We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amankila
Nearby Hotels
Alila Manggis(Manggis)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Candi Beach Resort & Spa(Candidasa)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
378
54
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
54
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaman resortsbeach clubtiered pooleast bali tourthe general managerblack sandour honeymoonsatayfour seasonsoil tankersocean viewprivate dinnerparadise on earthlombok straitlack of privacypool villaindian ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Wife and I post business, 10 anniversary and early birthday. Early September 2013 beautiful weather a constant light breeze kept the temperature and humidity in check.
Amankila is a stunning place! What a property everything was way above expectations. This is built into the side of steep hill so lots of steps, or the buggies that are always available. Reception to beach club we have not stayed any where quit so grand with out being pretentious. WiFi every where zero problems. TV= No TV if you can't get it on your laptop or tablet you don't need it.
We hired one of the villas with infinity pool; it was excellent. Grand vista from the well appointed deck. The villa itself could not have been better thought out; spacious, and airy at the same time comfortable. Staff very well trained, efficient, very pleasant, never over bearing.
Admin staff to yoga instructor excellent. Maintenance on the entree place is top notch by any world standard, everything worked and worked well. Massage in room is one of the best experiences my wife and I have ever about 2 1/2 hours.
Restaurants, very good with Indonesian and Western menus local fish and vegetables most interesting nothing mundane. Room service; is excellent, unobtrusive.
Beach club spectacular setting with beautiful pool, outdoor restaurant, lead to a private beach course grey sand like walking on tiny pearls.
Temple, special events; seeing it was Anniversary and Birthday, reception arranged for a Buddhist priest to offer a blessing. Reception provided traditional costumes and people to dress and instruct us in the ceremonial traditions. What a great experience!
Private dining on the beach IS private, one reservation per night, you are the only party. The most opulent things one can do. The service is excellent and invisible. This is 5 star on the sand.
Evening Bar Dinner; entertainment by local Indonesian dancers and musical was genuine and varied. a real before dinner diversion.

Downside, outside of this oasis; it is remote and the little villages are not that pretty. walking to town is not an option. Indonesian don't do a great job of picking up after themselves, trash is every. Traffic and more traffic! Definitely not a place to be a westerner on a bicycle.
Snorkeling and diving, not off any of these local beaches get some one to take you a long ways away. Near by shore reef are over crowded and full of trash from the land; remember the local don't pick up after themselves. So few fish, I can report the brightest color fish is saw on the local reef was a potato chip bag...
The view, directly out from Amankila is an anchorage where oil and LNG ships wait to be unloaded at the dock just to the north so there is activity in the water. This can be disconcerting, do get over it the infrastructure is not that evolved for the number of people.

Overall a one of a kind place, as are all of the Aman group. This is a place that can be private, sedate and restful or outgoing energetic and active. This place can accommodate any wish effortlessly.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms it is only a matter of how excellent you want to buy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Amankila, the peaceful hill, is still and will always be one of the most exquisite retreat in the world. Even after 20 years, this property located in the real Bali, far from these crowds of tourists, is still superb and didn't loose anything of its excellence.
The architect Ed Tuttle has been a genius. Villas elevated on different levels of the hill are separated by beautiful wood stairs giving to each a magical position offering fantastic views on the wonderful gardens full of flowers or on the ocean. When you look the resort from the sea, it's simply spectacular and it looks like a very precious diamond attached to a rock covered with tropical trees. The scenic is absolutely spectacular and I'll never get bored to see again and again this very luxurious resort I consider as one of the 3 best hotels of the world.
This year, we stayed in the suite located in the highest point of the resort, the exclusive and so private Kilisari Suite. Flanked with an infinity 12m pool occupying all the length of the massive terrace, this suite is to our point of view, the most unique and maybe the best of Amankila. The view to the ocean across the resort is just perfect and since this Kilisari is on the top of the property, you'll feel like a King looking on the Kingdom cause from this suite, you can see all the resort but nobody can see you which is a privilege. Like in all the suites of Amankila, the space combined an outside living area with oversized terrace to lay down under the sun or have a nap on a very comfy daybed and an inside space absolutely well designed and very spacious divided between the bedroom and the wonderful bathroom. Decor is elegant and timeless making everybody immediately comfortable and feeling like at home. We truly love the warm balinese atmosphere and we hardly left our suite.
But how not to re-discover these three tied pools overlooking the ocean, how not to go to the private beach so well equipped and the beach club relaxing and perfect for swimming in the lap pool, how not to go to the library to enjoy a traditional cup of balinese tea and delicious local pastries made by the villagers and how to resist to walk around the resort, in the adorable villages or in the tropical forest where you will hear the heartbeat of Bali.
We also really enjoyed the food... Breakfast, lunch and dinner have always been just yummy and nothing is too much for special requests. I really wanted to eat my signature salad and I gave the recipe to the chef who has wonderfully done it, even better than me. All the products used for cooking at Kila are incredibly fresh and we also really adore the fruits bread for breakfast. Maybe the best Aman for food...
We also returned to the Bale high in the hill where we still have exceptional memories of Daiquiris and canapés. Claudia, the new GM, has introduced Dirty Martinis and cold cuts and dips to share which is maybe more trendy but tend to prefer the previous version with these excellent canapés... I'm a bit traditionalist sometimes...
But Kila is an absolute paradise where people are working with heart, efficiency and love for what they do. This is undoubtedly the best hotel in the world where staying is privilege. We can't wait to return and spend more time with the Amankila family.

Room Tip: Kilisari Suite definitively...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Loved Amankila. Preferred Amandari as we really enjoyed Ubud and the exceptional warmth of the Amandari staff. But Amankila is a thing onto itself, and worth a visit if possible. Best part for us was having the entire lower pool to ourselves daily. What a treat! And as picturesque as they come. Only downside was there is little to nothing to do nearby, particularly restaurants, and in fact we may have gotten a bit sick from eating local. So we ate onsite mostly but would have loved to be more central to someplace more cosmo to get great food. Our fault really for not figuring out ahead of time that Amankila is remotely located. We are the types who like to explore around where we stay, am sure many others would thoroughly enjoy the onsite food. Daily fruit was divine. Other touches like this really made our stay exceptional. Exploring the nautural beauty of Bali (rice fields, art, etc) from Amankila was also what made the experience incredibly memorable. Would probably return ... for a very special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The service is fantastic,from the restaurant to the spa. The view of the bay is magical and calming. There is a huge swimming pool at the beach club and a three tiered one by the main restaurant.
All the villas are beautiful but we chose the lower ones as there are less stairs to deal with the higher villas are for the fitter ones. We have stayed in 3 other Aman hotels and loved them all( India, Marrakesh,and Nusa Dua in Bali)

Room Tip: Prefer the lower villas in Amankila
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Unique!!!

We enjoyed our stay in this majestic hotel. Service, restaurants, room service, breakfast, pool, hygiene, cleanliness, personnel behaviour, everything was e x c e l l e n t. Our stay though was in October of 2010

We also enjoyed a lot the extra activities they suggest you such as, dinner in the mountains to enjoy the sunset, dinner on the beach (next to the beach is a big pool, comfortable couches, majestic scenery and plants, fires on the beach and all these just for you because by reserving your dinner by the beach you get all these with the discreet present of 2-3 service people that you can call by the small ringing bell!!!), scuba diving, helicopter tours and many more activities that we unfortunately didn 't have enough time to experience...

The only bad thing I can find was the book charging... Oh yes, we paid a fortune, we tipped graciously the personnel and when we checked out, for my surprise they made us pay for a book either 17 or 33usd. It was a book in the room that I started to read, nothing special or rare, and I kept it to finish it on my long way back to Europe. At the check out, after the 'hello" and the "goodbyes", the payment they asked me. Did you kept the book?? On my surprise I asked which book?? They answered me, the one next to the bed. I answered yes. Ah sorry sir we will have to charge you for that. I felt like an idiot. In my opinion, if you want to charge something, write it down, notify the client like you do for the mini bar. Don't make someone that paid thousands of dollars look like an idiot for a cheap 8-10usd that you overcharge... To be honest I found it cheap, frustrating and lowered in my eyes, pretty much, the manager that had agreed in such an idea...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews