We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #78 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were a group of 8 had 4Superior Pool rooms booked when we arrived at around 11pm none available so were given the new Deluxe pool rooms no charge.We were very happy with these clean & had view over pool.We just fended for ourselves no information given about breakfast some had it included but didn't bother we all just went over the road to Bella Vista every morning for a delicious cheap breakfast.No information about laundry took it to a lady down a lane we had been to before. We have stayed here several times and staff at desk not friendly like before. Staff at pool bar & pool food & drink service was good. Had a safe in the room & jug for tea & coffee but no phone.Cleaners friendly sometimes had towels made into swans turtles etc. Would stay again as the location is great just need a public relations staff.

Room Tip: Deluxe Pool Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Arrived 2 hours after check in and told my room wasnt ready. Returned 2 hours later room still not ready. Given an old run down twin room with sagging bed to "wait in". To do what exactly? Only old, blurry Indonesian TV channels. Too afraid to sit on the bed. Stains on cover. Matress old inner spring.

Advised reception staff (who were clearly disinterested) that I wanted an upgraded clean habitable room. EVENTUALLY I was given one of the new rooms which was much nicer. However new beds are still old innerspring matress. Room grubby. TV not working. No safe box.

On top of all of that.... only 8 old lounge beds around the pool for the entire hotel population. No towels after 12 as not enough to go around. The pool water was warm and greasy, and at night you could see the grease floating on top of the water. Pool toys left floating around and in pool overnight. Did not see pool cleaned ever!.

The breakfast is inedible.

No phones in the rrom.

The fish pond was green/black with dead fish in it. There was one laying dead on the ledge.

(see pics)

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here you MUST get a new room in the new part of the Hotel, and not like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ginetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights we had 3 POOLView rooms booked.
When we got there to check In they told us they didn't have pool views left after arguing for ages I got 2 pool rooms then one up the back. The reception staff were rude and because of them I would never stay there again. I used there phone for a few minutes and they charged me $20 aus dollars when I was on there for about 5 minutes when they said it is a 1.80$ a minute.
They are quick to rip you off if they can. The moisqitos there are terrible and when I told the office staff he simply said dont stay here next time then. The room service was always different we were meant to get water everyday but they only left water 2. They never left enough towels for us either. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone who likes good customer service !!!!!!
There's a pub right outside the hotel and they play loud music till early hours of the morning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Sarahe123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here and it was not the experience we hoped for! Staff were okay but not as helpful as anyone would like, we had a problem on the first night which was ongoing for the next couple of days, the issue was beyond our control and they wouldn't let us change rooms, instead they came in on several occasions and tried to fix it, the issue was finally resolved just 2 days before we left! Also wifi wasn't working for the last 5 days we were there, we came home though so not sure how long it took to resolve that problem. Nice modern rooms, great location, some great staff some not though. Wasn't too bad but will never stay there again!!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank lauren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Location and pool are ok, but that's where it ends. In 6 days we didn't get a single smile from any of the reception team, odd for Bali. Money (up to $700) going missing- turns out there was a syndicate running and the money gets shared out! When complaining offered no help, except a $20 lift to police, which is $3.50 by taxi. We put a small amount of drinks on the room from the pool bar, assuming you would pay at end of our stay. They turn up a couple of days later at your door and ask you to pay it, then a couple of days later they tell you that you haven't and bring in all their friends (security, pool staff, cleaners, managers) all stand around an demand you pay again!! We explain our case, but suck it up and pay again, then they all smiled! To finish that off, we got to checkout, and another dude, pulls out the pool bar bill for the thirrrrd time a repeats the method of pulling all his mates over! We didn't pay the third time!!

So if you like friendly faces, knowing you and you things are secure and that you will be supported while away then DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tapdog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay here. The location is right in the thick of the Bali experience - - - beach just 1 block away, shopping stalls right out the front entrance, great restaurants close by. We stayed in one of the newer rooms which were spacious with a king bed, large bathroom, frig, coffee maker, balcony - everything we enjoy when traveling. The rooms were well attended to with fresh linens daily. The pool was beautiful, as were the gardens and the pool bar a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the street scene. It was so much fun to meet our friends here for a cocktail after a night out. There was also a large, lively sports bar at the hotel right on the street which seemed to be a favorite, fun hangout especially during the World Cup. The rates were great and also included a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: we really didn't see all of the rooms but ours was located along side the pool and was one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredkelleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here in June 14 and found it to be a solid budget option. The location is excellent for Legian with beach and shops very close. We stayed in one of the older rooms and they are fine, just basic but comfortable enough and well serviced.
The newer rooms look quite nice.
The pool and pool bar are excellent and are available throughout the day and night with a nice range of well made and served drinks and TV screens to watch at the bar, the only drawback of the pool area was the difficulty in being able to get a towel at times.
The biggest weakness of the hotel is the food, snacks available at the bar are basic and pretty ordinary and the breakfast is super basic.
Midget boxing happens a couple of times a week at the front of the hotel and the ring is permanently set-up which does make the place look like it lacks class but the actual shows are finished early and not much of an inconvenience, although probably noisy for the front rooms.
Overall we had a good stay, if the breakfast improved we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flea3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#65 of 87 in Legian
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Losari Hotel & Villas
Losari Hotel & Villas
#211 of 253 in Kuta
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwathi Beach Hotel
Suriwathi Beach Hotel
#64 of 87 in Legian
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#36 of 87 in Legian
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Address: Jl. Padma 41 | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: £18 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing