We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Real" Padangbai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padangbai Beach Homestay
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Tired of the over-crowded and increasingly Westernized Bali of the Kuta-Legian-Semniyak "Strip? Even Ubud? Then DEFINITELY come to this seaside piece of Paradise, before the developers get there. The Padangbai Beach Home Stay is owned by the non English-speaking village elder, the wise but sleek looking, 55 year old, Mr. Putuh, and it is run by his business savvy wife, Dani, who sopeaks English. This is not your hip, Euro, Bloo Lagoon deal, but the PBHS' pool and garden are worth the stay alone, particularly if you remember why you came to Bali, for its seaside quiet, its white sandy beaches (Padangbai has one of the most reknowned white sand beaches in all of Bali, not to mention an untouched black sand beach in adjacent Mimba), its whispering winds, and its night time lack of bustle. Still, there are many excellent, local & "bule" (Indonesian gringos) fish restuarants, and plenty to do in Padangbai like diving, swimming, mostly chilling out, and of course, taking the ferry to the Gili Islands or to Lombok. I stayed 10 days, got to know the staff, and was even invited to Mr. Putoh's private residence, that looked like 5 Hindu-Bali temples in one, made in his village elder image.

The rooms are very comfortable, finished in local bamboo, and there's a choice of AC or fan, hot or cold water, double or twin beds, budget for 250,00 rupiah during low season (500,000 in high), to pretty deluxe overlooking the sea. I loved the staff although I made an effort to get to know them, but that's exactly what I like to do when I travel, meet the local people, learn the customs, see "real life". I do not travel for luxury, entertainment, or night life. If YOU do, maybe you should stay in Kuta-Semniyak, or take the speed boat to Gili Trawangan where you can get high and drunk with the other partiers.

This was the place for me. I'm coming back!

Room Tip: Depends on your budget. I went for the inexpensive room and became part of the life of the place and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Padangbai Beach Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The rooms are large and comfortable and laid out around the swimming pool. Aesthetically it is perfect. However, the service is disappointing and the staff are not helpful. There is no shampoo or shower gel. You can buy some for 500 rupiahs - given you are paying 450,000-600,000 for the room it would be good if they included this. I asked for mineral water but again this is not provided. The breakfast is minimal but adequate. They will clean your room if you ask them. It is a shame that such a beautiful place is let down by poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our room was comfortable, though hardly memorable. There's a nice garden and pool area outside, and of course only a few yards to Padangbai seafront. However, it was quite expensive for this sleepy little area and by checking around the next day we found much more characterful accommodation for a lot less money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

in the middle of padangbai at the seafront. airco rooms are very spacious, big size bed, comfortable. nice, clean swimmingpool in a lovely garden. staff is friendly but their english is not very good. there also is satelite tv and a little fridge!
we had a nice time here. there is free wifi, good working.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mieke-g15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We recently spent two nights here in an aircon room(i think there most expensive rooms), they don't have family rooms but put a mattress on the floor for our three children. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious though the kids didn't really like sleeping on the floor so we did move after a few days. The grounds are lovely and the pool though small is a delight and it's nice being away from the road(hawkers). The aircon worked perfectly & our room was serviced daily. I found the staff mostly pleasant, though sometimes I felt that were were not really welcome. No one enjoyed the breakfast and they feed there dogs in the kitchen, this was another reason we wanted to move. The rooms seem to be open for bartering as a potential customer did this while we were having our breakfast and they agreed to nearly half what we paid(we had 5ppl though) This really annoyed me none the less.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evershine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed here for 5 days and the location is perfect. The rooms are far away enough from traffic and everything like a internetcafe and restaurants is within walking distance.
The beds are good and the rooms are cool enough at night. The bathroom is semi-open outside the room. If your sitting on the toilet or using the shower you can see the stars at night. Don't expect a 5-star bathroom when you are visiting Padang Bai since this is in fact a backpackers village.
The service could be better, but if you take the time to ask the staff friendly you will be catered to. For breakfast and dinner it is best to eat a local restaurant or bar. The best one in town is Depot Sagara. They have a grill outside where they prepare you great fresh meals.
Blue Lagoon Beach is a laugh and is just a few meters wide. There not any really nice beaches around Padang Bai. But a good tip is to arrange a boat and visit once of the nice islands nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vastgoeddominee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The still down-to-earth beach town of Padangbai in Eastern Bali is the perfect place for those who hate interchangeable beach resort towns like Kuta, Sanur or Seminyak with its crowds and characterless international hotels.

In Padangbai you will find modest beachside accommodation in various bungalow hotels, one of them being the Padangbai Beach Home Stay. I chose it because of the beautiful little garden and its new, wonderful pool. It is just off the waterfront at the end of Jl. Silayukti, the main drag with restaurants, dive shops and hotels, at the far end of Padangbai Beach. The famous Blue Lagoon beach is a pleasant 5min uphill hike away, so the location of this hotel is just perfect.

The hotel has different rooms, most of them in little individual bungalows. While the cheapest don´t have A/C or a sink in the bathroom (just a "naked" tap), there are also new and elegant deluxe rooms with a huge kingsize bed, TV, aircon and hot water. Prices are too step, however, ranging from IRP 350,000 for the most basic of rooms to IRP 650,000 for the state-of-the-art deluxe room. The bungalows are all rather dark but clean enough. The more you pay, the better they look.

The breakfast is a bad joke. You can choose a few items and then there is a long list of pricey extras you can order (which I wouldn´t do - rather have breakfast in town!).

Staff are not very helpful and seem to lack any motivation to help, but will offer transport, dive or snorkel trips. If you are not interested, they will be even less cordial! They will also tell stories about money problems to lure you into leaving a generous, undeserved tip. There is no room service other than breakfast delivery to your room (a must, not an option, as there is no other place to have breakfast), so you must ask for fresh towels, which eventually will be reluctantly handed over to you.

Although you pay more than what it´s worth, the pool and the location make up for a lot of the negative things and so I would go back to the hotel if I ever was to go to Padangbai again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
0.3 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kerti Beach Inn
Kerti Beach Inn
#8 of 8 in Manggis
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puri Rai
Hotel Puri Rai
#5 of 8 in Manggis
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
815 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Padang Bai Beach Resort
Padang Bai Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Padangbai
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padangbai Beach Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padangbai Beach Homestay

Address: Jalan Silayukti, Manggis 80872, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range: £21 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padangbai Beach Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padangbai Beach Homestay Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing