We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions whilst in Legian, I have found the staff to be honest and friendly. The food is quite good. The newer rooms are large clean and modern. There is a huge pool and the beach is 3-5mins walk. 24 hr security.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    92
    40
    22
    28
See reviews for
46
60
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Garden View Cottages are a great budget option. Not expensive and the location is great. Walking distance from the Legian beach and a few nice restaurants. Specially you must try the Japanese restaurant right outside the street. Its great! Also the pool is big and lovely. The bar in the hotel is reasonable too. The party side of Bali which is Kuta is not too far as well. if you want to go to Seminiyak, thats also a ten minute ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shwetatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

i really love this place and know some the workers personally as having been here a few times. i love everything about it except the new recent change of midget boxing. if you don't mind watching midget boxing you can buy a ticket and the venue is at this hotel. i love the sports bar and shopping, people, locals. and most of all food

Room Tip: apartment is the best one then delux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tausus0479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is actually the bar, called the Y Bar (or as some say why not!!!! the list of reasons Why Not are numerous) that is attached the this hotel that I find absolutely detestable, the drinks were watered down, (scotch and soda) the beer was warm, the "food" if that is what you could call it was cheap, nasty, barely cooked and just plain revolting. I found the midget boxing in the back offensive, so yes after a few minutes I did leave.... seriously how can anyone find another's misfortune something to laugh and ridicule them for!!!..... in actual fact we stayed for the food (we only ate a small part of it as it was disgusting and yes we said so but it was our problem) and drink we ordered and then left to find a place that would provide better service, cold drinks and better food.

Why not some ask......there are many many other Bars ans restaurants that have real cold beer, good food and friendly service in Kuta so don't waste your time or money visiting the Y bar as it is a waste of time and space.......as to the "midget" fighting some may argue..."at least they have a job" but please lets treat them with some level of respect (do they really have to fight 6 nights a week .... not even the most experienced boxer was hit in the head that many times).....too many hits to the head in the long term surely won't help them!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tatejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Legian hotels

Lennox Head
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I just cancelled my second trip to this hotel after reading about all of the renovations. I have tried to contact this hotel myself and had no response, so I just cancelled. I stayed here with a friend last march and was told on arrival that I didnt have the room I booked thru Agoda and that if I wanted money refunded then I was to take it up with them. This hotel could be soooo good, but the staff and the Binglet crowd bring it down. If the Tripadvisor reports of renovations are true, then I wouldnt stay here as it is only a 2 star budget place at best. You would think after 3 months they would have responded to my emails.

Room Tip: dont pay for an upgraded room as you wont get it. pay the bribe at the reception when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We arrived at 1pm and although check in wasn't until 2pm they had our room ready which was great. By the pictures there was rooms all around the pool and others reviews said they had a superior near the pool so I requested one of them. Well they have gone and are now replaced with a 2 story room complex so our superior room was right down the back. When we walked in the first thing that caught my eye was the state of the bed and the bed spread. Dippy bed and shabby looking cover. Straight away a turn off. The bathroom wasn't in much better condition.
We asked to change rooms and although we had to pay an extra $20 a night we knew we would be much happier. We were really close to the pool and the room was 100% better. The rooms are really large. Next door had 2 extra single beds in theirs so that gives you an idea of the size.
The bathroom was spacious but the shower curtain was stained brown and there is a very large step up into the shower/bath. No bathmats, handtowels or face clothes are provided so it is really dangerous to have this step in my opinion.
Out in the foyer was all the old and new mattresses for the new buildings along with all the new toilets, basins ect. All piled up there as you walk in.
On the other side they are either renovating or building new cottages so there is a lot of work going on there too. Wasn't really much noise until 7.45am on our last morning which it woke us up.
There is only 10 pool chairs and 2 of those were broken. Nice pool. Not too deep.
Foyer has really uncomfortable chairs to sit in but that's where you have to go for internet. Internet isn't very good at all. Keeps dropping out.
Room was cleaned to perfection.
Staff were quite standoffish when we first arrived but after that were very nice and helpful. They were the nicest when we were leaving!!! We are nice people!!.
Breakfast is nothing to rave about. It is the type of breaky you have when you just want something in your belly. Not when you want something yummy. Coffee was not drinkable and had Nescafe on it so perhaps take your own.
Bed comfy, shower good clean and spacious. Quite nice and a good location. Has interconnecting rooms.

Room Tip: Not too sure. Ours was room 34 and was close to pool and towards the front of complex. Not noisy tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLuvsBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
413 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place has so much going for it if only management realised it.
Its currently undergoing renovations at a slow pace...finished before xmas ?
Pro's - Location , right in the heart of Legian , so close to shops , bars , cafes and the beach.
Staff were very good also. Good pool with swim up bar.
Con's - Rooms need a lift , no wifi in rooms , no english speaking tv [small] , no restaurant in the complex.
Breakfast was ok but you had to go to the Pavone restaurant located next door...we went to the Bella Vista Cafe across the road which is excellent.
Shower was located in the bath accessed by a couple of large steps , not recommended for those uneasy on their feet.
This place has so much potential once its finished...if only they knew it !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BundyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#60 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#61 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#28 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
#56 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Property: Garden View Resort
Address: Jl. Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing