We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Suprisingly a Pleasant and Relaxing Stay

Knowing it was a lower star hotel I was a bit dubious in staying however, the staff and the hotel grounds made it absolutely lovely to stay in.

When we first checked in we were informed that the pool was being renovated and wouldnt be ready for a couple of days, we werent informed of this through the travel agent so it was a bit disappointing but due to this they placed us in a superior room.

The rooms were spacious and always clean and comfortable. Great air conditioning too! Friendly staff always made it pleasant to walk through the grounds.

When the pool was up and running we had full use of the pool bar facilities and it was fantastic!! Great atmosphere and the food from the restaurant was up to standards too!!

All in All ... it was a great experience especially since it was my first time over in Bali and once again the staff were always happy and smiling and willing to assist whereever possible!


:)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nelli_Elli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    92
    40
    22
    28
See reviews for
46
60
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This was the last minute booking I made but they had rooms on the Easter weekend. The price was a lot lesser than most hotels in the vicinity of Legian beach in Kuta. The hotel is on the side lane from the main road leading to the beach, which is good because you dont want to hear the music and noise from nearby restaurants when you want to retire back to your room. The rooms are little cottages, have AC, spacious room and spacious bathroom. The place also has a pool, pool bar and wifi like any big resort and it is 2 minutes walk from the beach. What else can you ask for? I am surprised the hotel is not so popular in terms of booking. Seems like people want high priced rooms to believe the room is good. I needed to cancel 2 nights booking and head back home for an emergency and the hotel manager agreed and spoke to the booking agency to refund also. I am more than happy to recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Look for a hotel on the side lanes to get great vs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed here twice over 12 months...to many people handling room bookings so you cant be secure in that you will get the room you thought you were paying for from home! Crappy way to start a holiday being put in run down rooms and having to haggle a price again for the better rooms you stayed in last time! Yes pool etc is too run down now and nobody else seems to have mentioned on these reviews my main reason for not returning there is THE CATS everywhere and everything smells of cat urine...including supposedly clean towels that appear on cottage porch in mornings. The pool lounges and surrounds stunk of it...I bought a heap of my own towels! Until this place gets a complete upgrade I will give it a miss....ps FOOTNOTE Great private tour operater in Bali for personalised tours WHATEVER Spirit of Bali Made Black +6281338056979 great air con vans and Made speaks great English and a great guy ...tell him Belinda from West Oz recommended!)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellbirdmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed at GVC for the 3rd time and even though there were some problems, in that some of our party couldn't get the rooms that were booked until after a couple of days, manager said they were overbooked but to us it seemed more like one big group whose organiser was telling the staff how they could allocate rooms, even got to the stage that when we got our rooms we were asked not to let on to "so and so" that they gave us the rooms!!!! Seems that if you come with a large group and make enough noise you can intimidate them into overlooking bookings that have been made much earlier - think this is more the owner's fault than the staff in my opinion.
All this aside we managed to get our rooms (superior) and enjoyed our stay, couple of minor complaints - sure the pool furniture really does need to be replaced - it is exactly the same ones that were there for my first stay 7 years ago and now in disrepair - but I have heard it is on the agenda to be done as well as the old pool refurbished. The pool is too deep for most people unless you hang around the steps near the pool bar and get in the way of other people (which one group did continually) but other than this it is fine and after all you are paying budget rates (we did anyway) for what is advertised as a fairly basic hotel in a great location.
The Superior rooms were fine, everything worked and we were very comfortable and the Deluxe are even better, they don't have tea & coffee facs but we took our own anyway. Breakfast is not buffet but cooked when you order it and is perfectly adequate.
Front office staff, Putu, Desi, Nyoman and the rest are always willing to help if they can, in fact Putu apologised to us almost everyday for the problems in the beginning.
New Sports Bar is great and well patronised and the new Spa is terrific, Tina gives the best foot massage I have ever had.
Would we stay again, yes if we can get the same or similar rate we will, love the location so central to everything and after all your room is only to sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KazAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We picked this hotel due to location as it was near the beach & to other accomodation that some other family was staying. We picked it out of a brochure that the travel agent showed us, who ensured us that it met certain standards. We didn't want anything really fancy but something clean, basic & relaxing. At all times the staff were friendly. However, the place is in such disrepair - the pool area is in badly need attention- tiles falling off the pool, pool furniture falling apart & no pool towels unless you get there at 6:30 am! The rooms are another story! We booked 2x std rooms- what a shock! Dirty painted cement floors, deteriorating & smelly bathrooms, rusting refridgerators & faulty light fittings. We asked to upgrade, but had to wait till the next evening until there were delux rooms available. Until then, we had to put up with the less than ideal conditions, plus the Karoke (till 3am) with the next door sports bar, & the loud rooster inbetween. The delux rooms were much improved, & are apparently the newer part of the establishment, but they too are starting to need maintenance. This place needs a complete overhaul before we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The hotel did not have the rooms we paid for,despite several checks to see if there was a priblem. The manager lied to us and our travel companions. The pool was never cleaned the place is a disgrace. If you want to avoid Bali Belly do not eat the food from that kitchen!. The pool furniture needs burning, no pool towels available by 9am each day. The breakfast staff were unable to undersand what we wanted so even though we had paid we went else where to eat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peach49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We have stayed at Garden View 3 times now and this time was really bad. We were not able to get the rooms we had booked and paid for, our friends included ,despite checking a week before and told that every thing was organised. The pool area is in a mess. The chairs and lounges are falling apart ,tiles off the pool . We were told that everyone still loves us and still comes so it did not matter that the place was falling apart. Every day we saw people being told that their rooms were not available , we just smiled and thought we would NEVER come here again. The staff were friendly and they were doing their best. We found much nicer places for a cheaper rate not far from the same area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldameyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#59 of 84 in Legian
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#62 of 84 in Legian
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#28 of 84 in Legian
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Property: Garden View Resort
Address: Jl. Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing