We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Getaway”
Review of Alila Manggis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alila Manggis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After spending 3 nights in Kuta amongst the hustle and bustle of tourists, motorbikes and mayhem, it was a relief to be finally driving out of the city t the isolated and somewhat secluded area of East Bali.
The Alila Manggis is located near the town of Candidasa (pronounced Chandidasa) and sits on the coastline at Buitan Beach with the majestic Mount Agung only a short distance away.

The Alila sits in a very serene setting with a coconut grove offering welcome shade around an dazzling blue pool. In fact, the main attraction at the resort is the pool - it is not huge but very welcoming and very clean.
The rooms are spacious, clean and depending on which room you choose, may come with a balcony with offers wonderful views over the pool and onto the ocean beyond.
The restaurant offers wonderful Balinese or western cuisine and the staff are always happy to offer advice on choices.

Afternoon tea by the pool is a real treat with delicious herbal ginger and lemongrass tea and local sweet delights.

The hotel offers a wonderful base from which to explore the small yet very vibrant area of Candidasa which has a surprising number of small yet very funky little restaurants and bars.
Further afield is the magnificent Mount Agung - considered the centre of the Balinese universe and sacred to the people of Bali. An awesome sight to behold when the clouds which constantly cover its summit do eventually dissipate.
The Alila offers a wonderful and homely atmosphere where the staff always ask you to make yourself at home. Nothing is too much trouble and their warm and friendly nature is overwhelming and disarming.
If you are thinking of visiting Bali, go beyond Kuta and visit Alila Manggis. It will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: Select the Deluxe rooms as they have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HasantiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself and my partner have very busy lifestyles so really needed a holiday to unwind and relax. We found a great deal staying at Allia Manggis hotel for 8 nights. From the moment we arrived to the moment we unfortunately had to part we were treated like royality. Dewu met us at reception and dealt with all the paperwork while we relaxed with a cold flannel and local soft drink what had a fruit called SnakeSkin in it!!!
We had booked a deluxe room but was upgraded to a Superior room overlooking the pool and gardens area. The restaurant food was to die for and catered for our taste buds in regards to spices. Puntra and Jonny always greeted us with a massive smile and added that personal touch by remembering our first names and having a good STRONG pot of English Tea ready at breakfast. In a whole the holiday was all we wereexpecting and more and I will be returning to Bali in the not to distance future and defo staying at the Allia Manggis Hotel.
Thank You again everybody at Allia Manggis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a 7-night tour around Bali. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool. The balcony had a huge, comfortable sofa on it and was lovely to relax on in the evening. We ate in the hotel's restaurant on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed our food. The breakfasts were also delicious. A most enjoyable stay at this extremely relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which I think we're preferable to the ground floor rooms although I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in 2012 as part of our honeymoon. The whole experience is something we look back on fondly. The rooms are lovely, robes, slippers are all part of the luxuries afforded to you as a guest.

The breakfast is great, nice crispy bacon on toast with eggs or a traditional rice and pork type dish. Both are yummy. You can enjoy your breakfast over looking the ocean and get lost in the beauty of the surroundings.

The pool is a refreshing change after sitting in the heat. You are constantly waited on by the staff who simply cannot do enough for you.

This is a boutique type hotel that offers the personal touches which are lost in the big complexes.

The beach isn't one to walk along really as it isn't the most pleasant however it is ideally locate to sit over looking the waves rolling in.

We would recommend this hotel, a brilliant romantic getaway awaiting all who travel there.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sam Wright W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Last time visited was called THE SERAI. Alila management doing a great job taking care of this hotel. Great restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner. 12 min by car to Candidasa with various resto's in case you would like to try other.

Pool at Alila is great and so is the spa.

Room rather small but you spent must of your day outside. Next time will reserve room with balcony bed.

Internet is slow (radio connection) so that should be upgraded to faster speed, especially as lower priced hotels in Candidasa over faster connections for less the money you spent on nightly rate compare to Alila. Other Alila hotels we stayed always offer top notch fast internet.

Staff at Alila is fabulous.

Will stay again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gotcha4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Alila in June 2014 and we have nothing but wonderful things to say about the property. The open air reception looked down over a beautiful pool area surrounded by immaculate rolling gardens leading to the ocean. The rooms, although a little small, were well designed and lead out to a wonderful private balcony with a day bed. The restaurant is superb with wonderful delicious food and service. The property had a serene, calm peaceful feeling about it and definitely there to provide some serious relaxation. I unfortunately became ill whilst staying here and the staff were amazing. They organised a doctor to come to me at 1.00 am and simply could not do enough for me. I cannot speak highly enough about how wonderful the staff were to me. A special thank you to to Dewa and Sudewi. We will definitely return to Alila the next time we are in Bali.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 1st floor with the balcony and day bed it is well worth it. All rooms have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've stayed here a few times over the past decade and so I happily booked it again as I wanted to be close to the harbour where the boat to Lombok left. The well-designed property is still lovely and reasonably well maintained and the staff are all great and very friendly. There were a few minor problems with the room (no room service menu, noisy aircon, a malfunctioning safe and no laundry bags) but they're all minor things when you consider that at the bargainous prepaid rate of A$153 (including tax and breakfast) it's one of the few reasonably priced options for a chic hotel on this now overdeveloped and overpriced island. Yes it's away from all the bars, people and restaurants but for some of us that's the point of going away on holiday; to get away from it all.

Room Tip: They're all the same. I think only the suites have bath tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattJamesEager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sena1974_12, General Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear MattJamesEager,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide constructive feedback pertaining to your stay with us. Moreover, please be assured that I am acting upon your comments with the utmost care and priority.

More importantly, I am truly sorry to learn of the circumstances pertaining to your room amenities and experience. These were without doubt completely unacceptable which is in no way indicative of the normally high standards implemented at Alila Manggis. Under no uncertain terms I wholeheartedly extend my sincerest apologies, as on this occasion we have truly failed.

On a more positive note we truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our maintenance and our friendly colleague whom have made your stay with us memorable.

For the future, it is our goal to restore your overall confidence in Alila Manggis. Therefore, on your next scheduled visit to Bali please contact my office so that I may make all arrangements for you personally.

Moreover, we truly hope that you find our sincerest apologies acceptable and that it assists in resorting your confidence to return to Alila for the future.

Once again, thank you for conveying your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alila Manggis shortly.

With kindest regards,
Sena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.0 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
838 reviews
21.4 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
2.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
499 reviews
14.0 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Manggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Manggis

Address: Buitan, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range: £105 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alila Manggis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Hospitalities includes Complimentary Yoga, Tai Chi, and Afternoon teaAlila Experience includes Cultural learning, Conscious Living, Couple Celebration, Active Spirits, Culinary Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alila Manggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Manggis Hotel Manggis
Alila Hotel Manggis
Alila Resort Manggis
Alila Manggis Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing