We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Amankila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amankila
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Amankila is a lovely break. Been here 3 times in the last 4 years. The setting is magical. It's never too busy so you feel the entire place is yours. The staff make you feel very welcome. They upgraded up to one of the best suites which was totally unexpected and very nice.
Bali, means at least 3 nights in Amankila.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    47
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
82
254
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UTAH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is beautiful will lots of swimming options. We arrived and were greeted promptly (not the most friendly). So we were thinking oh no, but it was just a fluke. The room was lovely nice patio area and large private pool. The food was great. The GM was very nice and attentive. The staff was great with our after dinner drinks and cigars they remembered each night what we like(which scotch). Beach was very pretty sand was black beach huts we a great touch. The restaurant staff was very attentive but not over bearing. No real gym was a bit of a downfall but lots of pools if you want to swim laps... The beach dining was perfect for lunch.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to ocean less stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

It was my second trip to Amankila, I stayed in the same room as on my first trip, Kilasari suite. To my surprise, the hotel actually changed for the better since my first trip, especially food quality and staff service. I stayed at three Aman hotels recently, and Amankila staff training seems to be the best among them. Massage (it was traditional Bali) was perfect. Rooms and other facilities were clean and well maintained.
In their reviews other guests have complained about bad smells coming from ships in the bay. We experienced no such problem.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everybody who seeks solitude and peace, who needs to recharge without being disturbed and distracted.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Wife and I post business, 10 anniversary and early birthday. Early September 2013 beautiful weather a constant light breeze kept the temperature and humidity in check.
Amankila is a stunning place! What a property everything was way above expectations. This is built into the side of steep hill so lots of steps, or the buggies that are always available. Reception to beach club we have not stayed any where quit so grand with out being pretentious. WiFi every where zero problems. TV= No TV if you can't get it on your laptop or tablet you don't need it.
We hired one of the villas with infinity pool; it was excellent. Grand vista from the well appointed deck. The villa itself could not have been better thought out; spacious, and airy at the same time comfortable. Staff very well trained, efficient, very pleasant, never over bearing.
Admin staff to yoga instructor excellent. Maintenance on the entree place is top notch by any world standard, everything worked and worked well. Massage in room is one of the best experiences my wife and I have ever about 2 1/2 hours.
Restaurants, very good with Indonesian and Western menus local fish and vegetables most interesting nothing mundane. Room service; is excellent, unobtrusive.
Beach club spectacular setting with beautiful pool, outdoor restaurant, lead to a private beach course grey sand like walking on tiny pearls.
Temple, special events; seeing it was Anniversary and Birthday, reception arranged for a Buddhist priest to offer a blessing. Reception provided traditional costumes and people to dress and instruct us in the ceremonial traditions. What a great experience!
Private dining on the beach IS private, one reservation per night, you are the only party. The most opulent things one can do. The service is excellent and invisible. This is 5 star on the sand.
Evening Bar Dinner; entertainment by local Indonesian dancers and musical was genuine and varied. a real before dinner diversion.

Downside, outside of this oasis; it is remote and the little villages are not that pretty. walking to town is not an option. Indonesian don't do a great job of picking up after themselves, trash is every. Traffic and more traffic! Definitely not a place to be a westerner on a bicycle.
Snorkeling and diving, not off any of these local beaches get some one to take you a long ways away. Near by shore reef are over crowded and full of trash from the land; remember the local don't pick up after themselves. So few fish, I can report the brightest color fish is saw on the local reef was a potato chip bag...
The view, directly out from Amankila is an anchorage where oil and LNG ships wait to be unloaded at the dock just to the north so there is activity in the water. This can be disconcerting, do get over it the infrastructure is not that evolved for the number of people.

Overall a one of a kind place, as are all of the Aman group. This is a place that can be private, sedate and restful or outgoing energetic and active. This place can accommodate any wish effortlessly.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms it is only a matter of how excellent you want to buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
197 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Amankila, the peaceful hill, is still and will always be one of the most exquisite retreat in the world. Even after 20 years, this property located in the real Bali, far from these crowds of tourists, is still superb and didn't loose anything of its excellence.
The architect Ed Tuttle has been a genius. Villas elevated on different levels of the hill are separated by beautiful wood stairs giving to each a magical position offering fantastic views on the wonderful gardens full of flowers or on the ocean. When you look the resort from the sea, it's simply spectacular and it looks like a very precious diamond attached to a rock covered with tropical trees. The scenic is absolutely spectacular and I'll never get bored to see again and again this very luxurious resort I consider as one of the 3 best hotels of the world.
This year, we stayed in the suite located in the highest point of the resort, the exclusive and so private Kilisari Suite. Flanked with an infinity 12m pool occupying all the length of the massive terrace, this suite is to our point of view, the most unique and maybe the best of Amankila. The view to the ocean across the resort is just perfect and since this Kilisari is on the top of the property, you'll feel like a King looking on the Kingdom cause from this suite, you can see all the resort but nobody can see you which is a privilege. Like in all the suites of Amankila, the space combined an outside living area with oversized terrace to lay down under the sun or have a nap on a very comfy daybed and an inside space absolutely well designed and very spacious divided between the bedroom and the wonderful bathroom. Decor is elegant and timeless making everybody immediately comfortable and feeling like at home. We truly love the warm balinese atmosphere and we hardly left our suite.
But how not to re-discover these three tied pools overlooking the ocean, how not to go to the private beach so well equipped and the beach club relaxing and perfect for swimming in the lap pool, how not to go to the library to enjoy a traditional cup of balinese tea and delicious local pastries made by the villagers and how to resist to walk around the resort, in the adorable villages or in the tropical forest where you will hear the heartbeat of Bali.
We also really enjoyed the food... Breakfast, lunch and dinner have always been just yummy and nothing is too much for special requests. I really wanted to eat my signature salad and I gave the recipe to the chef who has wonderfully done it, even better than me. All the products used for cooking at Kila are incredibly fresh and we also really adore the fruits bread for breakfast. Maybe the best Aman for food...
We also returned to the Bale high in the hill where we still have exceptional memories of Daiquiris and canapés. Claudia, the new GM, has introduced Dirty Martinis and cold cuts and dips to share which is maybe more trendy but tend to prefer the previous version with these excellent canapés... I'm a bit traditionalist sometimes...
But Kila is an absolute paradise where people are working with heart, efficiency and love for what they do. This is undoubtedly the best hotel in the world where staying is privilege. We can't wait to return and spend more time with the Amankila family.

Room Tip: Kilisari Suite definitively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Loved Amankila. Preferred Amandari as we really enjoyed Ubud and the exceptional warmth of the Amandari staff. But Amankila is a thing onto itself, and worth a visit if possible. Best part for us was having the entire lower pool to ourselves daily. What a treat! And as picturesque as they come. Only downside was there is little to nothing to do nearby, particularly restaurants, and in fact we may have gotten a bit sick from eating local. So we ate onsite mostly but would have loved to be more central to someplace more cosmo to get great food. Our fault really for not figuring out ahead of time that Amankila is remotely located. We are the types who like to explore around where we stay, am sure many others would thoroughly enjoy the onsite food. Daily fruit was divine. Other touches like this really made our stay exceptional. Exploring the nautural beauty of Bali (rice fields, art, etc) from Amankila was also what made the experience incredibly memorable. Would probably return ... for a very special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau City, New Providence, The Bahamas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The service is fantastic,from the restaurant to the spa. The view of the bay is magical and calming. There is a huge swimming pool at the beach club and a three tiered one by the main restaurant.
All the villas are beautiful but we chose the lower ones as there are less stairs to deal with the higher villas are for the fitter ones. We have stayed in 3 other Aman hotels and loved them all( India, Marrakesh,and Nusa Dua in Bali)

Room Tip: Prefer the lower villas in Amankila
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
17.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
18.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankila

Property: Amankila
Address: Manggis | PO Box 33, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankila 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Agung provides a dramatic backdrop for Amankila (peaceful hill), a secluded seaside resort overlooking the Lombok Strait. Spacious stilted villas offer exceptional views from their hillside locations amongst frangipani and bougainvillea, and are connected to the resort's facilities by raised walkways. Guests can relax around the signature three-tiered pool or at the Beach Club on Amankila's beach. Amankila also offers easy access to untouched rural countryside, local crafts and the region's royal past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amankila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amankila Hotel Manggis
Amankila Hotel Karangasem
Amankila Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing