We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, bliss, beauty...”
Review of Amankila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amankila
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peace, bliss, beauty...”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas for three days of true bliss! The ONLY downside is that it's a 1.5 hr drive from the airport - and they do everything to make that trip as painless as possible (especially the pillows in the car, a very nice touch!).
The staff was superb, the rooms were luxurious, the massage was decadent, the meals were individually designed, and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with Claudia and Guillarme and the rest of the staff. They definitely convey the feeling of "visiting friends", you never feel as though you're just another guest.
Lastly, the views about you and the peace of the resort starts from the minute you arrive.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ea0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    47
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
84
254
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent 6 days here over New Year and, like most other reviewers, felt that this is an outstanding hotel that met or exceeded our high expectations. We gather that the staff to guest ratio is around 3 to 1 and it showed. It seemed like every time we left our ocean view villa, staff would scurry in and remake the room. This was our first visit to Bali and we were bowled over by the grace and smiling good nature of everyone we met at Amankila. This is a great place to decompress in breath-taking surroundings and we both felt truly 'renewed' at the end of our stay. This may NOT be the best place to stay if you want to get to grips with authentic Balinese culture because it is an hour or so from Ubud and further still from Denpasar and the much more developed southern area. Travel by hotel limo is safe but can be slow because of the heavy traffic. Despite being very busy over the holiday period, we were (magically) unaware of other guests except at mealtimes. Our favourite spot was the pool at the Beach Club. Again, we seemed to be the only guests there most of the time. The tasting menu arranged for New Year's eve was nicely executed and followed one of several poolside displays of Balinese dancing that took place during our stay. We saw the New Year in with a great firework display and dancing beside the pool. We saw a bit of Ubud during an afternoon/evening trip with one of the hotel cars. We also took a morning boat ride up the coast and then across to a snorkelling area - weather conditions made for less than perfect visibility. Breakfast was 80 steps up from our villa but of course our villa was only 80 steps down after the nightcap! It is worth paying for the ocean view instead of the garden view but either way, if your party has any mobility issues, I would advise checking with the hotel before you book because the only buggy service
is up and down to the beach. Claudia is an excellent GM, effortlessly mixing and mingling, approachable and helpful and with a wealth of information about Bali.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBizler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

2013-09 Amankila

Bali means Amankila to us. It was our third stay in this hotel and we totally enjoyed it again. I do not want to repeat earlier reports but the magic this place has is just unique. Claudia the new GM was kind, perhaps somewhat indifferent. In the bar there was a bit of action almost every night, such as puppet theater ect., which was new and a nice idea.

The service is friendly but varies from very good to sometimes forgetful and inattentive. Housekeeping used to clean our room during our absence for breakfast, but this year, unfortunately, we had to ask for an early cleaning every day again.
Massages from Sri were perfect as usual. The gym is small, the treadmill old and the touch screen reacts as its own will.
And yet - we love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at Amankila as our last stop on our Beyond Bali package . It was incredible! The hotel is stunning , it's show piece being the 3 tiered pool! Absolutely beautiful! We had a beautiful ocean view villa which was located at the end of a walkway so it was very private! The villa itself is very spacious and has everything you would need. The terrace is lovely for breakfast/ dinner. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. The food is delicious and a wide variety of choice. It was our 25th anniversary, so they offered to do us a blessing which we accepted kindly. On the day, they sent a man to "dress" my husband, and a lady to dress me , in Balinese outfits. We were taken to the hotels little temple and the blessing, with a few staff present took 15 mins. All very sweet! We then had our private dinner on the beach which was magical! We also booked the satay evening, where they collect you at about 5:30 and drive you into the hills, to a Bale, where you watch the sun set and have your private chef and butler wait on you! It was definately a wonderful experience .
In fact , the whole time we spent there was magical! The GM , Claudia, made herself available every night through dinner to check how you were doing and to give tips for doing things . She was lovely .
The only trouble with staying at an Aman resort is that it's hard for other hotels to live up to their high standards!!
A perfect trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a private room so you are not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Amankila is a lovely break. Been here 3 times in the last 4 years. The setting is magical. It's never too busy so you feel the entire place is yours. The staff make you feel very welcome. They upgraded up to one of the best suites which was totally unexpected and very nice.
Bali, means at least 3 nights in Amankila.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UTAH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is beautiful will lots of swimming options. We arrived and were greeted promptly (not the most friendly). So we were thinking oh no, but it was just a fluke. The room was lovely nice patio area and large private pool. The food was great. The GM was very nice and attentive. The staff was great with our after dinner drinks and cigars they remembered each night what we like(which scotch). Beach was very pretty sand was black beach huts we a great touch. The restaurant staff was very attentive but not over bearing. No real gym was a bit of a downfall but lots of pools if you want to swim laps... The beach dining was perfect for lunch.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to ocean less stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

It was my second trip to Amankila, I stayed in the same room as on my first trip, Kilasari suite. To my surprise, the hotel actually changed for the better since my first trip, especially food quality and staff service. I stayed at three Aman hotels recently, and Amankila staff training seems to be the best among them. Massage (it was traditional Bali) was perfect. Rooms and other facilities were clean and well maintained.
In their reviews other guests have complained about bad smells coming from ships in the bay. We experienced no such problem.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everybody who seeks solitude and peace, who needs to recharge without being disturbed and distracted.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
770 reviews
17.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
18.6 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,122 reviews
19.4 mi away
Amandari
Amandari
#4 of 5 in Kedewatan
277 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankila

Property: Amankila
Address: Manggis | PO Box 33, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankila 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Agung provides a dramatic backdrop for Amankila (peaceful hill), a secluded seaside resort overlooking the Lombok Strait. Spacious stilted villas offer exceptional views from their hillside locations amongst frangipani and bougainvillea, and are connected to the resort's facilities by raised walkways. Guests can relax around the signature three-tiered pool or at the Beach Club on Amankila's beach. Amankila also offers easy access to untouched rural countryside, local crafts and the region's royal past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amankila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amankila Hotel Manggis
Amankila Hotel Karangasem
Amankila Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing