We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden View Resort
Nearby Hotels
FuramaXclusive Ocean Beach(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magani Hotel and Spa(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The ONE Legian(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legian Beach Hotel(Legian)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astagina Resort Villa and Spa(Legian)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
24
92
40
25
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
92
40
25
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomnewer roomsswim up baracross the roadconstruction happeningthe cottagesbudget hotelsheets and towelslegian marketsnice poollots of shopsshort walk to the beachdefinitely stay here againgreat resort
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Garden View Cottages are located on JL Padma Utara, just behind the Padma Hotel. It is ideally located only 200 meteres from the beach and within walking distance of the Kuta entertainment strip and the night life in Seminyak.

The cottages themselves are really no more than three star, however the price per night offers very good value for money if you are not seeking the little luxiaries that make up 4-5 star hotels. You do however get 5 star friendly service from all staff, who are always offering a welcoming smile whether you are a first time traveller or a frequent visitor to the hotel, which I am.

The pool is a great place to relax and get a tan whilst the pool bar is a good meeting place/rendeavoux point to catch with friends and have a cold (very cold) Bintang or cocktail.

Out front is the "Y" Sports Bar with as many TV's as there are sports. You can even have punt.

And then there is the Pavone restuarant with a good menue at very reasonable prices.

In summary, if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to chill whilst still being close to all the shops and party spots that is value for money in Legian, the Garden View Cottages is the ideal spot.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are the best option - roomy but not expensive
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This little treasure is nestled in the heart of Legian. It's a narrow property which runs back from the busy Jalan Padma Utari, which is quite noisy. Because of the way the hotel is laid out, though, the rooms are very quiet and away from the noise (bars, restaurant, reception and the pool being closest to the street). The rooms are large and very clean. Staff are friendly, affable and helpful. Menu at the hotel is basic, but there's no need to worry - adjacent, across the street and around the corner are dozens of excellent eating houses, shops, grocery stores, etc, etc. ATMs are close by and Wi Fi is available (in varying degrees) at several nearby places and (sometimes) in the restaurant of the hotel. Curiously, there are phones in the rooms, but they don't work (why they're not removed is a mystery, but it adds to the experience). The towels are a little threadbare but clean. Pool towels (which are of better quality) are available at the pool. If you're fussy about towels, take your own. The beach is less than three (slow) minutes' walk from the hotel. This place is ideal for families with young children, singles or couples. It is very reasonably priced and very central. At this time of year (Christmas-New Year), Bali bulks out with tourists from Java who bring their own vehicles so the traffic becomes chaotic and regularly gridlocked. It's best to avoid transport of any kind if you can, so the Garden View is perfect because it is within easy walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: No fitness centre; no spa. Big pool. 'Spa' (as in beauty parlour) adjacent and across the road. Rooms are air-con with temperature control. Small (bar) fridge in room. TV and DVD player.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northenexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

we have stayed here five times previously and will be back march 2013.the staff are very friendly
the rooms clean tidy have stayed in other resorts but this is by far the most friendly. i would not stay any other place again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for 16 nights as I had been booked elsewhere with similar price around the corner and stayed 1 night and was so disgusted I went looking for something else.
This place was awesome especially for the price...There were so many people staying that were return visitors that had been coming for years and won't stay anywhere else... And I'm now a convert too...
Excellent position - close to beach,Garlic lane shopping,all priced restaurants,ATM,laundry - and they have their own pub/spots bar - with a great Balinese manager
The staff were amazing and really friendly, breakfast was simple but great when included in price - food was cheap so you could just kick back in the pool for the day and have lunch there with happy hour between 3 & 5 daily.
The pool is never closed and was always clean.
We stayed in the superior room which was like our own ice cold air conditioned cabin with outdoor furniture set. Bathrooms are huge and relatively new. Sheets and towels changed daily. Everything worked well. No wifi in rooms but free at pool and restaurant
I looked at the Deluxe rooms and they were just bigger but same quality - great for 3 ppl
One small complaint was lack of electrical plugs so take double adaptors.

I was honestly really impressed with this hotel and can't wait to return. In fact I'm hesitant to tell everyone about this little gem as I'm scared it will be always booked out...l but have to give credit where it's due...

Well done!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Solodanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We have been to Bali 6 times and have stayed at GVC 4 of those times and found the whole experience there terrific. Out of the 4times we have stayed there we have only encountered two problems one of which was my fault anyway. The staff have always been friendly and you could not find a hotel in a better location. On one occasion I organised with the hotel staff to find some flowers for my wife and they came back with the biggest bunch of beautiful flowers. Any time we have needed anything we have always been to find someone to get what we need at the drop of a hat. The rooms may be a little old but they are always cleaned and serviced daily. The staff are always working on the gardens to keep the hiotel in a tidy state. If we wanted 5 star then we could always stay somewhere else but we find the GVC exactly what we need to have an excellent holiday. BUT now we find with all the negative comments from a small group of people no travel agents will book the hotel for you, I guess that's one way of putting people out of a job and continuing to add to the collapse of one of the best located hotels in Bali. Also we have never had a problem with the staff been rude or lazy, the only real issue is the bloody rooster that lives next door. My wife and myself a well as my sisters in laws family will always stay at Garden View Cottages. End of story.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews