We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Legian, Bali”
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Garden View Cottages are located on JL Padma Utara, just behind the Padma Hotel. It is ideally located only 200 meteres from the beach and within walking distance of the Kuta entertainment strip and the night life in Seminyak.

The cottages themselves are really no more than three star, however the price per night offers very good value for money if you are not seeking the little luxiaries that make up 4-5 star hotels. You do however get 5 star friendly service from all staff, who are always offering a welcoming smile whether you are a first time traveller or a frequent visitor to the hotel, which I am.

The pool is a great place to relax and get a tan whilst the pool bar is a good meeting place/rendeavoux point to catch with friends and have a cold (very cold) Bintang or cocktail.

Out front is the "Y" Sports Bar with as many TV's as there are sports. You can even have punt.

And then there is the Pavone restuarant with a good menue at very reasonable prices.

In summary, if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to chill whilst still being close to all the shops and party spots that is value for money in Legian, the Garden View Cottages is the ideal spot.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are the best option - roomy but not expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

This little treasure is nestled in the heart of Legian. It's a narrow property which runs back from the busy Jalan Padma Utari, which is quite noisy. Because of the way the hotel is laid out, though, the rooms are very quiet and away from the noise (bars, restaurant, reception and the pool being closest to the street). The rooms are large and very clean. Staff are friendly, affable and helpful. Menu at the hotel is basic, but there's no need to worry - adjacent, across the street and around the corner are dozens of excellent eating houses, shops, grocery stores, etc, etc. ATMs are close by and Wi Fi is available (in varying degrees) at several nearby places and (sometimes) in the restaurant of the hotel. Curiously, there are phones in the rooms, but they don't work (why they're not removed is a mystery, but it adds to the experience). The towels are a little threadbare but clean. Pool towels (which are of better quality) are available at the pool. If you're fussy about towels, take your own. The beach is less than three (slow) minutes' walk from the hotel. This place is ideal for families with young children, singles or couples. It is very reasonably priced and very central. At this time of year (Christmas-New Year), Bali bulks out with tourists from Java who bring their own vehicles so the traffic becomes chaotic and regularly gridlocked. It's best to avoid transport of any kind if you can, so the Garden View is perfect because it is within easy walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: No fitness centre; no spa. Big pool. 'Spa' (as in beauty parlour) adjacent and across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northenexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

we have stayed here five times previously and will be back march 2013.the staff are very friendly
the rooms clean tidy have stayed in other resorts but this is by far the most friendly. i would not stay any other place again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for 16 nights as I had been booked elsewhere with similar price around the corner and stayed 1 night and was so disgusted I went looking for something else.
This place was awesome especially for the price...There were so many people staying that were return visitors that had been coming for years and won't stay anywhere else... And I'm now a convert too...
Excellent position - close to beach,Garlic lane shopping,all priced restaurants,ATM,laundry - and they have their own pub/spots bar - with a great Balinese manager
The staff were amazing and really friendly, breakfast was simple but great when included in price - food was cheap so you could just kick back in the pool for the day and have lunch there with happy hour between 3 & 5 daily.
The pool is never closed and was always clean.
We stayed in the superior room which was like our own ice cold air conditioned cabin with outdoor furniture set. Bathrooms are huge and relatively new. Sheets and towels changed daily. Everything worked well. No wifi in rooms but free at pool and restaurant
I looked at the Deluxe rooms and they were just bigger but same quality - great for 3 ppl
One small complaint was lack of electrical plugs so take double adaptors.

I was honestly really impressed with this hotel and can't wait to return. In fact I'm hesitant to tell everyone about this little gem as I'm scared it will be always booked out...l but have to give credit where it's due...

Well done!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Solodanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We have been to Bali 6 times and have stayed at GVC 4 of those times and found the whole experience there terrific. Out of the 4times we have stayed there we have only encountered two problems one of which was my fault anyway. The staff have always been friendly and you could not find a hotel in a better location. On one occasion I organised with the hotel staff to find some flowers for my wife and they came back with the biggest bunch of beautiful flowers. Any time we have needed anything we have always been to find someone to get what we need at the drop of a hat. The rooms may be a little old but they are always cleaned and serviced daily. The staff are always working on the gardens to keep the hiotel in a tidy state. If we wanted 5 star then we could always stay somewhere else but we find the GVC exactly what we need to have an excellent holiday. BUT now we find with all the negative comments from a small group of people no travel agents will book the hotel for you, I guess that's one way of putting people out of a job and continuing to add to the collapse of one of the best located hotels in Bali. Also we have never had a problem with the staff been rude or lazy, the only real issue is the bloody rooster that lives next door. My wife and myself a well as my sisters in laws family will always stay at Garden View Cottages. End of story.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

For the price, this is dollar for dollar the best place I have stayed. Honestly it's not anywhere near 5 star and the price reflects it, but for the price you do pay, it's top notch.

PRO'S

- cheap at $50 and even less per night.
- clean spacious villas
- nice pool with swim up bar
- nice well kept gardens.
- cheap restaurant / room service.
- friendly staff.
- awesum location to shops / food ect

CON'S

- a little noisy from the pub out the front.
- breakfast very basic, but I guess sufficient for the price.

That's it. We really enjoyed our stay and would 100% return for a no frills / cheap holiday. We accidentally ended up here after re-locating from another hotel but we are now hooked. Luckily for us there weren't too many drunk Aussies about which made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We booked a deluxe room about two months ahead of time, stopped by the front desk to confirm about a week before our check-in and were told everything is good and will be ready on check-in day. On our scheduled day to check in we arrived at noon and were told our room would not be ready until 6:30 that evening and we were given a temporary room to wait in until someone came to move us to our room that we had booked. We sat in that tiny little room that didn't even have towels or toilet paper for six and a half hours before approaching the front desk to see when our room would be ready only to be told that they had given our room away by an extremely rude little man who seemed completely uninterested in the fact that we had booked ahead and were not happy, I demanded that he call his boss and fix the situation and all they could come up with was that they would not charge us the higher rate for the deluxe room we didn't get but would instead charge us the the standard price for the standard room they had us in already(how generous). Thoroughly disgusted we went next door to the Three Brothers Inn and they took great care of us and gave us a better room at a lower price. In closing I want to say that this was not my first trip to Bali (8 trips in 8 yrs and my mother whom I was travelling with has made 15trips in 10yrs) and we have stayed in many different hotels on this beautiful island, and this was the worst service I have experienced anywhere in any of my trips here or anywhere for that matter. Save yourself the hassle and just go to any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motorbiketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#74 of 87 in Legian
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#64 of 87 in Legian
361 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Losari Hotel & Villas
Losari Hotel & Villas
#209 of 251 in Kuta
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kusnadi Hotel
Kusnadi Hotel
#46 of 87 in Legian
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Address: Jl. Padma 41 | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: £21 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing