We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run down”
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #78 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“run down”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we stayed at this hotel for a week. at check there was not much input from the staff, after checking into our room we found that the airconditioner was dripping water on the bed. the in room safe was faulty and took them three attempts to repair it. none of the in room phones where working. after three days we realised they had put us in the wrong room, we had paid for a better style room than we got. the power in our room kept tripping out and we asked to be moved to the room we had paid for. this room was better but the aircon in this one barely worked and still no phones. there is a lot of building and removation happening at the moment and it was noisey all day. the breakfast was average. on a better note the location for us was great. once they have finished their renovations I am sure it will be better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you have paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adnbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    91
    41
    24
    29
See reviews for
47
60
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at garden veiw for 1 Wk in March, well we had a blast. Location is great, staff fantastic, rooms are what you expect for the price, but hey, you only sleep there.nice and clean except the towels :) all in all I will be back to that hotel in a couple of months. If your after the wow factor when you walk in your room, pay more and go else where

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanneburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

There's not much to it - Just some beds in a room.

Location is relatively good - on Padma Street near Kuta Beach.

Other than that, it's really just a place to dump your stuff and sleep.

Lock up your belonings though, and don't expect in a hurry (assistance with the safe, "extra" towels (they didn't give us enough), etc).

Be careful with check-in times as well- 3 rooms of us (7 people) were told none of our rooms would be available until after 7pm, when check in was at 2pm. Expect to be sitting around for a while..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We decided to spend our last few day in Bali at the Garden View as we were on a bit of a budget having splurged on other accommodation during our holiday and we were looking for something central in Legian where we could shop and eat without having to bother with transport.
The Garden View Cottages ticked these boxes and for the price we paid for our deluxe room, we were under no illusions whatesover. In fact, based on money spent we were pleasantly surprised.

Pool was clean, staff were friendly and the food while not the best we have ever eaten, was good enough to stay in and order room service when we couldn't be bothered going out. We were pleasantly surprised to find a DVD in our room - even if the TV' was rather small. Our only gripes were that no bath mats were provided and the tiled floors were extremely slippery when wet. Nor did our door out to our balcony seal properly and we had to spray for mosquitos each night before going to bed.

A lot of things around the hotel looked a little tired but you get what you pay for and in our case, we were happy with what we got.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anita046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We returned from our 9 day stay at this hotel last week. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very large and had been renovated. It was clean and comfortable. We were one block from the pool and it was very quiet. This hotel is located one block (approx 200 metres) from the beach and within walking distance to many great restaurants and the nightlife in Legian. We found the cottages to be around an average 3 star with basic decor. The staff were fantastic and any problems experienced were immediately rectified. There was never a problem getting a sunbed around the pool and we particularly enjoyed the swim up bar with great staff such as smiley Agung Hendra and the rest of the team. There is a very popular sports bar at the street front of the hotel which has all of the sports via fox and there is even an opportunity to have a bet on the horses. They have bands playing there at night. The noise from this bar is not heard in the cottages. There is a air conditioned coffee shop across the road from the hotel that has fantastic coffee and food. The Pavone restaurant at the front of the hotel is also known for it's great food. Great holiday and we will be returning to this good value for money hotel in the near future !

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are larger in size and don't cost much more. Worth the extra $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The hotel is in a good location & suprisingly quiet once you get in the grounds. The room and bathroom were both spaciuos and the bed comfortable. Staff got extra pillows as soon as they were asked for. Decor is basic but overall the hotel provides value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

For some reason I took an instant dislike to this place. We were staying for only one night on our way out of Bali and this was long enough.

The hotel is a collection of oldish twin bungalows (huts ?) and we'd ended up right at the back of the plot. The room was quite small - the swampy smelling bathroom seemed bigger than the bedroom. There was no wi-fi except in the area near the reception. The pool was dominated by a group of fat, middle aged and tattooed hells angel wannabes.

Cleanliness was only average, with some interesting dirt on the bedsheets. The bathroom appeared to have no daylight or ventilation. Dim low energy bulbs added to the depressing feel.

Breakfast was the minimum possible, rubbery scrambled eggs and cold toast.

The staff were reasonably helpful, the main beach and shops were close by, but there must be better places to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Balisani Padma
Balisani Padma
#81 of 87 in Legian
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwathi Beach Hotel
Suriwathi Beach Hotel
#66 of 87 in Legian
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#61 of 87 in Legian
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
#8 of 87 in Legian
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Property: Garden View Resort
Address: Jl. Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing