We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, adaquate accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padangbai Beach Homestay
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This place is a mixed bag. We decided as we looked for a place to stay, that we wanted a water view. There are not many places with that in Padangbai. We lucked out by finding just about the only two rooms (we were traveling with another couple) that look out over the bay right in town. Most places have the hotel restaurant with the view and the rooms in the back around pools. Padangbai Beach Homestay has that, too, but our rooms were above the restaurant. We were on the street, so noisier than the back rooms, but the beach and bay were well worth putting up with the noise, which died down by 10pm. Also, there was a 2 inch electric cable right in our line of site, but we got used to it and still enjoyed watching the comings and goings of ferries, fishing boats, and the neighborhood people. The location for quick access to restaurants, dive shops, and the rest of the town is great! Comfortable, big beds and efficient AC.

A few negatives...the breakfasts and other food were okay, but not great. The rooms we had (S and T) had hot water and indoor bathrooms, but the ones in the back did not. There was NO WHERE, to hang anything but an outside towel rack and we had to share one outside garbage can with our neighbors (fortunately our friends). Also, they only clean the rooms if you specifically ask for it and only if you leave the key. I don't think they thoroughly cleaned the bathroom till we left (8 days!). The pool was lovely, but warm, so not refreshing in the hot, rainy season we were there.

Room Tip: Stay in back if you need quiet. Stay in front if you want hot water and a good view. We had no trou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Already second time in this place. Recommend the more expencive rooms with AC located upstairs. Having a very nice view over the pool, huge terrace & bedroom. The staff is very friendly and helping.... the swimming pool is rocking!

Room Tip: Room upstairs called "R" (arround 400.000 - 500.000 rph)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

second time staying here, this time upstairs, gorgeous room thankyou, and a great massage by the pool, a great place to stay after lombok or the gili islands, we love this place and recomend staying a night or two before continuing on your journey

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, downstairs more traditional, upstairs very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First i love.. padang bai . very nice town.. and ended up staying here for four days. at first site the room looked big.. took Q upstairs. but asked the staff to get the air on as i paid extra for that. they treated me poorly and i was left to 'jimmy with it after they tried and left with out as much as a grunt. the pool was too hot as it is in the sun all day- liked the dive shop-Geko Divers- next door!! the brekkie was poor a one egg affair with white bread no butter or napkins. when i left to pay the apparent owner lady started shouting' why you no move if AC not working?' i tried to reason with her and she got screaming mad. i spoke to another party who stays there and they called her the dragon lady! i know this isnt complimentary but there are many other nicer spots to stay in this charming and friendly town. this would not be my choice- i didnt mention on the last nite some giant roaches scurried under the wardrobe. and the room wasnt cleaned.

Room Tip: look closely before selecting .they will not negotiate much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Firstly this is a beautiful little bay that really only caters up to 3 star accommodation...so if you want the Hyatt, dont go there! However, it is a little port town with great vibes, a bit backpackerish, but lots of more mature travellers there too, who are exploring or waiting to board one of the ferries to another island. Even in February, the off season I would call it, Padangbai was quite busy. This Homestay is a hotel with quite a few rooms, set around a small pool, right opposite the beach. The rooms are basic, but they let themselves down with the quality of linen....sheets and pillows and towels are very average quality......its a shame the management doesn't refresh these items and they would improve their establishment overnight. Having said this, because of the general standard of accommodation here, we probably stay here again...and we do intend to go back to Padangbai. Snorkelling great, restuarants abound....big variety and great standard. This is a fun, exciting little cove and well worth a couple of nights stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the front have great view.....a little noise but that stops at about 10.30pm and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moondogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Great spot right on the harbour. Lovely pool, nice big clean rooms, comfortable bed. Free wifi and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again for a few nights between travelling to the islands. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemcrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Really nice spot next to the beach, clean and nice pool. Got pet snakes too! Breakfast included and great service. Good spot to relax before/after the party in gili t. Have fan or ac rooms and standard Bali bathrooms

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgordon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
3.4 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dasa Wana Resort
Dasa Wana Resort
#10 of 20 in Candidasa
38 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#12 of 20 in Candidasa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri Rai
Hotel Puri Rai
#5 of 8 in Manggis
162 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#6 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padangbai Beach Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padangbai Beach Homestay

Address: Jalan Silayukti, Manggis 80872, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range: £17 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padangbai Beach Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padangbai Beach Homestay Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing