We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations should be advertised”
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #78 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We arrived at 1pm and although check in wasn't until 2pm they had our room ready which was great. By the pictures there was rooms all around the pool and others reviews said they had a superior near the pool so I requested one of them. Well they have gone and are now replaced with a 2 story room complex so our superior room was right down the back. When we walked in the first thing that caught my eye was the state of the bed and the bed spread. Dippy bed and shabby looking cover. Straight away a turn off. The bathroom wasn't in much better condition.
We asked to change rooms and although we had to pay an extra $20 a night we knew we would be much happier. We were really close to the pool and the room was 100% better. The rooms are really large. Next door had 2 extra single beds in theirs so that gives you an idea of the size.
The bathroom was spacious but the shower curtain was stained brown and there is a very large step up into the shower/bath. No bathmats, handtowels or face clothes are provided so it is really dangerous to have this step in my opinion.
Out in the foyer was all the old and new mattresses for the new buildings along with all the new toilets, basins ect. All piled up there as you walk in.
On the other side they are either renovating or building new cottages so there is a lot of work going on there too. Wasn't really much noise until 7.45am on our last morning which it woke us up.
There is only 10 pool chairs and 2 of those were broken. Nice pool. Not too deep.
Foyer has really uncomfortable chairs to sit in but that's where you have to go for internet. Internet isn't very good at all. Keeps dropping out.
Room was cleaned to perfection.
Staff were quite standoffish when we first arrived but after that were very nice and helpful. They were the nicest when we were leaving!!! We are nice people!!.
Breakfast is nothing to rave about. It is the type of breaky you have when you just want something in your belly. Not when you want something yummy. Coffee was not drinkable and had Nescafe on it so perhaps take your own.
Bed comfy, shower good clean and spacious. Quite nice and a good location. Has interconnecting rooms.

Room Tip: Not too sure. Ours was room 34 and was close to pool and towards the front of complex. Not noisy tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLuvsBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place has so much going for it if only management realised it.
Its currently undergoing renovations at a slow pace...finished before xmas ?
Pro's - Location , right in the heart of Legian , so close to shops , bars , cafes and the beach.
Staff were very good also. Good pool with swim up bar.
Con's - Rooms need a lift , no wifi in rooms , no english speaking tv [small] , no restaurant in the complex.
Breakfast was ok but you had to go to the Pavone restaurant located next door...we went to the Bella Vista Cafe across the road which is excellent.
Shower was located in the bath accessed by a couple of large steps , not recommended for those uneasy on their feet.
This place has so much potential once its finished...if only they knew it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BundyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Having booked three deluxe rooms about three months before arrival things didn’t turnout as planned.
My son arrived Monday morning 5th August 2013 deluxe room available yes.
I arrived Monday afternoon no deluxe room available tried to put me in a standard room right down the back ,it was a horrible room ..ended up with a superior room near my son.
Tuesday my other son arrived no deluxe room available had to stay in a superior room till Wednesday.
What I’m saying is what you book is not what you get on arrival.
Garden View needs to sort this problem out and Hoteltravel when making the booking because it’s very annoying..
Rooms are all being renovated
The deluxe room is very big clean and tidy Aircon ,TV, Safe, would recommend.
The superior smaller but clean and tidy Aircon ,TV ,Safe, would recommend.
Apart from the room on arrival problems the hotel is great.
A good size pool with swim up bar and two large TVs to watch the footy. (Bintangs nice and cold)
Staff are very friendly and are happy to help you out.
Great location in the heart of good shopping and restaurants (Recommend Indo National restaurant aussie owned)
Sports bar out the front which is very popular , noisy but can’t be heard in your room.

All in all we had a great time at Garden View Cottages would defiantly go back there.
It is also a good spot for families with young children

Room Tip: Deluxe room the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vern53WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 (kids aged 11-15) in two adjoining De Luxe rooms. On arrival we wondered what we were in for... A large Sports Bar with about 20 large screens was playing an AFL game to a big noisy crowd on one side of a narrow driveway, and a group of little people were having a rehearsal for a "Midgets Fun-Boxing" act in a Boxing Ring beside the check-in counter!
The young guy at the desk said he had a booking for one room only and was quite unhelpful. Then Wayan came along and sorted us with two quiet rooms.. I had a look at the Superior rooms which are a few dollars cheaper, and recommend the DeLuxe.. almost twice the size.
The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.. linen and towels changed daily. Beach is about 300 metres away, and the pool is quite large and pleasant.
The little things that could irritate: TV is Indonesian (no Satellite); Cold water in hand-basin (but hot and cold in shower/bath.. how is that?); Towels but no Bathmat, no shampoo.
All staff were helpful and friendly, and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

the staff were very friendly and helpful.
the rooms were clean and the gardens were neat.
the location of the hotel is great for restaurants and shopping and just a short stroll to the beach.

renovations where being done, so sitting by the pool was not relaxing.
breakfast (due to renovations)was served in the restaurant "parvones" which have 3 large t.v. screens belting out the Australian morning news on at least 2 different channels and your morning coffee and tea is presented in a flaky looking thermos.
its the same flaky looking thermos that is provided in your room so you can walk to ''parvones'' and fill it with hot water if you want to. no kettle in the room. the room service phone in the room was disconnected due to the renovations.
not all places provide 2 free small bottles of water in your room and garden view is one of them.
the television and dvd player worked fine , only seemed to have bali tv stations.
if you like watching sports shows on t.v. while being surrounded by lots of aussies the "ÿ not" bar is in the hotel car park.
I did instruct one of the cleaning staff that it is not good practice to scrub the toilet with a brush and then use the same brush on the hand basin, taps and then shower.
for the price and location its quite good, just wait for the renovations to stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimbokimbo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I travelled on my own and found that whilst the staff were very pleasant, the cottages were very basic. Fat back TVs and DVD players that were too old to play any DVDs purchases. Even though the accommodation was basic, I would have expected that you didn't have to pay for water, which I found after day one, you do and that you would have been provided a kettle. The buffet breakfast advertised does not exist and whilst they did offer breakfast, it was not on site. You had to go next door and again the food provided was very basic. Overall I guess it was ok value for money though I am sure if you spent an extra couple hundred dollars for the week it would have been well worth it to book somewhere else. I found that there were noisy works all the time whilst I tried to relax in the pool, noisy road nearby and very noisy pub also. I didn't feel like I was able to find peace and read a book etc. If you want really really basic accommodation, this place is ok, though don't expect much. I did think I was booking a three star place though when the booking was finalised, I found that it was only 2.5, so beware! :-)

Room Tip: I upgraded and paid for a room that supposedly had two double beds though there was no such room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

i stayed here for 3 night 4 days,,,the environment of the hotel so peaceful, the room is big, its great for a family get away,,,5 minutes from the beach, near to the legian night life,,,the swimming pool are clean and warm,,,like most of balinese the staff are friendly, the breakfast are average,,,

Room Tip: prepare to bring buy some mineral water from outside coz they don't provide for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#74 of 88 in Legian
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#66 of 88 in Legian
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balisani Padma
Balisani Padma
#81 of 88 in Legian
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
#8 of 88 in Legian
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Address: Jl. Padma 41 | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: £22 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing