We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Returning!”
Review of Alila Manggis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alila Manggis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Keep Returning!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I think this was our 3rd time at Alila Manggis, we just can't say enough good things about this property and staff. Smiles abound and the breakfast is phenomenal! Fantastic coffee and everything is fresh and as much organic as possible from their own farm. I prefer the Western version while my wife ( who is from Bali ) liked the rice and noodle dishes. The baked goods are always homemade ,fresh and delicious and it's fun to feed the fish in the pond surrounding the restaurant. The rooms have a fantastic view overlooking the pool and ocean and are quite clean and comfortable. Everyone from the front desk to the shuttle driver go above and beyond assuring a delightful stay. The boat trip to Blue Lagoon for snorkeling was fun and seriously some of the best coral reef and fish colors I have ever seen. Can't imagine staying anywhere else! We will return again!

Room Tip: We prefer the Superior Room ( upstairs) very quiet and the view was magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otommyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    317
    74
    16
    9
See reviews for
185
681
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. we were greeted at check in by the manager who couldn't have been more helpful, lovely chap. our room was great lovely view of the pool and sea. breakfast was very good (loved the rambutan fruit) didn't eat in the restaurant at night as we used the shuttle into candidasa. but on 2 occasions we did use the room service and it was great to sit on your covered in patio listening to the waves while eating your dinner and the price was very reasonable too, while your here you have to try the alila burger. outstanding. the service and staff here were superb , always smiling and helpful. I only have 1 minor gripe with the alila group and that is that we transferred here from the alila ubud so you would think they would offer a complimentary or at least a subsidised transfer between alila hotels but the ubud wanted more than double what we paid a local driver

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Congregated here with a few friends.

There's very little to fault the staff and the resort. It's a very timeless place.

Staff - The key staff knows you and watch you from a distance without being creepy. Even one of the pool attendance knows when I was leaving. Needs are attended to without hesitation.

Seasalt - We ate entirely in the Seasalt restaurant with an exception of a lunch. We like the fact that the menu was skewed towards locally sourced produces e.g., jams & compotes made of local fruit. The menu is a good balance of local and adaptation of western cuisine. It looks like the Executive Chef made sure the diners sample local food.

We loved the a la carte menu breakfast which is more civilised and pampering than a buffet breakfast. Visually, my brain is misled to think the portion are small, by the time the b'fast is finished, my stomach is really filled. In addition to the standard a la carte menu, the restaurant actually has another set menu that is on 3-day rotation. There's a lot of thought process here.

The staff at the restaurants are fantastics...for example, they take time to explain unfamiliar food, specially ordered food like the Mengibung to ensure we enjoyed our food.

Location - while it's close to the main road, there's really little activities around the resort. The closes town is Candi Dasa which is a few km away.

The resort grounds - it's really nice setting.

The rooms - well kept.

Overhall, we had a memorable time at the Alila Manggis.

If I could fault the resort, it would be the absence of a proper gym. I understand this is a kinda place to vegetate but one has to workout the food. :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The only issue to contemplate is...direct access to pool, take the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for two nights after transferring from alila ubud. Manager was very kind and worked things around so that our room and our friend's room were right next to eachother. Took the yoga class with Kawi in the bale by the beach and almost fell asleep during meditation from the sound of the waves. The pool was amazing! No need to leave this hotel while you are here, there is a reason why you have come to this beach to get away from the busy side of kuta!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Let's start with the positive: the staff is extremely professional, friendly and helpful and certainly well trained and on top of their profession. We also liked the large garden and the restaurant plus the small gazebo at the sea. There is plenty of space in the garden and the small fish pond around the restaurant is beautiful.

BUT: the place was opened in 1994 and what was state of the art by then is no longer enough for what I would expect from the Alila brand. The rooms are tiny and the furniture has seen better days. We were lucky as the entire place was only 25% full when we were there. But even with the few (mostly Chinese guest as there was Chinese New Year) you could get an impression of the noise level when the place is full. On our last night someone started to smoke at the next room terrace (which was allowed) and despite our closed terrace doors we had the smoke in our room.

Main reason is that there are very old doors that do not close entirely and always leave some space for insects and smoke/noise from outside. There is also no privacy as there are no curtains. The only way to have privacy is to close two wooden doors inside that converts the whole room into a cave as there is no more sunlight then.

My feeling is that the Alila is more for package tourists (who might have lower expectations) but certainly NOT value for money (at least for the price we paid by booking directly with them).

Do not believe when people claim that the Alila Manggis is a 5 star place ... I have stayed in many good and excellent places ... the Alila Manggis is not one of them (whereas the Alila Ubud is good).

I seriously suggest to shut down the hotel for some time and replace the guest room buildings with small private villas - as the whole place is large enough. Or at least combine two tiny rooms into a single nice room with doors that close properly and add curtains and new furniture. Having non-smoking rooms would be another good idea.

The Internet connection was another low point - I do not expect a high speed internet on Bali but the one at the Alila was not sufficient for simple mail checking or surfing (some of the WLAN's were simply not working - hence you needed luck to get into one that did).

The breakfast quality was OK but with limited choice (you could only pick one dish from a category and even had to request a slice of bred as there is only one per person included in the basket) and we found the food good but overprized. But as we had a car, it was easy to drive to Candi Dasa and use the restaurants there.

If you have a car then I suggest to drive to Sidemen (small village about 45 minutes on a very steep and curvy road) for the rice fields and nice surroundings. There is a little simple restaurant where you can enjoy simple Balinese food with a spectacular view. And the drive is also a little adventure (although there is a longer less adventurous road to Sidemen).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanetEarthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sena1974_12, General Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear PlanetEarthTraveller,

Firstly, many thanks for taking the time out of your day to provide valuable feedback pertaining to your recent stay with us, much appreciated. We certainly recognize that this took time out of your day for which we are truly thankful.

Furthermore, please accept my sincere apologies for our inability to exceed your expectations specifically referencing the room privacy, style of accommodation and pricing in our restaurant.

We certainly agree with you in respect to the location being tranquil and the region is renowned for being the heart of Bali, which has remained idyllic plus mostly untouched by modernization. Within a short distance of the property there is the beauty of Sideman, the crater of Kintamani, the foothills of Mt Agung, The Palace, Water Temple, white water rafting, unique mountain bike routes, diving, snorkelling, many cultural insights plus location being the main gateway to Lombok.

As for your comment pertaining to property refreshment I will endeavour to contact you offline in order to ascertain greater / more specific details shortly.

Last but not least, please be reassured that our food prices in the restaurant are aligned with our neighbouring cafes, restaurants and hotels in Candidasa. Moreover, the pricing strategy is far less than the key tourist accommodations sectors in Southern Bali as our approach is focused on true value for money considering the unique location.

We have now specifically dedicated 4 upper level and 6 lower level rooms as our permanent “non smoking accommodation” to ensure that we continuously enrich the stay experience of our future non-smoking guests here at Alila Manggis.

For the future, and when you next decide to visit Bali please be encouraged to contact my office prior, to which I will manage all arrangements for you personally. I am certainly confident in our ability to restore your loyalty to Alila and I look forward to this opportunity in the near future.

Once again, thank you for conveying your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Manggis soon.

Best regards,

Sena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Delightful, friendly but unobtrusive staff, ocean views, organic food ...a building with clean lines in harmony with the environment..complete serenity......Wolfgang Hartman, Germany and Julie .dudley.. Melbourne Australia

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juliedana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A very well run hotel in a lovely situation. The staff are all very pleasant & excellent at their jobs, we were made to feel very welcome & had a relaxing 10 days.
The situation right on the sea is lovely with good sunrise & sunset aspects & the large pool more than sufficient for most. The food was excellent & the restaruant experience always good both for food & service. The staff at all levels were quick to get our names right which is always nice.
Drawbacks - none really but thought the lack of a bar for evening drinks odd but never a problem, we got what we wanted whenever, either served around the pool or in the lounge areas..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.0 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
17.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Manggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Manggis

Property: Alila Manggis
Address: Buitan, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alila Manggis 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Hospitalities includes Complimentary Yoga, Tai Chi, and Afternoon teaAlila Experience includes Cultural learning, Conscious Living, Couple Celebration, Active Spirits, Culinary Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alila Manggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Manggis Hotel Manggis
Alila Hotel Manggis
Alila Resort Manggis
Alila Manggis Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing