here and I fear that it has spoilt me for any other accommodation options in Bali. I could find no fault ; big living area, a third toilet , access to free wifi, comfortable beds and meticulously cleaned daily by staff who are polite , friendly and for whom nothing is any trouble.The Puri Damai is ideally located near the beach, good restaurants, laundry and shops.It is a peaceful oasis.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#49 of 340 in Kuta
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Damai

Property: Puri Damai
Address: Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Puri Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Damai Hotel Legian
Puri Damai Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing