We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
PricelineUS$77
eDreamsUS$77
Prestigia.comUS$78
TravelocityUS$77
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,757 results
Traveller rating
1,188
436
99
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,188
436
99
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea salt restaurant seasalt restaurant candi dasa organic garden cooking class tai chi the hotel offers spa treatments coconut grove rooms are small shuttle service relaxing stay beautiful pool blue lagoon pool side free shuttle rice fields
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,757 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2019

Our room was a brief stroll away from the pool, with the ocean visible just beyond. The whole experience at Alila Manggis is about healthy living and relaxation which is evident with Alila offering daily yoga/Tai Chi classes, amazing spa treatments (massages, facials, body wraps, pedicure, etc), delicious healthy meals including complimentary afternoon tea. You can use their bikes to explore the area or join a guided mountain trek and cultural village experience which lye just beyond the resort. It was a clean, peaceful and relaxing place to savour.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renaejohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleHdjt, Guest Relations Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear Renaejohnston,

Thank you for this amazing review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Alila Manggis. Thank you for recognising the wellness concept of the resort and thanks for highlighting our daily Yoga and Tai Chi classes, the spa treatments and the healthy cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another peaceful and relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

Two good reasons to stay at Alila - very good food and great service. This is a traditional and quiet part of Bali - no shopping or nightclubs - and restaurant options outside the hotel are limited. We were looking for a quiet break so Alila was perfect. The hotel is about 25 years old (we visited on our honeymoon 20 years ago when it was The Serai) so rooms are spacious - and well appointed and maintained though the air conditioning is a bit volatile. There is only one pool but it was never crowded and there are plenty of sunbeds. The service is very good and you are made welcome and comfortable. The restaurant serves a variety of local, western and Asian dishes - every meal was enjoyable.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleHdjt, Guest Relations Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear SydneyFlash,

Thank you for the great review and sharing your experience with other travelers.

We're thrilled to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for complimenting our food and the great service of our team. Indeed, all the staff is doing a wonderful job.

We do apologise for the inconvenience due to the volatile air condition. We will look into this matter and rest assured we will come up with a solution to to fix this.

Please do not wait to long until you visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

Alila Manggis is a lovely resort and while quite old, it is well maintained and clean.

The staff are all very friendly and the food is great with plenty of activities available (most at additional cost) to suit all needs.

The only negative would be that compared to many other resorts in Bali, the food and drinks are fairly expensive.

Overall, we would happily stay again.

Suggestion- as stated above, the Staff are great but it would help if Staff had name tags, like many other resorts, to assist guests remember them.

Also, maybe a bit more evening entertainment might be a benefit as many people went out to other venues seeking this.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 704glenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleHdjt, Guest Relations Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear 704glenl,

Thank you for your lovely words.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the highlight on the food and the friendly team at Alila Manggis.

Please be rest assured that our food prices in the restaurant are aligned with our neighbouring hotels in Candidasa. Moreover, the pricing strategy is far less than the key tourist accommodations sectors in Southern Bali as our approach is focused on true value for money considering the unique location.

We take note on the suggestion on the name tags and the evening entertainment. We see this as an opportunity for future improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019

Stunning venue and very accommodating and lovely staff.

The facilities were beautiful and relaxing.

The food was delicious.

The pool was beautiful and service by the staff was always efficient.

Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laurenwooley800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleHdjt, Guest Relations Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear laurenwooley800,

Thank you for this amazing review.

We delighted to read that you enjoyed the grounds, the pool, the facilities, the food and the service of our hospitable team.

Thank you for the recommendation and we can't wait to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019

Stayed 6 nights which was probably 3 too many given there is nothing at all within easy walking distance including a swimable beach despite being right on the coast. Units are dated but very comfortable. Hospitality staff are great, restaurant food is great, housekeeping service mixed.

Room tip: Bathroom sink is in the main room, not the bathroom so face, hand, teeth washing all done in the sleeping/lounge room.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoPlaces588742
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleHdjt, Guest Relations Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear GoPlaces588742,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Alila Manggis with other travelers.

We love reading that you enjoyed the culinary creations of our Seasalt Restaurant and the hospitality of our superb team.

We do apologize that the housekeeping service was not up to the standard expected and the team has been briefed accordingly.

The beach is indeed not our highlight, but one of the most beautiful beaches in Bali, the White Sand Beach, is just a 20-minute drive from the resort.

Even though our resort is an elder property in the group, the team is taking action in all areas that are within our hands to maintain and modernize to be more in line with actual times.

Alila Manggis is located in a location that is ideal for natural activities and discovery of a very authentic side of Bali. However, there a few shops and restaurants in the next town Candidasa. The shuttle to Candidasa operates three times a day and at all other times we can arrange a private transport at USD 6 per way.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews