We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place once we got there”
Review of Lemon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lemon House
Ranked #3 of 12 Manggis B&B and Inns
Pukekohe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place once we got there”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nice interior, good omelettes,and good selection of movies.
Quite a long way from the road and a long haul up those stairs if you are a family with a lot of luggage and not just a backpack. It was annoying to have an old guy snatch the bag out of my hands with 10 stairs to go and then demand cash once inside the hotel to find out he wasn't part of the hotel even though he appeared the same time as other staff who helped as part of the service. Having only one table for dining can be a challenge when the sun is beating down with no place to go.. Verandah had but a glimpse of the sea in the distance, unlike described in other reviews and was also smaller than expected. Nevertheless staff were friendly and ac was nice and cool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausagepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    29
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
52
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived in Padnagbai and it took a little while to find but once we had climbed the steps (i counted 68) it was great. Really quite, far enough away not to hear anything at night but not too far not be able to walk to the village in the evenings. 5 minutes’ walk away from the White sand beach. The owners were really helpful in organising trips to the Gilis or taxis. We stayed in a double room no AC, the room was a good size, clean, fresh and towels on arrival. The view from the balcony is a great place to enjoy the breakfast or a Bintang in the evening. The only small down side was the shower pressure in the bathroom was very week. I would defiantly recommend this hostel and would stay there again!

Room Tip: It was really warm without AC maybe pay a bit more can get a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_ron126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

very clean, neat and comfortable (and cheap!). Mr. Ketut the owner was really nice and helpful. climbing 70 steps to reach this place was worthy. the view from the terrace was great. the breakfast was generous--fresh fruit came along with the main dish. be sure to bring your key, since the door would be locked at 6-7 pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very clean hostel with very friendly staff. Terima Kasih mr. Ketut.

The beautiful white sand beach is nearby, there is a little warung with good food on the beach, no toilet there.

Minus; at 6 AM there is a very loud wake -up from a temple nearby

Room Tip: We had the private room with amazing sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cawereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The view from our room at Lemon House overlooking the harbor at Padang Bai has to be one of the best in Bali. That's was our reward for walking up 70 steps to get there.

Padang Bai is where you catch the ferries to Lombok, but it has many delights, and Lemon House is a great place from which to enjoy them. The harbor itself is quite picturesque (its beach is even clean) and there are two pocket beaches - one over a saddle at each end of town - both good for sunbathing, swimming and snorkeling.

From your perch at Lemon House, you can watch ferries come and go, enjoy Hindu festivals, parades and music, listen to calls to prayer from the local mosque, and look out over the lights of town as the sun goes down. If you want a good read while you take it all in, there's a used book store more or less around the corner.

For a small town, Padang Bai also has many good, cheap restaurants. We ate at two: Martini's and the Padang Bai Cafe. The former has better food and bigger portions but you basically eat in a parking lot; the latter has a better location, fronting the harbor.

The beauty of Lemon House is that you can walk to all this in 15 minutes or less - usually a lot less. Lemon House has un-air conditioned dorm beds right on up to air conditioned rooms with private baths. We had the latter, which included the view (also available from the common room where breakfast is served - try the Balinese omelette).

Ketut, the young manager, welcomed us with a cold drink and a useful orientation to Padang Bai; but then except for breakfast, he and his crew pretty much disappeared.

Luckily, we had no problems. The room was comfortable, the bathroom well lit and the WiFi passable. One charming quirk: the resident lizards who apparently live under the roof and early in the evening loudly repeat the call that gives them their name - gecko.

Hint: between the festivals, the prayers and the geckos, depending on how early you go to bed, you might want to use ear plugs.

Room Tip: The private AC rooms are a good value, the dorms, maybe not so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I think to say it is 'average' is a bit harsh but 'very good' is overdoing it. We stayed here for two nights and I think because we had read all the excellent reviews we were maybe expecting more and so were a little disappointed.

We had a double room with shared bathroom, the room was big with a very large bed but it dipped in the middle and also the bed sheet didn't tuck in on the sides so it would come off at night. We didn't really have much of a window just a thin one at the top of the wall. There were two fans in the room, one on the ceiling and a floor fan but we were still incredibly sticky in the night! The bedside lights were really dusty too and you couldn't turn them on because the extension plug didn't work. The shared bathroom was fine but sometimes a little bit smelly.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and made a simple but nice breakfast in the mornings. They weren't really around much though and when we got there our name was stuck to the door with the key in the lock.

The view from Lemon House is fantastic as you can see over the whole bay but you do have to climb the monster steps to get to it. They're not horrendous but they do make you sweat everytime! The white sand beach is quite close and we didn't have any trouble finding the Lemon House either as the signs are clear and everyone local seems to know where it is. The telly in the communal area also has hundreds of films to choose from if you can't find much to do.

Overall, our stay at Lemon was fine. I think we just went in expecting too much from the rave reviews. We also struggled to find anything to do in Padangbai but go to the two beaches that it has. I think it seems to be a place to stay before you go to the Gilis.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ERayLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lemon house for 6 days ( we stayed both at the private room and the dorms) and we could not have wished for more!!
Friendly and nice staff who are very helpful, the rooms were great and the location spot on! ( very close to our favourite white sand beach).
We felt that we were living in a house with lovely people rather than a hostel! Also after reading the reviews I was prepared to face some difficulty in finding the place but actually it was clearly signed and the directions they sent us were of use too.
Just be ready for some bum exercise as the Lemon house is only reachable by a long set of steps! We appreciated it :)
Could not recommend lemon house or padang bai enough! We had planned to go to Gilli but changed our mind while we were there!!
Thank you Katut and the rest of the team!!!
Dora & Eirini

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
0.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
482 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Paradise Homestay
Bamboo Paradise Homestay
#1 of 10 in Padangbai
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
OK Divers Resort & Spa
OK Divers Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Padangbai
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zen Inn
Zen Inn
#2 of 10 in Padangbai
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#3 of 10 in Padangbai
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon House

Property: Lemon House
Address: Gang Melanting 5 | Jalan Pelabuhan, Manggis 89321, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh, new, clean home stay based in the beautiful fishing village of Padang Bai, Bali - the gateway to the Gilis. Rooms available to fit your needs and budget, with newly refurbished natural stone bathrooms, panoramic balcony view, and lounge area with free movies. All rooms come with ceiling fan, power sockets, hot & cold water, free WIFI, free breakfast, and free book exchange. We have two private rooms with king size beds, en suite wet rooms, direct balcony access, and air conditioning... one private double fan room with shared wet room... and a dorm room sleeping up to 4 with shared wet room, lockable storage & fan. Please note, the view comes at a cost of 70 steps. We think it's worth it - but then, we do it every day. :) Our staff will be happy to help with your bags - just ask. Fast boat tickets, laundry service, cold drinks and snacks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lemon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon House Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing